By major · Environmental Science
Where can your student actually get into environmental science?
Environmental science is one name stretched over very different programs. UCLA reported 1,724 applications and 198 admits under environmental science, 11%, while Fresno State reported 106 applications and 106 admits, 100.0%. At most UC programs the campus admits the student rather than the major, so a UC number tells you about that applicant pool and not about a separate door into the major. The 50 California colleges below come from the college systems' own reporting and the federal earnings data, gathered in one place.
At a glance · California
- 50 colleges in California offer a bachelor's environmental science program: 48 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 2 more report an environmental science admit rate in the UC/CSU data.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of California-Berkeley (446), University of California-Santa Barbara (321), University of California-Davis (235).
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Los Angeles — Environmental Science, Fall 2025: 1,724 applied, 198 admitted (11%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Fresno — 100.0% (106 applied, 106 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: California State University-Bakersfield, $82,315.
- Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-San Bernardino, $4,564 per year.
Almost every campus here reports a first-year row, so a student applies to environmental science directly out of high school. Where a campus reports the program on the transfer side only, as California State University-Long Beach does for Geography and Environmental Studies, freshmen enter as a related major and apply into the program later, which is a longer path and not a closed one. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 804 colleges nationwide →
Hardest reported gate
Environmental Science, Fall 2025: 1,724 applied, 198 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Environmental Science, Fall 2025: 106 applied, 106 admitted
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Environmental Science
Fall 2025: 1,724 applied, 198 admitted · admit GPA 4.22–4.30
Earth And Environmental Science: 10% · Geography/Environmental Studies: 14%
|
Environmental Science +1
148 graduates
|
11% | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | $75,927 |
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Environmental Science
Fall 2025: 1,623 applied, 233 admitted · admit GPA 4.15–4.28
Molecular Environmental Biology: 15% · Society And Environment: 23% · Environmental Earth Science: 27%
|
Environmental Studies +3
446 graduates
|
14% | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | $78,624 |
|
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Environmental Systems - Earth Sciences
Fall 2025: 753 applied, 270 admitted · admit GPA 4.15–4.29
Environmental Systems - Environmental Policy: 38% · Environmental Systems - Environmental Chemistry: 44%
|
Environmental Studies
73 graduates
|
36% | 27% | $12,470 | $38,701 | $69,061 |
|
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Environmental Studies
Fall 2025: 2,634 applied, 1,181 admitted · admit GPA 4.09–4.28
|
Environmental Studies
321 graduates
|
45% | 44% | $16,109 | $41,573 | $63,628 |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Environmental Science And Policy
Fall 2025: 1,400 applied, 628 admitted · admit GPA 4.00–4.25
|
Environmental Studies
62 graduates
|
45% | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | $59,908 |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Environmental Science
Fall 2025: 947 applied, 622 admitted
impacted
Geography and Environmental Studies: 64.7%
|
Environmental Studies +1
99 graduates
|
65.7% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | $58,215 |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Environmental Science And Management
Fall 2025: 1,305 applied, 927 admitted · admit GPA 4.00–4.25
Environmental Toxicology: 72%
|
Environmental Science +2
235 graduates
|
71% | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | $65,983 |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Environmental Science
Fall 2025: 428 applied, 321 admitted
impacted
Geography and Environmental Studies: 76.5% (transfer)
|
Environmental Science
52 graduates
|
75.0% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | $63,040 |
|
University of California-Santa Cruz
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Environmental Studies
Fall 2025: 656 applied, 524 admitted · admit GPA 3.85–4.23
Environmental Studies/Economics: 75% · Environmental Studies/Biology: 73%
|
Environmental Studies +1
156 graduates
|
80% | 82% | $17,890 | $41,179 | $55,240 |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Environmental Science
Fall 2025: 264 applied, 212 admitted
impacted
|
Environmental Science
65 graduates
|
80.3% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
California State University-East Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Environmental Science
Fall 2025: 81 applied, 70 admitted
|
Environmental Science +1
10 graduates
|
86.4% | 97% | $9,320 | $22,850 | $59,333 |
|
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Environmental Science
Fall 2025: 934 applied, 836 admitted · admit GPA 3.59–4.15
Environmental Studies: 91%
|
Environmental Science +1
67 graduates
|
90% | 88% | $14,304 | $38,942 | $64,944 |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Environmental Science
Fall 2025: 247 applied, 226 admitted
|
Environmental Studies +1
48 graduates
|
91.5% | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | $62,116 |
|
University of California-Merced
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Environmental Systems Science
Fall 2025: 523 applied, 494 admitted · admit GPA 3.60–4.14
|
— | 94% | 95% | $11,983 | $39,665 | — |
|
California State University-Channel Islands
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Environmental Science
Fall 2025: 293 applied, 276 admitted
|
Environmental Science
50 graduates
|
94.2% | 93% | $9,849 | $23,561 | $67,558 |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Environmental Science
Fall 2025: 150 applied, 143 admitted
|
— | 95.3% | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | — |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Environmental Science
Fall 2025: 196 applied, 187 admitted
|
Environmental Science
29 graduates
|
95.4% | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | $69,531 |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Environmental Science
Fall 2025: 158 applied, 151 admitted
|
Environmental Science
60 graduates
|
95.6% | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | $67,795 |
|
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Environmental Science
Fall 2025: 51 applied, 49 admitted
|
Environmental Studies +1
22 graduates
|
96.1% | 98% | $4,564 | $17,427 | $57,319 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Environmental Biology
Fall 2025: 316 applied, 304 admitted
impacted
Geography and Environmental Studies: 92.9% · Sustainability Studies: 96.9%
|
Environmental Biology
26 graduates
|
96.2% | 74% | $11,531 | $23,955 | — |
|
California State University-San Marcos
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Environmental Science
Fall 2025: 174 applied, 169 admitted
|
Environmental Studies
50 graduates
|
97.1% | 96% | $10,229 | $21,649 | $55,903 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Environmental Science
Fall 2025: 424 applied, 413 admitted
|
Environmental Science +1
119 graduates
|
97.4% | 99% | $13,171 | $25,170 | $50,915 |
|
California State University-Monterey Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Environmental Science
Fall 2025: 523 applied, 515 admitted
|
Environmental Studies +1
67 graduates
|
98.5% | 95% | $13,663 | $26,987 | $51,598 |
|
Sonoma State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Environmental Science
Fall 2025: 72 applied, 71 admitted
|
Environmental Science
15 graduates
|
98.6% | 95% | $12,885 | $24,648 | $69,077 |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Environmental Science
Fall 2025: 106 applied, 106 admitted
|
Environmental Science
13 graduates
|
100.0% | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | — |
|
California State University-Bakersfield
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy, Other
6 graduates
|
— | 88% | $5,652 | $19,522 | $82,315 |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Environmental Science +1
44 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | $78,731 |
|
Santa Clara University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Environmental Science +1
39 graduates
|
— | 44% | $50,062 | $82,026 | $72,889 |
|
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy, Other
123 graduates
|
— | 30% | $16,665 | $32,265 | $68,965 |
|
Occidental College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Environmental Studies
22 graduates
|
— | 40% | $38,263 | $84,800 | $59,542 |
|
University of San Diego
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Environmental Science
30 graduates
|
— | 47% | $30,365 | $78,720 | $58,517 |
|
University of Redlands
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Environmental Science +2
49 graduates
|
— | 81% | $30,031 | $76,630 | $57,319 |
|
University of San Francisco
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Environmental Studies +1
31 graduates
|
— | 51% | $41,431 | $80,141 | $53,369 |
|
Pitzer College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Environmental Science +1
34 graduates
|
— | 17% | $34,191 | $86,466 | — |
|
Loyola Marymount University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Environmental Studies +1
20 graduates
|
— | 40% | $48,381 | $83,943 | — |
|
Ashford University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Environmental Studies
17 graduates
|
— | — | $31,266 | — | — |
|
Chapman University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Environmental Science
16 graduates
|
— | 56% | $46,555 | $83,146 | — |
|
California Lutheran University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Environmental Science
14 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,109 | $68,426 | — |
|
Claremont McKenna College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Environmental Studies +1
14 graduates
|
— | 11% | $28,849 | $86,500 | — |
|
Scripps College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Environmental Science
12 graduates
|
— | 34% | $36,294 | $87,564 | — |
|
Pomona College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Environmental Science
11 graduates
|
— | 7% | $19,285 | $85,300 | — |
|
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Environmental Science +1
10 graduates
|
— | 74% | $26,285 | $54,038 | — |
|
Point Loma Nazarene University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Environmental Studies +1
8 graduates
|
— | 82% | $38,729 | $60,488 | — |
|
Saint Mary's College of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Environmental Studies +1
8 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,378 | $77,659 | — |
|
Whittier College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Environmental Science +1
8 graduates
|
— | 85% | $25,757 | $63,664 | — |
|
University of the Pacific
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Environmental Geosciences +1
5 graduates
|
— | 95% | $25,447 | $71,515 | — |
|
Mount Saint Mary's University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Environmental Biology
2 graduates
|
— | 69% | $21,413 | $66,726 | — |
|
Pepperdine University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Sustainability Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 50% | $58,098 | $93,512 | — |
|
Fresno Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Environmental Biology
1 graduate
|
— | 58% | $13,630 | $44,249 | — |
|
University of La Verne
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Environmental Science
1 graduate
|
— | 48% | $20,161 | $62,278 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/environmental-science?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a environmental science applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a related major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
A list for this major should name the exact program at each campus, because Environmental Science, Environmental Studies and Environmental Systems - Environmental Policy are different degrees with different reported admit rates. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359