By major · Global and International Studies
Where can your student actually get into global studies?
Global studies is one major with several names, so a family has to read past the name to find the gate. For Fall 2025, 873 students applied to UC Berkeley naming Global Studies and 196 were admitted, while Cal State Monterey Bay admitted 77 of the 81 who applied to International Studies/Global Studies. UC San Diego reports the major as separate tracks, and the largest of them, International Studies - International Business, drew 2,257 applicants and 573 admits. Every number below is the college system's own reporting and the federal earnings data, assembled in one place.
At a glance · California
- 28 colleges in California offer a bachelor's global studies program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of California-San Diego (465), University of California-Santa Barbara (135), University of California-Irvine (108).
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Berkeley — Global Studies, Fall 2025: 873 applied, 196 admitted (22%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Monterey Bay — 95.1% (81 applied, 77 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: University of California-Los Angeles, $82,501.
- Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-San Bernardino, $4,564 per year.
The California campuses that publish a first-year rate for this major run from 22% at UC Berkeley to 95.1% at Cal State Monterey Bay, and at a UC that figure reflects the campus admission decision rather than a decision made by a global studies department. A college with no first-year row here is not an easier door; the system publishes no separate number for the major there, so the campus admit rate is the only public figure to plan around. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 280 colleges nationwide →
Hardest reported gate
Global Studies, Fall 2025: 873 applied, 196 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
International Studies/Global Studies, Fall 2025: 81 applied, 77 admitted
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Global Studies
Fall 2025: 873 applied, 196 admitted · admit GPA 4.15–4.30
|
International/Globalization Studies
66 graduates
|
22% | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | $66,522 |
|
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
International Studies - International Business
Fall 2025: 2,257 applied, 573 admitted · admit GPA 4.08–4.27
International Studies - Political Science: 41% · International Studies - Economics: 28%
|
International/Globalization Studies
465 graduates
|
25% | 27% | $12,470 | $38,701 | $81,174 |
|
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Global Studies
Fall 2025: 949 applied, 392 admitted · admit GPA 4.07–4.28
|
International/Globalization Studies
135 graduates
|
41% | 44% | $16,109 | $41,573 | $66,127 |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
International Studies
Fall 2025: 837 applied, 417 admitted · admit GPA 4.00–4.25
|
International/Globalization Studies
108 graduates
|
50% | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | $57,116 |
|
California State University Maritime Academy
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
International Strategy and Security
Fall 2025: 129 applied, 81 admitted
|
International/Globalization Studies
25 graduates
|
62.8% | — | $20,555 | — | — |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
International Studies/Global Studies
Fall 2025: 55 applied, 42 admitted
impacted
|
International/Globalization Studies
9 graduates
|
76.4% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
California State University-Channel Islands
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
International Studies/Global Studies
Fall 2025: 29 applied, 23 admitted
|
International/Globalization Studies
4 graduates
|
79.3% | 93% | $9,849 | $23,561 | — |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
International Security and Conflict Resolution
Fall 2025: 216 applied, 180 admitted
impacted
International Studies/Global Studies: 82.4%
|
International/Globalization Studies
16 graduates
|
83.3% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | — |
|
California State University-East Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
International Studies/Global Studies
Fall 2025: 13 applied, 11 admitted
|
International/Globalization Studies
5 graduates
|
84.6% | 97% | $9,320 | $22,850 | — |
|
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Global Studies
Fall 2025: 185 applied, 159 admitted · admit GPA 3.60–4.15
|
International/Globalization Studies
21 graduates
|
86% | 88% | $14,304 | $38,942 | $57,959 |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
International Studies/Global Studies
Fall 2025: 217 applied, 189 admitted
impacted
|
International/Globalization Studies
30 graduates
|
87.1% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | $53,918 |
|
California State University-San Marcos
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
International Studies/Global Studies
Fall 2025: 38 applied, 34 admitted
|
International/Globalization Studies
4 graduates
|
89.5% | 96% | $10,229 | $21,649 | — |
|
California State University-Monterey Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
International Studies/Global Studies
Fall 2025: 81 applied, 77 admitted
|
International/Globalization Studies
10 graduates
|
95.1% | 95% | $13,663 | $26,987 | $61,480 |
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
International/Globalization Studies
51 graduates
|
— | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | $82,501 |
|
Pepperdine University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
International/Globalization Studies
18 graduates
|
— | 50% | $58,098 | $93,512 | $62,495 |
|
Point Loma Nazarene University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
International/Globalization Studies
12 graduates
|
— | 82% | $38,729 | $60,488 | — |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
International/Globalization Studies
8 graduates
|
— | 99% | $13,171 | $25,170 | — |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
International/Globalization Studies
8 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | — |
|
Pitzer College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
International/Globalization Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 17% | $34,191 | $86,466 | — |
|
Sonoma State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
International/Globalization Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 95% | $12,885 | $24,648 | — |
|
University of the Pacific
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
International/Globalization Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 95% | $25,447 | $71,515 | — |
|
National University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
International/Globalization Studies
3 graduates
|
— | — | $22,878 | — | — |
|
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
International/Globalization Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 74% | $26,285 | $54,038 | — |
|
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
International/Globalization Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 98% | $4,564 | $17,427 | — |
|
Saint Mary's College of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
International/Globalization Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,378 | $77,659 | — |
|
Westmont College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
International/Globalization Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 80% | $29,053 | $71,150 | — |
|
Whittier College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
International/Globalization Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 85% | $25,757 | $63,664 | — |
|
Concordia University-Irvine
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
International/Globalization Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 60% | $28,115 | $58,682 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/global-studies?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a global studies applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
A global studies list works best when it spans that whole range of reported rates and records, next to each school, what your family pays after aid and what graduates earn four years out. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359