At a glance · California

  • 30 colleges in California offer a bachelor's mechanical engineering program: 29 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 1 more report a mechanical engineering admit rate in the UC/CSU data.
  • Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of California-Irvine (283), California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo (278), San Diego State University (259).
  • Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Berkeley — Mechanical Engineering, Fall 2025: 6,148 applied, 252 admitted (4%).
  • Highest reported admit rate into the program: University of California-Merced — 97% (2,311 applied, 2,240 admitted, Fall 2025).
  • Highest median earnings four years after the degree: Santa Clara University, $122,111.
  • Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-Los Angeles, $3,967 per year.

No mechanical engineering program in this California data reports a transfer path only, so a student applying out of high school is applying to the program itself at the CSU campuses and to the campus at the UCs. Where a college below shows no first-year row, it is because that college does not report admissions by major, not because the major is closed. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 389 colleges nationwide →

Hardest reported gate

4%
University of California-Berkeley
Mechanical Engineering, Fall 2025: 6,148 applied, 252 admitted

Highest reported admit rate

97%
University of California-Merced
Mechanical Engineering, Fall 2025: 2,311 applied, 2,240 admitted

Highest earnings, 4 yrs out

$122,111
Santa Clara University
median, graduates of this program

Lowest net price with aid

$3,967
California State University-Los Angeles
average for aid recipients, per year

Every college, one row each

Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.

College Gate into the program Degree awarded
· graduates 2022-23
Program
admit rate
Campus
admit rate
Net price
with aid
Full
price
Earnings
4 yrs out
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
Mechanical Engineering
Fall 2025: 6,148 applied, 252 admitted · admit GPA 4.20–4.30
Mechanical Engineering
186 graduates
4% 10% $13,481 $45,619 $119,371
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
Mechanical Engineering
Fall 2025: 6,082 applied, 239 admitted · admit GPA 4.25–4.32
Mechanical Engineering
187 graduates
4% 11% $12,548 $38,614 $108,875
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
Mechanical Engineering
Fall 2025: 4,577 applied, 251 admitted · admit GPA 4.22–4.33
Mechanical Engineering
147 graduates
5% 27% $12,470 $38,701 $104,229
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
Mechanical Engineering
Fall 2025: 4,953 applied, 657 admitted
impacted
Mechanical Engineering
278 graduates
13.3% 30% $16,665 $32,265 $106,750
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
Mechanical Engineering
Fall 2025: 4,414 applied, 1,122 admitted · admit GPA 4.12–4.29
Mechanical Engineering
127 graduates
25% 46% $14,741 $41,238 $102,161
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
Mechanical Engineering
Fall 2025: 3,308 applied, 1,198 admitted
impacted
Mechanical Engineering
234 graduates
36.2% 47% $10,440 $22,679 $95,957
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
Mechanical Engineering
Fall 2025: 4,209 applied, 1,730 admitted
impacted
Mechanical Engineering
259 graduates
41.1% 34% $15,364 $27,780 $97,825
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
Mechanical Engineering
Fall 2025: 3,760 applied, 1,560 admitted
impacted
Mechanical Engineering
216 graduates
41.5% 74% $11,531 $23,955 $99,148
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
Mechanical Engineering
Fall 2025: 1,581 applied, 871 admitted
impacted
Mechanical Engineering
157 graduates
55.1% 80% $13,760 $26,593 —
California State University Maritime Academy
CA · Public · Test-blind
Mechanical Engineering
Fall 2025: 473 applied, 286 admitted
Mechanical Engineering
19 graduates
60.5% — $20,555 — —
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
Mechanical Engineering
Fall 2025: 3,241 applied, 2,442 admitted · admit GPA 3.92–4.22
Mechanical Engineering
120 graduates
75% 88% $14,304 $38,942 $93,721
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
Mechanical Engineering
Fall 2025: 2,183 applied, 1,959 admitted
impacted
Mechanical Engineering
127 graduates
89.7% 87% $6,555 $18,269 $86,808
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
Mechanical Engineering
Fall 2025: 935 applied, 841 admitted
Mechanical Engineering
69 graduates
89.9% 96% $12,278 $26,488 $102,104
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
Mechanical Engineering
Fall 2025: 711 applied, 644 admitted
Mechanical Engineering
88 graduates
90.6% 94% $14,480 $26,283 $93,555
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
Mechanical Engineering
Fall 2025: 1,762 applied, 1,636 admitted
Mechanical Engineering
126 graduates
92.8% 92% $3,967 $18,403 $93,028
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
Mechanical Engineering
Fall 2025: 1,503 applied, 1,409 admitted
Mechanical Engineering
177 graduates
93.7% 93% $7,021 $20,485 $99,216
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
Mechanical Engineering
Fall 2025: 566 applied, 531 admitted
impacted
Mechanical Engineering
72 graduates
93.8% 96% $7,000 $20,095 $88,002
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
Mechanical Engineering
Fall 2025: 1,094 applied, 1,036 admitted
— 94.7% 99% $13,171 $25,170 —
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
Mechanical Engineering
Fall 2025: 1,156 applied, 1,100 admitted
Mechanical Engineering
180 graduates
95.2% 94% $9,338 $22,945 $93,878
University of California-Merced
CA · Public · Test-blind
Mechanical Engineering
Fall 2025: 2,311 applied, 2,240 admitted · admit GPA 3.63–4.18
Mechanical Engineering
150 graduates
97% 95% $11,983 $39,665 $95,040
Santa Clara University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Mechanical Engineering
36 graduates
— 44% $50,062 $82,026 $122,111
Stanford University
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
Not reported by the college system
Mechanical Engineering
56 graduates
— 4% $13,807 $87,833 $117,072
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Mechanical Engineering
54 graduates
— 74% $26,285 $54,038 $105,046
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Mechanical Engineering
101 graduates
— 10% $32,740 $90,300 $104,649
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Mechanical Engineering
82 graduates
— 44% $16,109 $41,573 $104,336
University of the Pacific
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Mechanical Engineering
23 graduates
— 95% $25,447 $71,515 $99,573
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Mechanical Engineering
283 graduates
— 30% $14,251 $38,632 $99,111
Loyola Marymount University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Mechanical Engineering
39 graduates
— 40% $48,381 $83,943 $96,226
University of San Diego
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Mechanical Engineering
62 graduates
— 47% $30,365 $78,720 $91,848
California Institute of Technology
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
Not reported by the college system
Mechanical Engineering
36 graduates
— 3% $16,075 $86,886 —

Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.

Let an AI build the list from this page

Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT

It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.

Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/mechanical-engineering?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a mechanical engineering applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.

Other majors

AccountingAerospace EngineeringAfrican-American StudiesAgribusinessAgricultural Teacher EducationAgricultureAmerican StudiesAnimal ScienceAnimation and Visual EffectsAnthropologyApparel and TextilesArchitectureArt (Studio)Art HistoryArt Teacher EducationAsian StudiesAthletic TrainingAviationBiblical StudiesBiochemistryBiological and Physical SciencesBiologyBiology Teacher EducationBiomedical Engineering and BioengineeringBusiness AdministrationBusiness AnalyticsChemical EngineeringChemistryChild DevelopmentChinese Language and LiteratureCivil EngineeringClassicsClinical Laboratory ScienceCognitive ScienceCommunicationCommunication Sciences and DisordersComparative LiteratureComputer EngineeringComputer ProgrammingComputer ScienceConstruction ManagementCriminal Justice and CriminologyDanceData ScienceDental HygieneDesign (graphic, interior, industrial)Diagnostic Medical SonographyDigital ArtsEast Asian StudiesEconomicsElectrical EngineeringElectrical Engineering TechnologyEmergency ManagementEngineering ManagementEngineering PhysicsEngineering TechnologyEnglishEnglish/Language Arts Teacher EducationEnvironmental EngineeringEnvironmental ScienceFamily and Consumer SciencesFashion MerchandisingFilm and TelevisionFinanceFood ScienceForeign Languages and LiteraturesForensic ScienceFrench Language and LiteratureGeneral EngineeringGeographyGeology and Earth ScienceGerman Language and LiteratureGlobal and International StudiesHealth Care AdministrationHealth ScienceHealth Teacher EducationHistoryHistory Teacher EducationHospitality ManagementHuman ServicesIndustrial EngineeringIndustrial TechnologyInformation SystemsItalian Language and LiteratureJapanese Language and LiteratureJournalismKinesiologyLatin American StudiesLegal Studies (pre-law)Liberal Studies (teacher preparation)LinguisticsMarine BiologyMarketingMaterials EngineeringMathematicsMathematics Teacher EducationMechanical Engineering TechnologyMicrobiologyMissionary StudiesMusicMusic ManagementMusic Teacher EducationMusic TherapyNatural SciencesNeuroscienceNursing (BSN)Nutrition and DieteticsParalegal StudiesParks and Recreation ManagementParks and Recreation StudiesPhilosophyPhotographyPhysical Education Teaching and CoachingPhysicsPolitical SciencePsychologyPublic AdministrationPublic HealthPublic Policy AnalysisRadiation TherapyRadiologic TechnologyReal EstateReligious StudiesRespiratory TherapyRussian Language and LiteratureSacred MusicScience Teacher EducationSocial Science Teacher EducationSocial Studies Teacher EducationSocial WorkSociologySpanishSpanish Language Teacher EducationSpecial EducationSport ManagementStatisticsTeaching English as a Second LanguageTheatreTheologyUrban StudiesWildlife Science and ManagementWomen's StudiesYouth Ministry All majors →

The list is where the work starts

A list for this major should reach across the whole range reported here, from the 252 of 6,148 applicants admitted at UC Berkeley to the 97% admitted at UC Merced, so the plan does not rest on one campus saying yes. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359