By major · Film and Television
Where can your student actually get into film and television?
Film and television is one of the harder majors to find, because the campuses do not agree on what to call it. It is Radio Television Film/Telecommunications at San Diego State, Cinema/Film at San Francisco State, Film and Media Studies at UC Irvine and Film and Digital Media at UC Santa Cruz, and in all, 48 California colleges report the major in federal earnings data or an admit rate in the UC and CSU data. The reported rates run from 30% at UC Irvine to 96.1% at Cal State Monterey Bay, though a UC reads the whole application and admits a student to the campus, not to the major. Every number below is public reporting from the college systems and the federal government, assembled in one place.
At a glance · California
- 48 colleges in California offer a bachelor's film and television program: 46 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 1 more report a film and television admit rate in the UC/CSU data; 1 more carry program earnings in federal outcome data but no 2022-23 degree count under these program codes.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: California State University-Northridge (430), San Francisco State University (316), California State University-Long Beach (220).
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Irvine — Film And Media Studies, Fall 2025: 1,434 applied, 428 admitted (30%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Monterey Bay — 96.1% (279 applied, 268 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: University of California-Berkeley, $70,963.
- Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-Los Angeles, $3,967 per year.
A blank in the admit column does not mean a closed door. It means the college does not report film and television as its own line, which here is the case for every private college on the list and for several University of California campuses, so the questions to ask those schools directly are how many students they take into the film program each year and at what point in the degree that decision is made. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 525 colleges nationwide →
Hardest reported gate
Film And Media Studies, Fall 2025: 1,434 applied, 428 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Radio Television Film/Telecommunications, Fall 2025: 279 applied, 268 admitted
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Film And Media Studies
Fall 2025: 1,434 applied, 428 admitted · admit GPA 3.96–4.20
|
Film/Cinema/Media Studies
166 graduates
|
30% | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | $51,423 |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Radio Television Film/Telecommunications
Fall 2025: 857 applied, 302 admitted
impacted
|
Radio and Television
92 graduates
|
35.2% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | $43,485 |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Cinema And Digital Media
Fall 2025: 863 applied, 354 admitted · admit GPA 3.95–4.19
|
Film/Cinema/Media Studies
56 graduates
|
41% | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | $57,999 |
|
University of California-Santa Cruz
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Film And Digital Media
Fall 2025: 1,284 applied, 834 admitted · admit GPA 3.80–4.12
|
Film/Video and Photographic Arts, Other
160 graduates
|
65% | 82% | $17,890 | $41,179 | $45,815 |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Radio Television Film/Telecommunications
Fall 2025: 863 applied, 585 admitted
impacted
|
Film/Cinema/Media Studies
220 graduates
|
67.8% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | $47,444 |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Broadcast Arts
Fall 2025: 129 applied, 112 admitted
|
Radio and Television
19 graduates
|
86.8% | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | — |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Cinema/Film (Professional Performance)
Fall 2025: 316 applied, 280 admitted
|
Cinematography and Film/Video Production
20 graduates
|
88.6% | 99% | $13,171 | $25,170 | $46,245 |
|
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Radio Television Film/Telecommunications
Fall 2025: 910 applied, 818 admitted
|
Radio and Television
171 graduates
|
89.9% | 92% | $3,967 | $18,403 | $39,867 |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Radio Television Film/Telecommunications
Fall 2025: 112 applied, 101 admitted
impacted
|
Radio and Television
51 graduates
|
90.2% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Cinema/Film (Professional Performance)
Fall 2025: 420 applied, 383 admitted
|
Cinematography and Film/Video Production
62 graduates
|
91.2% | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | $42,392 |
|
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Radio Television Film/Telecommunications
Fall 2025: 513 applied, 469 admitted
impacted
|
Radio and Television
147 graduates
|
91.4% | 87% | $6,555 | $18,269 | $48,094 |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Cinema/Film
Fall 2025: 541 applied, 496 admitted
Broadcast Arts: 93.3%
|
Film/Cinema/Media Studies +1
316 graduates
|
91.7% | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | $58,550 |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Radio Television Film/Telecommunications
Fall 2025: 1,484 applied, 1,368 admitted
|
Radio and Television
430 graduates
|
92.2% | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | $49,359 |
|
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Cinema/Film (Professional Performance)
Fall 2025: 445 applied, 411 admitted
Cinema/Film: 92.1%
|
Film/Cinema/Media Studies +2
73 graduates
|
92.4% | 91% | $8,615 | $23,191 | $36,326 |
|
Sonoma State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Cinema/Film
Fall 2025: 97 applied, 92 admitted
|
— | 94.8% | 95% | $12,885 | $24,648 | — |
|
California State University-Monterey Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Radio Television Film/Telecommunications
Fall 2025: 279 applied, 268 admitted
|
Radio and Television
50 graduates
|
96.1% | 95% | $13,663 | $26,987 | $39,954 |
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Film/Cinema/Media Studies
96 graduates
|
— | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | $70,963 |
|
Chapman University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Cinematography and Film/Video Production +1
180 graduates
|
— | 56% | $46,555 | $83,146 | $66,494 |
|
Loyola Marymount University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Cinematography and Film/Video Production +1
117 graduates
|
— | 40% | $48,381 | $83,943 | $61,500 |
|
Biola University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Cinematography and Film/Video Production
88 graduates
|
— | 60% | $31,495 | $62,757 | $60,082 |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Cinematography and Film/Video Production +1
166 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | $58,623 |
|
Pepperdine University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Film/Cinema/Media Studies +1
12 graduates
|
— | 50% | $58,098 | $93,512 | $55,432 |
|
University of La Verne
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Radio and Television
10 graduates
|
— | 48% | $20,161 | $62,278 | $55,332 |
|
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Cinematography and Film/Video Production +1
180 graduates
|
— | 88% | $14,304 | $38,942 | $52,699 |
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Film/Cinema/Media Studies
22 graduates
|
— | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | $50,904 |
|
Woodbury University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Cinematography and Film/Video Production
14 graduates
|
— | 73% | $33,692 | $58,010 | $50,387 |
|
Art Center College of Design
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Cinematography and Film/Video Production
19 graduates
|
— | 75% | $48,661 | $75,649 | $49,933 |
|
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Film/Cinema/Media Studies
157 graduates
|
— | 44% | $16,109 | $41,573 | $49,893 |
|
Mount Saint Mary's University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Cinematography and Film/Video Production
4 graduates
|
— | 69% | $21,413 | $66,726 | $47,091 |
|
John Paul the Great Catholic University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 79% | $34,666 | $52,367 | $35,917 |
|
California Institute of the Arts
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Cinematography and Film/Video Production
14 graduates
|
— | 26% | $46,080 | $77,560 | $29,426 |
|
Los Angeles Film School
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Film/Video and Photographic Arts, Other +1
207 graduates
|
— | — | $30,980 | — | — |
|
New York Film Academy
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Cinematography and Film/Video Production
105 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
California College of ASU
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Film/Cinema/Media Studies
75 graduates
|
— | — | $17,683 | — | — |
|
Academy of Art University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Cinematography and Film/Video Production +1
46 graduates
|
— | — | $40,613 | — | — |
|
University of the Pacific
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Digital Communication and Media/Multimedia
33 graduates
|
— | 95% | $25,447 | $71,515 | — |
|
Occidental College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Film/Cinema/Media Studies
20 graduates
|
— | 40% | $38,263 | $84,800 | — |
|
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Film/Cinema/Media Studies
13 graduates
|
— | 74% | $26,285 | $54,038 | — |
|
California College of the Arts
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Cinematography and Film/Video Production
13 graduates
|
— | 73% | $53,909 | $79,776 | — |
|
William Jessup University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Digital Communication and Media/Multimedia
12 graduates
|
— | — | $28,062 | — | — |
|
Azusa Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Cinematography and Film/Video Production +1
11 graduates
|
— | 80% | $22,212 | $56,313 | — |
|
California Lutheran University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Cinematography and Film/Video Production
9 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,109 | $68,426 | — |
|
Stanford University
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Film/Cinema/Media Studies
7 graduates
|
— | 4% | $13,807 | $87,833 | — |
|
FIDM-Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Cinematography and Film/Video Production
3 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
La Sierra University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Radio and Television +1
2 graduates
|
— | 93% | $45,566 | $51,459 | — |
|
Pacific Union College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Cinematography and Film/Video Production
2 graduates
|
— | 42% | $41,008 | $49,404 | — |
|
Claremont McKenna College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Film/Cinema/Media Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 11% | $28,849 | $86,500 | — |
|
Westcliff University
CA · Private for-profit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Digital Communication and Media/Multimedia
1 graduate
|
— | 45% | $35,426 | $44,210 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/film-and-television?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a film and television applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
A film and television list needs both kinds of school on it: the campuses that report an admit rate for the major, and the schools where the public numbers are cost and earnings instead. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359