By major · Physics
Where can your student actually get into physics?
Physics is offered at almost every public university in California, and what changes from campus to campus is the odds, the price and the payoff. In all, 53 colleges in California report a bachelor's physics program in federal outcome data or a physics admit rate in the UC/CSU data, from 14% of physics applicants admitted at UCLA to 98.5% at Cal State San Bernardino. A UC admits to the campus rather than to the major at most programs, so a low number there says more about the campus than about physics. Every number below is the college system's own reporting, assembled in one place.
At a glance · California
- 53 colleges in California offer a bachelor's physics program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of California-Santa Barbara (178), University of California-Berkeley (121), University of California-Los Angeles (103).
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Los Angeles — Physics, Fall 2025: 1,726 applied, 240 admitted (14%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-San Bernardino — 98.5% (66 applied, 65 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo, $96,805.
- Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-Los Angeles, $3,967 per year.
A college listed here with no first-year physics row is one that does not report admissions by major, not one where physics is closed or automatic. Where a first-year row does exist it reports what happened to that fall's physics applicants, and at a UC that outcome is mostly the campus decision rather than a physics decision. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 678 colleges nationwide →
Hardest reported gate
Physics, Fall 2025: 1,726 applied, 240 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Physics, Fall 2025: 66 applied, 65 admitted
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Physics
Fall 2025: 1,726 applied, 240 admitted · admit GPA 4.22–4.30
Astrophysics: 15%
|
Physics, General +1
103 graduates
|
14% | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | $85,708 |
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Physics
Fall 2025: 1,663 applied, 262 admitted · admit GPA 4.16–4.29
Astrophysics: 24%
|
Physics, General +2
121 graduates
|
16% | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | $96,043 |
|
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Physics
Fall 2025: 1,182 applied, 453 admitted · admit GPA 4.09–4.28
Astronomy And Astrophysics: 47% · Physics With Specialization In Computational Physics: 49%
|
Physics, General +1
54 graduates
|
38% | 27% | $12,470 | $38,701 | $95,018 |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Physics
Fall 2025: 301 applied, 142 admitted
impacted
Astronomy: 65.9%
|
Physics, General +1
22 graduates
|
47.2% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | — |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Physics
Fall 2025: 1,145 applied, 607 admitted · admit GPA 4.03–4.26
Applied Physics: 51%
|
Physics, General +1
80 graduates
|
53% | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | $96,215 |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Physics
Fall 2025: 821 applied, 439 admitted · admit GPA 4.07–4.28
Applied Physics: 57% · Chemical Physics: 82%
|
Physics, General +1
57 graduates
|
53% | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | $78,569 |
|
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Physics
Fall 2025: 529 applied, 321 admitted
impacted
|
Physics, General
30 graduates
|
60.7% | 30% | $16,665 | $32,265 | $96,805 |
|
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Physics
Fall 2025: 2,326 applied, 1,517 admitted · admit GPA 4.08–4.28
|
Physics, General
178 graduates
|
65% | 44% | $16,109 | $41,573 | $85,219 |
|
California State University-East Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Physics
Fall 2025: 43 applied, 34 admitted
|
Physics, General
6 graduates
|
79.1% | 97% | $9,320 | $22,850 | — |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Physics
Fall 2025: 239 applied, 193 admitted
impacted
|
Physics, General
17 graduates
|
80.8% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
University of California-Santa Cruz
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Astrophysics
Fall 2025: 573 applied, 474 admitted · admit GPA 3.88–4.26
Physics: 82% · Applied Physics: 100%
|
Astrophysics +1
71 graduates
|
83% | 82% | $17,890 | $41,179 | — |
|
California State University-Bakersfield
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Physics
Fall 2025: 48 applied, 40 admitted
|
Physics, General
2 graduates
|
83.3% | 88% | $5,652 | $19,522 | — |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Physics
Fall 2025: 312 applied, 262 admitted
impacted
|
Physics, General
22 graduates
|
84.0% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | $70,462 |
|
California State University-Channel Islands
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Applied Physics
Fall 2025: 52 applied, 45 admitted
|
Physics, Other
4 graduates
|
86.5% | 93% | $9,849 | $23,561 | — |
|
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Physics
Fall 2025: 162 applied, 141 admitted
impacted
|
Physics, General
8 graduates
|
87.0% | 87% | $6,555 | $18,269 | $86,504 |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Physics
Fall 2025: 39 applied, 35 admitted
|
Physics, General
9 graduates
|
89.7% | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | — |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Astronomy
Fall 2025: 154 applied, 140 admitted
Physics: 91.5%
|
Physics, General
20 graduates
|
90.9% | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | — |
|
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Physics
Fall 2025: 610 applied, 554 admitted · admit GPA 3.65–4.19
|
Physics, General
33 graduates
|
91% | 88% | $14,304 | $38,942 | $74,410 |
|
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Physics
Fall 2025: 138 applied, 127 admitted
|
Physics, General
6 graduates
|
92.0% | 92% | $3,967 | $18,403 | — |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Physics
Fall 2025: 187 applied, 173 admitted
|
Physics, General
14 graduates
|
92.5% | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | — |
|
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Physics
Fall 2025: 504 applied, 468 admitted
|
Physics, General
7 graduates
|
92.9% | 91% | $8,615 | $23,191 | — |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Physics
Fall 2025: 296 applied, 279 admitted
impacted
|
Physics, General
25 graduates
|
94.3% | 74% | $11,531 | $23,955 | $87,856 |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Physics
Fall 2025: 111 applied, 105 admitted
|
Physics, General
9 graduates
|
94.6% | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | $64,133 |
|
University of California-Merced
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Physics
Fall 2025: 495 applied, 468 admitted · admit GPA 3.73–4.23
|
Physics, General
5 graduates
|
95% | 95% | $11,983 | $39,665 | — |
|
California State University-San Marcos
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Applied Physics
Fall 2025: 85 applied, 81 admitted
|
Physics, Other
15 graduates
|
95.3% | 96% | $10,229 | $21,649 | — |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Biomedical Physics
Fall 2025: 177 applied, 169 admitted
Physics: 96.4%
|
Physics, General
6 graduates
|
95.5% | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | — |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Astronomy
Fall 2025: 104 applied, 100 admitted
Physics: 95.1%
|
Physics, General
4 graduates
|
96.2% | 99% | $13,171 | $25,170 | — |
|
California State University-Stanislaus
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Physics
Fall 2025: 33 applied, 32 admitted
|
Physics, General
8 graduates
|
97.0% | 98% | $6,067 | $19,739 | — |
|
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Physics
Fall 2025: 66 applied, 65 admitted
|
Physics, General
16 graduates
|
98.5% | 98% | $4,564 | $17,427 | $62,004 |
|
California Institute of Technology
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Physics, General +1
30 graduates
|
— | 3% | $16,075 | $86,886 | — |
|
Stanford University
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Physics, General
27 graduates
|
— | 4% | $13,807 | $87,833 | — |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Physics, General +1
21 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | — |
|
Harvey Mudd College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Physics, General +1
18 graduates
|
— | 13% | $35,924 | $90,165 | — |
|
Pomona College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Physics, General
17 graduates
|
— | 7% | $19,285 | $85,300 | — |
|
University of San Diego
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Physics, General
15 graduates
|
— | 47% | $30,365 | $78,720 | — |
|
Occidental College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Physics, General
9 graduates
|
— | 40% | $38,263 | $84,800 | — |
|
California Lutheran University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Physics, General
7 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,109 | $68,426 | — |
|
Pepperdine University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Physics, General
7 graduates
|
— | 50% | $58,098 | $93,512 | — |
|
University of Redlands
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Physics, General
7 graduates
|
— | 81% | $30,031 | $76,630 | — |
|
Sonoma State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Physics, General
6 graduates
|
— | 95% | $12,885 | $24,648 | — |
|
Saint Mary's College of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Physics, General
5 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,378 | $77,659 | — |
|
Santa Clara University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Physics, General
5 graduates
|
— | 44% | $50,062 | $82,026 | — |
|
Claremont McKenna College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Physics, General
4 graduates
|
— | 11% | $28,849 | $86,500 | — |
|
Scripps College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Physics, General
4 graduates
|
— | 34% | $36,294 | $87,564 | — |
|
University of La Verne
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Physics, General
4 graduates
|
— | 48% | $20,161 | $62,278 | — |
|
University of the Pacific
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Physics, General
4 graduates
|
— | 95% | $25,447 | $71,515 | — |
|
Whittier College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Physics, General
4 graduates
|
— | 85% | $25,757 | $63,664 | — |
|
Chapman University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Physics, General
3 graduates
|
— | 56% | $46,555 | $83,146 | — |
|
Concordia University-Irvine
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Physics, General
3 graduates
|
— | 60% | $28,115 | $58,682 | — |
|
Pitzer College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Physics, General
2 graduates
|
— | 17% | $34,191 | $86,466 | — |
|
University of San Francisco
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Physics, General
2 graduates
|
— | 51% | $41,431 | $80,141 | — |
|
Westmont College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Physics, General
2 graduates
|
— | 80% | $29,053 | $71,150 | — |
|
Azusa Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Physics, General
1 graduate
|
— | 80% | $22,212 | $56,313 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/physics?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a physics applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
A physics list needs campuses at several admit levels and an honest look at money, because net price with aid runs as low as $3,967 a year at Cal State LA while median earnings four years after the degree reach $96,805 at Cal Poly SLO. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359