By major · Music
Where can your student actually get into a music program?
Music is one of the majors where two campuses in the same system can look nothing alike. In Fall 2025, Cal State Long Beach admitted 157 of 681 applicants to Music (Professional Performance), and Cal State Fullerton admitted all 74 students who applied to a program with that same name. In all, 69 colleges in California report a bachelor's music program in federal outcome data or a music admit rate in the UC/CSU data, and the highest median earnings four years after the degree among them is $65,533, at Sonoma State. Every number below is the college system's own reporting, assembled in one place.
At a glance · California
- 69 colleges in California offer a bachelor's music program: 68 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 1 more report a music admit rate in the UC/CSU data.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Los Angeles Film School (128), California State University-Northridge (94), California State University-Long Beach (77).
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): California State University-Long Beach — Music (Professional Performance), Fall 2025: 681 applied, 157 admitted (23.1%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Fullerton — 100.0% (74 applied, 74 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: Sonoma State University, $65,533.
- Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-Los Angeles, $3,967 per year.
At most music programs the number that decides it is not on this page: admission usually turns on an audition or a portfolio, judged on its own schedule. At the UC campuses the rate shown is the share of applicants to that intended major who were admitted to the campus, not a decision made about the music program itself. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 976 colleges nationwide →
Hardest reported gate
Music (Professional Performance), Fall 2025: 681 applied, 157 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Music (Professional Performance), Fall 2025: 74 applied, 74 admitted
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music (Professional Performance)
Fall 2025: 681 applied, 157 admitted
impacted
|
Music Performance, General +1
77 graduates
|
23.1% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | $47,831 |
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music Performance
Fall 2025: 312 applied, 83 admitted · admit GPA 3.86–4.19
Global Jazz Studies: 18% · Music Education: 11% · Ethnomusicology: 69% · Musicology: 57%
|
Music Performance, General +4
66 graduates
|
27% | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | $47,779 |
|
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music
Fall 2025: 419 applied, 121 admitted · admit GPA 4.03–4.25
|
Music, General
12 graduates
|
29% | 27% | $12,470 | $38,701 | $58,071 |
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music
Fall 2025: 574 applied, 175 admitted · admit GPA 4.00–4.25
|
Music, General
30 graduates
|
30% | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | — |
|
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music
Fall 2025: 400 applied, 135 admitted · admit GPA 3.92–4.22
|
Music, General +1
33 graduates
|
34% | 44% | $16,109 | $41,573 | $33,825 |
|
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music
Fall 2025: 170 applied, 58 admitted
impacted
|
Music, General
14 graduates
|
34.1% | 30% | $16,665 | $32,265 | — |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music (Professional Performance)
Fall 2025: 486 applied, 175 admitted
impacted
Music: 16.7%
|
Music Performance, General +1
46 graduates
|
36.0% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | $42,090 |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music
Fall 2025: 345 applied, 213 admitted · admit GPA 3.83–4.18
|
Music, General
24 graduates
|
62% | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | — |
|
University of California-Santa Cruz
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music
Fall 2025: 334 applied, 210 admitted · admit GPA 3.76–4.12
|
Music Performance, General
12 graduates
|
63% | 82% | $17,890 | $41,179 | — |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music (Professional Performance)
Fall 2025: 158 applied, 117 admitted
impacted
Music: 81.5%
|
Music Performance, General +1
94 graduates
|
74.1% | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | $40,669 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music
Fall 2025: 72 applied, 56 admitted
Music Education: 80.0%
|
Music, General
15 graduates
|
77.8% | 99% | $13,171 | $25,170 | — |
|
California State University-East Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music
Fall 2025: 59 applied, 48 admitted
|
Music, General
15 graduates
|
81.4% | 97% | $9,320 | $22,850 | — |
|
California State University-Bakersfield
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music
Fall 2025: 168 applied, 137 admitted
|
Music, General
4 graduates
|
81.5% | 88% | $5,652 | $19,522 | — |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music (Professional Performance)
Fall 2025: 81 applied, 67 admitted
Music: 85.3% · Music Theory & Composition: 91.7%
|
Music, General +1
27 graduates
|
82.7% | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | $38,639 |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music (Professional Performance)
Fall 2025: 123 applied, 102 admitted
impacted
Music Education: 83.3% · Music: 70.5%
|
Music Performance, General +1
41 graduates
|
82.9% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
California State University-San Marcos
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music
Fall 2025: 85 applied, 75 admitted
|
Music, General
6 graduates
|
88.2% | 96% | $10,229 | $21,649 | — |
|
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music (Professional Performance)
Fall 2025: 175 applied, 155 admitted
Music: 91.5%
|
Music, General
13 graduates
|
88.6% | 91% | $8,615 | $23,191 | — |
|
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music
Fall 2025: 265 applied, 235 admitted
Music (Professional Performance): 65.6%
|
Music Performance, General +1
34 graduates
|
88.7% | 92% | $3,967 | $18,403 | $39,120 |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music Education
Fall 2025: 37 applied, 33 admitted
Music: 85.3%
|
Music, General
36 graduates
|
89.2% | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | $42,269 |
|
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music
Fall 2025: 368 applied, 330 admitted · admit GPA 3.39–4.00
|
Music, General +1
21 graduates
|
90% | 88% | $14,304 | $38,942 | — |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music (Professional Performance)
Fall 2025: 190 applied, 174 admitted
Music: 90.0%
|
Music Performance, General +1
46 graduates
|
91.6% | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | $42,774 |
|
California State University-Channel Islands
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music (Professional Performance)
Fall 2025: 61 applied, 56 admitted
|
— | 91.8% | 93% | $9,849 | $23,561 | — |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music
Fall 2025: 172 applied, 163 admitted
Music (Professional Performance): 65.5%
|
Music, General
50 graduates
|
94.8% | 74% | $11,531 | $23,955 | $44,910 |
|
California State University-Monterey Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music
Fall 2025: 93 applied, 89 admitted
|
Music, General
12 graduates
|
95.7% | 95% | $13,663 | $26,987 | $40,077 |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music (Professional Performance)
Fall 2025: 109 applied, 105 admitted
Music Education: 96.0%
|
Music, General
44 graduates
|
96.3% | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | — |
|
Sonoma State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music (Professional Performance)
Fall 2025: 33 applied, 32 admitted
Music Education: 92.9% · Music: 87.5% · Music Theory & Composition: 100.0%
|
Music, General
17 graduates
|
97.0% | 95% | $12,885 | $24,648 | $65,533 |
|
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music (Professional Performance)
Fall 2025: 74 applied, 74 admitted
impacted
Music Education: 100.0%
|
Music Performance, General +1
61 graduates
|
100.0% | 87% | $6,555 | $18,269 | $39,590 |
|
California State University-Stanislaus
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music (Professional Performance)
Fall 2025: 52 applied, 52 admitted
Music: 95.7%
|
Music Performance, General +1
16 graduates
|
100.0% | 98% | $6,067 | $19,739 | — |
|
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Music
Fall 2025: 57 applied, 57 admitted
Music (Professional Performance): 96.0%
|
Music, General +1
14 graduates
|
100.0% | 98% | $4,564 | $17,427 | — |
|
University of Redlands
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Performance, General +5
23 graduates
|
— | 81% | $30,031 | $76,630 | $59,275 |
|
Biola University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music, Other +3
22 graduates
|
— | 60% | $31,495 | $62,757 | $50,781 |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music, General +1
30 graduates
|
— | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | $43,120 |
|
University of the Pacific
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music, General +3
19 graduates
|
— | 95% | $25,447 | $71,515 | $43,093 |
|
Chapman University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Voice and Opera +5
18 graduates
|
— | 56% | $46,555 | $83,146 | $41,698 |
|
California Institute of the Arts
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music, General +3
43 graduates
|
— | 26% | $46,080 | $77,560 | $40,294 |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Performance, General +10
69 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | $34,124 |
|
California Lutheran University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Technology +1
24 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,109 | $68,426 | $32,316 |
|
Los Angeles Film School
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Theory and Composition +1
128 graduates
|
— | — | $30,980 | — | — |
|
Musicians Institute
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Performance, General +2
64 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
San Francisco Conservatory of Music
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Stringed Instruments +7
51 graduates
|
— | — | $42,607 | — | — |
|
Los Angeles College of Music
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Technology +4
28 graduates
|
— | — | $43,590 | — | — |
|
Azusa Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music, General
24 graduates
|
— | 80% | $22,212 | $56,313 | — |
|
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Performance, General +4
19 graduates
|
— | 74% | $26,285 | $54,038 | — |
|
Pepperdine University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music, General +1
17 graduates
|
— | 50% | $58,098 | $93,512 | — |
|
Occidental College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music, General
15 graduates
|
— | 40% | $38,263 | $84,800 | — |
|
Academy of Art University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Theory and Composition
14 graduates
|
— | — | $40,613 | — | — |
|
Concordia University-Irvine
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music, Other
11 graduates
|
— | 60% | $28,115 | $58,682 | — |
|
University of Silicon Valley
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Technology
10 graduates
|
— | — | $27,815 | — | — |
|
The Master's University and Seminary
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music, General
9 graduates
|
— | 76% | $32,647 | $54,845 | — |
|
Vanguard University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music, General
7 graduates
|
— | 65% | $21,241 | $52,665 | — |
|
Point Loma Nazarene University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music, General +1
6 graduates
|
— | 82% | $38,729 | $60,488 | — |
|
Santa Clara University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music, General
6 graduates
|
— | 44% | $50,062 | $82,026 | — |
|
Westmont College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music, General
6 graduates
|
— | 80% | $29,053 | $71,150 | — |
|
La Sierra University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music, General
4 graduates
|
— | 93% | $45,566 | $51,459 | — |
|
Loyola Marymount University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music, General
4 graduates
|
— | 40% | $48,381 | $83,943 | — |
|
Saint Mary's College of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music, General
4 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,378 | $77,659 | — |
|
Stanford University
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music, General
4 graduates
|
— | 4% | $13,807 | $87,833 | — |
|
Whittier College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music, General +1
4 graduates
|
— | 85% | $25,757 | $63,664 | — |
|
William Jessup University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music, General
4 graduates
|
— | — | $28,062 | — | — |
|
California Jazz Conservatory
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Performance, General
3 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Pomona College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music, General
3 graduates
|
— | 7% | $19,285 | $85,300 | — |
|
University of La Verne
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music, General
3 graduates
|
— | 48% | $20,161 | $62,278 | — |
|
University of San Diego
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music, General
3 graduates
|
— | 47% | $30,365 | $78,720 | — |
|
Fresno Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Performance, General
2 graduates
|
— | 58% | $13,630 | $44,249 | — |
|
Scripps College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music, General
2 graduates
|
— | 34% | $36,294 | $87,564 | — |
|
World Mission University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music, General
2 graduates
|
— | — | $15,785 | — | — |
|
Dominican University of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music, General
1 graduate
|
— | 96% | $35,333 | $71,751 | — |
|
Mount Saint Mary's University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Pedagogy
1 graduate
|
— | 69% | $21,413 | $66,726 | — |
|
Pitzer College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music, General
1 graduate
|
— | 17% | $34,191 | $86,466 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/music?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a music applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
A music list needs two columns most lists skip: the audition or portfolio each program asks for, and what the degree pays four years out. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359