By major · Health Care Administration
Where can your student actually get into health care administration?
Health care administration is the management side of medicine, the degree for the person who runs the clinic rather than treats the patient. 507 colleges awarded a bachelor's in it in 2022-23. There are 31 colleges in California on this page, 7 of them publishing an admit rate into the major, and those rates run from 43.2% at Cal State Long Beach, where 370 students applied and 160 were admitted, to 96.4% at Fresno State.
At a glance · California
- 31 colleges in California offer a bachelor's health care administration program: 27 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 3 more report a health care administration admit rate in the UC/CSU data; 1 more carry program earnings in federal outcome data but no 2022-23 degree count under these program codes.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Ashford University (450), California State University-Long Beach (146), California State University-Northridge (121).
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): California State University-Long Beach — Health Care Management/Administration, Fall 2025: 370 applied, 160 admitted (43.2%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Fresno — 96.4% (250 applied, 241 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: Northeastern University Oakland, $80,233.
- Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-San Bernardino, $4,564 per year.
The CSU campuses that report this major call it Health Care Management/Administration or Health Services Administration, and both names sit on this page. A college with no admit rate is not an open door. It means the college publishes none, and the campus rate is the only gate a family can see. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 519 colleges nationwide →
Hardest reported gate
Health Care Management/Administration, Fall 2025: 370 applied, 160 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Health Care Management/Administration, Fall 2025: 250 applied, 241 admitted
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Health Care Management/Administration
Fall 2025: 370 applied, 160 admitted
impacted
|
Health/Health Care Administration/Management
146 graduates
|
43.2% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | $64,633 |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Health Services Administration
Fall 2025: 76 applied, 58 admitted
|
Health Services Administration
31 graduates
|
76.3% | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | — |
|
California State University-Bakersfield
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Health Care Management/Administration
Fall 2025: 66 applied, 52 admitted
|
— | 78.8% | 88% | $5,652 | $19,522 | — |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Health Care Management/Administration
Fall 2025: 215 applied, 196 admitted
|
Health/Health Care Administration/Management
121 graduates
|
91.2% | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | $60,740 |
|
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Health Care Management/Administration
Fall 2025: 351 applied, 326 admitted
|
— | 92.9% | 91% | $8,615 | $23,191 | $59,094 |
|
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Health Services Administration
Fall 2025: 108 applied, 101 admitted
|
Health Services Administration
23 graduates
|
93.5% | 98% | $4,564 | $17,427 | $55,217 |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Health Care Management/Administration
Fall 2025: 250 applied, 241 admitted
|
— | 96.4% | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | — |
|
Northeastern University Oakland
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 16% | $25,181 | $85,418 | $80,233 |
|
Fresno Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health/Health Care Administration/Management
20 graduates
|
— | 58% | $13,630 | $44,249 | $66,778 |
|
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health/Health Care Administration/Management
41 graduates
|
— | 74% | $26,285 | $54,038 | $51,070 |
|
Ashford University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health/Health Care Administration/Management +1
450 graduates
|
— | — | $31,266 | — | — |
|
Chapman University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Services Administration
103 graduates
|
— | 56% | $46,555 | $83,146 | — |
|
San Joaquin Valley College-Visalia
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health/Health Care Administration/Management
46 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
National University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health/Health Care Administration/Management
43 graduates
|
— | — | $22,878 | — | — |
|
West Coast University-Orange County
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health/Health Care Administration/Management
34 graduates
|
— | — | $32,879 | — | — |
|
La Sierra University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Services Administration +1
15 graduates
|
— | 93% | $45,566 | $51,459 | — |
|
Fremont University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Services Administration
12 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Pacific College
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health/Health Care Administration/Management
11 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Platt College-Anaheim
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health/Health Care Administration/Management
9 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Platt College-Los Angeles
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health/Health Care Administration/Management
9 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Loma Linda University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health/Health Care Administration/Management +1
8 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Stanbridge University
CA · Private for-profit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health/Health Care Administration/Management
7 graduates
|
— | 11% | — | — | — |
|
DeVry University-California
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health/Health Care Administration/Management
5 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
University of the Pacific
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Services Administration
5 graduates
|
— | 95% | $25,447 | $71,515 | — |
|
ATI College-Whittier
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health/Health Care Administration/Management
4 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Concordia University-Irvine
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health/Health Care Administration/Management
4 graduates
|
— | 60% | $28,115 | $58,682 | — |
|
Platt College-Riverside
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health/Health Care Administration/Management
4 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Platt College-Ontario
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health/Health Care Administration/Management
3 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
University of Phoenix-California
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Hospital and Health Care Facilities Administration/Management
3 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
University of Antelope Valley
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health/Health Care Administration/Management
1 graduate
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
University of La Verne
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health/Health Care Administration/Management
1 graduate
|
— | 48% | $20,161 | $62,278 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/health-care-administration?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a health care administration applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
A health care administration list should pair a campus that publishes a rate with two or three that do not, and carry the net price for each. In California that price starts at $4,564 a year after aid at Cal State San Bernardino. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359