By major · Biology
Where can your student actually get into biology?
Biology is one word on an application, and it means something different at every campus that offers it. UCLA had 9,026 applicants for biology and admitted 993, while Cal State Monterey Bay had 2,091 applicants and admitted 2,054. Most UC campuses admit students to the campus rather than to the major, so a UC number here tells you how selective that campus was for the students who named biology, not that biology itself was the gate. Every number below comes from the college systems' own reporting, gathered in one place.
At a glance · California
- 72 colleges in California offer a bachelor's biology program: 71 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 1 more carry program earnings in federal outcome data but no 2022-23 degree count under these program codes.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of California-San Diego (1,189), University of California-Los Angeles (1,083), University of California-Irvine (904).
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Los Angeles — Biology, Fall 2025: 9,026 applied, 993 admitted (11%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Monterey Bay — 98.2% (2,091 applied, 2,054 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: University of California-Davis, $87,406.
- Lowest average net price with aid: San Diego Christian College, $992 per year.
Every California public campus that reports a biology number reports it for first-year applicants, so this is not a major where a freshman has to enter as a pre-major and apply into the program later. A college with no row here is not an easier one; it means the system publishes no separate biology figure for it, and the campus rate is all that is public. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 1395 colleges nationwide →
Hardest reported gate
Biology, Fall 2025: 9,026 applied, 993 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Biology, Fall 2025: 2,091 applied, 2,054 admitted
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Biology
Fall 2025: 9,026 applied, 993 admitted · admit GPA 4.20–4.30
Physiological Science: 11%
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General +5
1,083 graduates
|
11% | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | $72,443 |
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Integrative Biology
Fall 2025: 2,275 applied, 348 admitted · admit GPA 4.16–4.29
Biological Sciences: 17%
|
Cell/Cellular and Molecular Biology +2
862 graduates
|
15% | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | $79,163 |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Biology
Fall 2025: 10,612 applied, 2,486 admitted
impacted
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
276 graduates
|
23.4% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | $68,861 |
|
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Biology
Fall 2025: 5,323 applied, 1,311 admitted
impacted
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
161 graduates
|
24.6% | 30% | $16,665 | $32,265 | $69,854 |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Biological Sciences
Fall 2025: 16,508 applied, 4,859 admitted · admit GPA 4.14–4.29
Biology/Education: 18%
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General +4
904 graduates
|
29% | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | $56,273 |
|
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Human Biology
Fall 2025: 8,253 applied, 2,456 admitted · admit GPA 4.14–4.29
Biology: 28%
|
Anatomy +4
1,189 graduates
|
30% | 27% | $12,470 | $38,701 | $64,437 |
|
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Biological Sciences
Fall 2025: 18,477 applied, 7,703 admitted · admit GPA 4.12–4.29
Biology: 22%
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General +5
540 graduates
|
42% | 44% | $16,109 | $41,573 | $64,520 |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Human Biology
Fall 2025: 5,486 applied, 2,390 admitted · admit GPA 4.04–4.27
Biological Sciences: 49% · Animal Biology: 46% · Genetics And Genomics: 51% · Cell Biology: 47% · Biotechnology: 51% · Global Disease Biology: 75% · Plant Biology: 44%
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General +9
869 graduates
|
44% | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | $87,406 |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Biology
Fall 2025: 7,641 applied, 5,149 admitted
impacted
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General +1
343 graduates
|
67.4% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | $61,492 |
|
University of California-Santa Cruz
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Biology
Fall 2025: 6,020 applied, 4,476 admitted · admit GPA 3.83–4.20
Biotechnology: 80%
|
Cell/Cellular and Molecular Biology +5
548 graduates
|
74% | 82% | $17,890 | $41,179 | $69,849 |
|
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Biology
Fall 2025: 7,132 applied, 5,705 admitted · admit GPA 3.88–4.21
Plant Biology: 81%
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General +3
796 graduates
|
80% | 88% | $14,304 | $38,942 | $65,813 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Biology
Fall 2025: 3,890 applied, 3,263 admitted
impacted
Biotechnology: 92.4%
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General +2
275 graduates
|
83.9% | 74% | $11,531 | $23,955 | $73,152 |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Molecular Biology
Fall 2025: 1,061 applied, 911 admitted
impacted
Biology: 86.7% · Physiology: 84.9% · Ecology and Evolutionary Biology: 79.8%
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General +2
191 graduates
|
85.9% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
California State University-East Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Biology
Fall 2025: 325 applied, 287 admitted
Cell and Molecular Biology: 91.1% · Physiology: 92.8%
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
134 graduates
|
88.3% | 97% | $9,320 | $22,850 | $74,010 |
|
California State University-Bakersfield
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Biology
Fall 2025: 663 applied, 596 admitted
Biotechnology: 85.6% · Human Biological Sciences: 92.9%
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General +1
96 graduates
|
89.9% | 88% | $5,652 | $19,522 | $58,885 |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Biology
Fall 2025: 1,742 applied, 1,611 admitted
Cell and Molecular Biology: 95.9%
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
284 graduates
|
92.5% | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | $73,542 |
|
Sonoma State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Biology
Fall 2025: 547 applied, 515 admitted
Zoology: 97.2% · Cell and Molecular Biology: 96.9% · Physiology: 97.5%
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
97 graduates
|
94.1% | 95% | $12,885 | $24,648 | $56,345 |
|
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Biology
Fall 2025: 6,801 applied, 6,415 admitted
impacted
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
211 graduates
|
94.3% | 87% | $6,555 | $18,269 | $71,185 |
|
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Biology
Fall 2025: 3,185 applied, 3,008 admitted
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
123 graduates
|
94.4% | 92% | $3,967 | $18,403 | $53,908 |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Cell and Molecular Biology
Fall 2025: 382 applied, 361 admitted
Biology: 93.3% · Botany: 91.7%
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
88 graduates
|
94.5% | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | $71,726 |
|
California State University-Channel Islands
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Biology
Fall 2025: 723 applied, 686 admitted
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
104 graduates
|
94.9% | 93% | $9,849 | $23,561 | $62,384 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Biology
Fall 2025: 700 applied, 664 admitted
Zoology: 96.2% · Cell and Molecular Biology: 97.3% · Botany: 89.7%
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General +2
143 graduates
|
94.9% | 99% | $13,171 | $25,170 | $55,707 |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Biology
Fall 2025: 1,969 applied, 1,886 admitted
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
303 graduates
|
95.8% | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | $61,775 |
|
California State University-Stanislaus
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Biology
Fall 2025: 754 applied, 723 admitted
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
103 graduates
|
95.9% | 98% | $6,067 | $19,739 | $59,229 |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Cell and Molecular Biology
Fall 2025: 958 applied, 922 admitted
Physiology: 93.3% · Biology: 92.7%
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
365 graduates
|
96.2% | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | $74,482 |
|
California State University-San Marcos
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Biology
Fall 2025: 1,123 applied, 1,086 admitted
Cell and Molecular Biology: 96.2% · Physiology: 95.0% · Biotechnology: 90.1%
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General +1
209 graduates
|
96.7% | 96% | $10,229 | $21,649 | $80,303 |
|
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Biology
Fall 2025: 751 applied, 726 admitted
Cell and Molecular Biology: 98.4%
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
99 graduates
|
96.7% | 91% | $8,615 | $23,191 | $54,405 |
|
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Biology
Fall 2025: 1,503 applied, 1,456 admitted
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
150 graduates
|
96.9% | 98% | $4,564 | $17,427 | $56,799 |
|
University of California-Merced
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Biological Sciences
Fall 2025: 6,776 applied, 6,556 admitted · admit GPA 3.65–4.19
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
307 graduates
|
97% | 95% | $11,983 | $39,665 | $59,249 |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Biology
Fall 2025: 1,184 applied, 1,150 admitted
impacted
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
170 graduates
|
97.1% | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | $50,728 |
|
California State University-Monterey Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Biology
Fall 2025: 2,091 applied, 2,054 admitted
|
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
132 graduates
|
98.2% | 95% | $13,663 | $26,987 | $55,654 |
|
University of the Pacific
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
130 graduates
|
— | 95% | $25,447 | $71,515 | $83,012 |
|
Stanford University
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Human Biology +1
194 graduates
|
— | 4% | $13,807 | $87,833 | $81,529 |
|
Loyola Marymount University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
62 graduates
|
— | 40% | $48,381 | $83,943 | $80,317 |
|
Northeastern University Oakland
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 16% | $25,181 | $85,418 | $78,327 |
|
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biomedical Sciences, General +1
62 graduates
|
— | 74% | $26,285 | $54,038 | $76,789 |
|
Dominican University of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
18 graduates
|
— | 96% | $35,333 | $71,751 | $75,913 |
|
Westmont College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
32 graduates
|
— | 80% | $29,053 | $71,150 | $75,889 |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Human Biology +5
308 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | $69,751 |
|
University of San Francisco
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
86 graduates
|
— | 51% | $41,431 | $80,141 | $69,440 |
|
University of Redlands
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
35 graduates
|
— | 81% | $30,031 | $76,630 | $66,639 |
|
Point Loma Nazarene University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
40 graduates
|
— | 82% | $38,729 | $60,488 | $65,365 |
|
California Lutheran University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
42 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,109 | $68,426 | $64,939 |
|
Chapman University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General +1
70 graduates
|
— | 56% | $46,555 | $83,146 | $64,461 |
|
Biola University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General +1
42 graduates
|
— | 60% | $31,495 | $62,757 | $60,014 |
|
Occidental College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
38 graduates
|
— | 40% | $38,263 | $84,800 | $59,985 |
|
University of San Diego
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
78 graduates
|
— | 47% | $30,365 | $78,720 | $59,950 |
|
University of La Verne
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
63 graduates
|
— | 48% | $20,161 | $62,278 | $58,897 |
|
Santa Clara University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
55 graduates
|
— | 44% | $50,062 | $82,026 | — |
|
Pepperdine University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
49 graduates
|
— | 50% | $58,098 | $93,512 | — |
|
Whittier College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
48 graduates
|
— | 85% | $25,757 | $63,664 | — |
|
Scripps College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General +2
45 graduates
|
— | 34% | $36,294 | $87,564 | — |
|
Saint Mary's College of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General +1
29 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,378 | $77,659 | — |
|
Pitzer College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Human Biology +3
26 graduates
|
— | 17% | $34,191 | $86,466 | — |
|
La Sierra University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biomedical Sciences, General +1
23 graduates
|
— | 93% | $45,566 | $51,459 | — |
|
Pacific Union College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General +1
19 graduates
|
— | 42% | $41,008 | $49,404 | — |
|
Claremont McKenna College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General +1
18 graduates
|
— | 11% | $28,849 | $86,500 | — |
|
Concordia University-Irvine
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
18 graduates
|
— | 60% | $28,115 | $58,682 | — |
|
The Master's University and Seminary
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
18 graduates
|
— | 76% | $32,647 | $54,845 | — |
|
Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biomedical Sciences, General
15 graduates
|
— | — | $35,558 | — | — |
|
Pomona College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
15 graduates
|
— | 7% | $19,285 | $85,300 | — |
|
Vanguard University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General +1
15 graduates
|
— | 65% | $21,241 | $52,665 | — |
|
William Jessup University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
15 graduates
|
— | — | $28,062 | — | — |
|
Fresno Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Biomedical Sciences, Other +2
14 graduates
|
— | 58% | $13,630 | $44,249 | — |
|
Azusa Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
13 graduates
|
— | 80% | $22,212 | $56,313 | — |
|
Mount Saint Mary's University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General +2
12 graduates
|
— | 69% | $21,413 | $66,726 | — |
|
National University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
10 graduates
|
— | — | $22,878 | — | — |
|
California Institute of Technology
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
5 graduates
|
— | 3% | $16,075 | $86,886 | — |
|
San Diego Christian College
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
4 graduates
|
— | — | $992 | — | — |
|
Simpson University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
4 graduates
|
— | — | $27,817 | — | — |
|
University of Saint Katherine
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
4 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Harvey Mudd College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biology/Biological Sciences, General
2 graduates
|
— | 13% | $35,924 | $90,165 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/biology?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a biology applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
A good biology list has schools from both ends of that range on it, with the price and the earnings for each one written down next to the name. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359