At a glance · California

  • 49 colleges in California offer a bachelor's liberal studies program: 42 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 6 more report a liberal studies admit rate in the UC/CSU data; 1 more carry program earnings in federal outcome data but no 2022-23 degree count under these program codes.
  • Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Ashford University (681), California State University-Sacramento (422), California State University-Los Angeles (402).
  • Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-San Diego — Education Sciences, Fall 2025: 970 applied, 295 admitted (30%).
  • Highest reported admit rate into the program: Sonoma State University — 100.0% (104 applied, 104 admitted, Fall 2025).
  • Highest median earnings four years after the degree: University of the Pacific, $69,342.
  • Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-Los Angeles, $3,967 per year.

Sonoma State reports its plain liberal studies major on the transfer side only, which does not shut a freshman out: the campus's blended liberal studies and teacher credential track admitted 104 of the 104 first-year students who applied. Where a campus does report a first-year gate for the major itself, it can be a good deal tighter than that, as at San Diego State, where 1,054 applied and 652 were admitted. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 1251 colleges nationwide →

Hardest reported gate

30%
University of California-San Diego
Education Sciences, Fall 2025: 970 applied, 295 admitted

Highest reported admit rate

100.0%
Sonoma State University
Liberal Studies and Teacher Credential (Blended), Fall 2025: 104 applied, 104 admitted

Highest earnings, 4 yrs out

$69,342
University of the Pacific
median, graduates of this program

Lowest net price with aid

$3,967
California State University-Los Angeles
average for aid recipients, per year

Every college, one row each

Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.

College Gate into the program Degree awarded
· graduates 2022-23
Program
admit rate
Campus
admit rate
Net price
with aid
Full
price
Earnings
4 yrs out
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
Education Sciences
Fall 2025: 970 applied, 295 admitted · admit GPA 4.07–4.25
Education, General
48 graduates
30% 27% $12,470 $38,701 —
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
Education Sciences
Fall 2025: 1,326 applied, 599 admitted · admit GPA 3.96–4.22
Education, General
272 graduates
45% 30% $14,251 $38,632 $54,356
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
Diversified Studies/Education
Fall 2025: 587 applied, 294 admitted
impacted
Early Childhood Education and Teaching
52 graduates
50.1% 30% $16,665 $32,265 $55,543
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
Liberal Studies
Fall 2025: 1,054 applied, 652 admitted
impacted
Early Childhood Education and Teaching
138 graduates
61.9% 34% $15,364 $27,780 $48,471
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
Liberal Studies
Fall 2025: 809 applied, 541 admitted
impacted
— 66.9% 47% $10,440 $22,679 —
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
Liberal Studies and Teacher Credential (Blended)
Fall 2025: 179 applied, 148 admitted
impacted
Liberal Studies: 81.1%
Early Childhood Education and Teaching
181 graduates
82.7% 80% $13,760 $26,593 —
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
Liberal Studies
Fall 2025: 470 applied, 418 admitted
impacted
Early Childhood Education and Teaching
396 graduates
88.9% 87% $6,555 $18,269 —
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
Liberal Studies and Teacher Credential (Blended)
Fall 2025: 74 applied, 66 admitted
Liberal Studies: 94.4%
Early Childhood Education and Teaching
237 graduates
89.2% 96% $12,278 $26,488 $59,993
California State University-Bakersfield
CA · Public · Test-blind
Liberal Studies
Fall 2025: 283 applied, 254 admitted
Early Childhood Education and Teaching
130 graduates
89.8% 88% $5,652 $19,522 —
California State University-East Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
Liberal Studies
Fall 2025: 169 applied, 153 admitted
— 90.5% 97% $9,320 $22,850 —
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
Liberal Studies
Fall 2025: 252 applied, 232 admitted
Diversified Studies/Education: 96.3%
Early Childhood Education and Teaching
402 graduates
92.1% 92% $3,967 $18,403 $50,444
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
Liberal Studies
Fall 2025: 267 applied, 247 admitted
— 92.5% 99% $13,171 $25,170 —
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
Liberal Studies
Fall 2025: 318 applied, 297 admitted
Early Childhood Education and Teaching
329 graduates
93.4% 93% $7,021 $20,485 —
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
Liberal Studies
Fall 2025: 286 applied, 268 admitted
Early Childhood Education and Teaching
52 graduates
93.7% 94% $14,480 $26,283 —
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
Liberal Studies
Fall 2025: 219 applied, 205 admitted · admit GPA 3.40–4.05
— 94% 88% $14,304 $38,942 —
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
Liberal Studies
Fall 2025: 287 applied, 270 admitted
Liberal Studies and Teacher Credential (Blended): 90.7%
Education, Other
113 graduates
94.1% 74% $11,531 $23,955 $42,160
California State University-Channel Islands
CA · Public · Test-blind
Liberal Studies
Fall 2025: 175 applied, 168 admitted
Education, Other
64 graduates
96.0% 93% $9,849 $23,561 $49,106
California State University-San Marcos
CA · Public · Test-blind
Liberal Studies
Fall 2025: 461 applied, 443 admitted
Early Childhood Education and Teaching
113 graduates
96.1% 96% $10,229 $21,649 $51,445
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
Liberal Studies
Fall 2025: 220 applied, 212 admitted
Early Childhood Education and Teaching
422 graduates
96.4% 94% $9,338 $22,945 —
California State University-Monterey Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
Liberal Studies
Fall 2025: 413 applied, 399 admitted
— 96.6% 95% $13,663 $26,987 —
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
Liberal Studies
Fall 2025: 486 applied, 470 admitted
impacted
Early Childhood Education and Teaching
12 graduates
96.7% 96% $7,000 $20,095 $45,819
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-blind
Liberal Studies
Fall 2025: 255 applied, 247 admitted
Early Childhood Education and Teaching
238 graduates
96.9% 91% $8,615 $23,191 $44,654
California State University-Stanislaus
CA · Public · Test-blind
Liberal Studies
Fall 2025: 168 applied, 166 admitted
Early Childhood Education and Teaching
61 graduates
98.8% 98% $6,067 $19,739 $44,020
Sonoma State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
Liberal Studies and Teacher Credential (Blended)
Fall 2025: 104 applied, 104 admitted
Liberal Studies: 91.3% (transfer)
Education, Other
87 graduates
100.0% 95% $12,885 $24,648 $52,842
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-blind
Liberal Studies and Teacher Credential (Blended)
Fall 2025: 115 applied, 115 admitted
Liberal Studies: 95.8%
— 100.0% 98% $4,564 $17,427 $38,985
University of the Pacific
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Elementary Education and Teaching
19 graduates
— 95% $25,447 $71,515 $69,342
Chapman University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Education, General
54 graduates
— 56% $46,555 $83,146 $64,917
Fresno Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system — — 58% $13,630 $44,249 $60,338
Point Loma Nazarene University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Elementary Education and Teaching
38 graduates
— 82% $38,729 $60,488 $56,198
Biola University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Elementary Education and Teaching +2
35 graduates
— 60% $31,495 $62,757 $51,566
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Early Childhood Education and Teaching
60 graduates
— 74% $26,285 $54,038 $41,749
Ashford University
CA · Private for-profit
Not reported by the college system
Early Childhood Education and Teaching +3
681 graduates
— — $31,266 — —
National University
CA · Private nonprofit
Not reported by the college system
Early Childhood Education and Teaching +1
81 graduates
— — $22,878 — —
University of La Verne
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Education, General
80 graduates
— 48% $20,161 $62,278 —
University of Massachusetts Global
CA · Public
Not reported by the college system
Early Childhood Education and Teaching
48 graduates
— — $32,654 — —
Pacific Oaks College
CA · Private nonprofit
Not reported by the college system
Early Childhood Education and Teaching
32 graduates
— — — — —
Hope International University
CA · Private nonprofit
Not reported by the college system
Education, General
23 graduates
— — $29,310 — —
Vanguard University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Education, General +1
23 graduates
— 65% $21,241 $52,665 —
William Jessup University
CA · Private nonprofit
Not reported by the college system
Elementary Education and Teaching
19 graduates
— — $28,062 — —
Humphreys University-Stockton and Modesto Campuses
CA · Private nonprofit
Not reported by the college system
Early Childhood Education and Teaching
10 graduates
— — $5,524 — —
American Jewish University
CA · Private nonprofit
Not reported by the college system
Early Childhood Education and Teaching
7 graduates
— — — — —
Dominican University of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Education, General
5 graduates
— 96% $35,333 $71,751 —
Northcentral University
CA · Private nonprofit
Not reported by the college system
Education, General
4 graduates
— — — — —
Westcliff University
CA · Private for-profit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Education, General
4 graduates
— 45% $35,426 $44,210 —
Pacific Union College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Early Childhood Education and Teaching +1
3 graduates
— 42% $41,008 $49,404 —
Mount Saint Mary's University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Education, General
2 graduates
— 69% $21,413 $66,726 —
Shasta Bible College and Graduate School
CA · Private nonprofit
Not reported by the college system
Education, General
2 graduates
— — $30,437 — —
Bethesda University
CA · Private nonprofit
Not reported by the college system
Early Childhood Education and Teaching
1 graduate
— — $11,097 — —
United States University
CA · Private for-profit
Not reported by the college system
Elementary Education and Teaching
1 graduate
— — — — —

Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.

Let an AI build the list from this page

Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT

It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.

Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/liberal-studies?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a liberal studies applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a liberal studies pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.

Other majors

AccountingAerospace EngineeringAfrican-American StudiesAgribusinessAgricultural Teacher EducationAgricultureAmerican StudiesAnimal ScienceAnimation and Visual EffectsAnthropologyApparel and TextilesArchitectureArt (Studio)Art HistoryArt Teacher EducationAsian StudiesAthletic TrainingAviationBiblical StudiesBiochemistryBiological and Physical SciencesBiologyBiology Teacher EducationBiomedical Engineering and BioengineeringBusiness AdministrationBusiness AnalyticsChemical EngineeringChemistryChild DevelopmentChinese Language and LiteratureCivil EngineeringClassicsClinical Laboratory ScienceCognitive ScienceCommunicationCommunication Sciences and DisordersComparative LiteratureComputer EngineeringComputer ProgrammingComputer ScienceConstruction ManagementCriminal Justice and CriminologyDanceData ScienceDental HygieneDesign (graphic, interior, industrial)Diagnostic Medical SonographyDigital ArtsEast Asian StudiesEconomicsElectrical EngineeringElectrical Engineering TechnologyEmergency ManagementEngineering ManagementEngineering PhysicsEngineering TechnologyEnglishEnglish/Language Arts Teacher EducationEnvironmental EngineeringEnvironmental ScienceFamily and Consumer SciencesFashion MerchandisingFilm and TelevisionFinanceFood ScienceForeign Languages and LiteraturesForensic ScienceFrench Language and LiteratureGeneral EngineeringGeographyGeology and Earth ScienceGerman Language and LiteratureGlobal and International StudiesHealth Care AdministrationHealth ScienceHealth Teacher EducationHistoryHistory Teacher EducationHospitality ManagementHuman ServicesIndustrial EngineeringIndustrial TechnologyInformation SystemsItalian Language and LiteratureJapanese Language and LiteratureJournalismKinesiologyLatin American StudiesLegal Studies (pre-law)LinguisticsMarine BiologyMarketingMaterials EngineeringMathematicsMathematics Teacher EducationMechanical EngineeringMechanical Engineering TechnologyMicrobiologyMissionary StudiesMusicMusic ManagementMusic Teacher EducationMusic TherapyNatural SciencesNeuroscienceNursing (BSN)Nutrition and DieteticsParalegal StudiesParks and Recreation ManagementParks and Recreation StudiesPhilosophyPhotographyPhysical Education Teaching and CoachingPhysicsPolitical SciencePsychologyPublic AdministrationPublic HealthPublic Policy AnalysisRadiation TherapyRadiologic TechnologyReal EstateReligious StudiesRespiratory TherapyRussian Language and LiteratureSacred MusicScience Teacher EducationSocial Science Teacher EducationSocial Studies Teacher EducationSocial WorkSociologySpanishSpanish Language Teacher EducationSpecial EducationSport ManagementStatisticsTeaching English as a Second LanguageTheatreTheologyUrban StudiesWildlife Science and ManagementWomen's StudiesYouth Ministry All majors →

The list is where the work starts

A liberal studies list needs a few campuses where most first-year applicants are admitted, at least one where the program itself is selective, and a note next to each one about whether the teaching credential is folded into the four years or comes after them. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359