At a glance · California

  • 60 colleges in California offer a bachelor's chemistry program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
  • Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of California-San Diego (224), University of California-Berkeley (129), University of California-Irvine (116).
  • Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Berkeley — Chemistry, Fall 2025: 2,229 applied, 247 admitted (11%).
  • Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Fresno — 98.5% (131 applied, 129 admitted, Fall 2025).
  • Highest median earnings four years after the degree: University of California-Berkeley, $82,386.
  • Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-Los Angeles, $3,967 per year.

Almost every UC and CSU campus that offers chemistry reports first-year applicants and admits for it, so the pre-major wait that shapes a major like nursing does not show up here. UC Merced is the one public exception, and like the private colleges it appears here on federal earnings data alone, with no chemistry admit rate of its own, which says nothing about how hard that program is to enter. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 1041 colleges nationwide →

Hardest reported gate

11%
University of California-Berkeley
Chemistry, Fall 2025: 2,229 applied, 247 admitted

Highest reported admit rate

98.5%
California State University-Fresno
Chemistry, Fall 2025: 131 applied, 129 admitted

Highest earnings, 4 yrs out

$82,386
University of California-Berkeley
median, graduates of this program

Lowest net price with aid

$3,967
California State University-Los Angeles
average for aid recipients, per year

Every college, one row each

Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.

College Gate into the program Degree awarded
· graduates 2022-23
Program
admit rate
Campus
admit rate
Net price
with aid
Full
price
Earnings
4 yrs out
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 2,229 applied, 247 admitted · admit GPA 4.20–4.30
Chemical Biology: 11%
Chemistry, General
129 graduates
11% 10% $13,481 $45,619 $82,386
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 1,715 applied, 236 admitted · admit GPA 4.22–4.30
Chemistry, General
64 graduates
14% 11% $12,548 $38,614 $72,220
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 1,778 applied, 590 admitted · admit GPA 4.12–4.29
Pharmacological Chemistry: 33%
Chemistry, Other +1
224 graduates
33% 27% $12,470 $38,701 $77,249
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 2,099 applied, 728 admitted
impacted
Chemistry, General
95 graduates
34.7% 34% $15,364 $27,780 $74,676
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 1,929 applied, 764 admitted · admit GPA 4.10–4.29
Chemistry, General
116 graduates
40% 30% $14,251 $38,632 $74,810
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 840 applied, 361 admitted
impacted
Chemistry, General
29 graduates
43.0% 30% $16,665 $32,265 $63,882
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 4,311 applied, 2,220 admitted · admit GPA 4.11–4.29
Chemistry, General +1
112 graduates
51% 44% $16,109 $41,573 $74,713
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 1,036 applied, 554 admitted · admit GPA 4.12–4.28
Pharmaceutical Chemistry: 58% · Applied Chemistry: 57%
Chemistry, General +2
90 graduates
53% 46% $14,741 $41,238 $73,365
University of California-Santa Cruz
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 986 applied, 785 admitted · admit GPA 3.91–4.25
Chemistry, General
53 graduates
80% 82% $17,890 $41,179 $71,348
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 1,910 applied, 1,545 admitted
impacted
Chemistry, General
51 graduates
80.9% 47% $10,440 $22,679 $67,818
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 235 applied, 195 admitted
impacted
Chemistry, General
61 graduates
83.0% 80% $13,760 $26,593 —
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 963 applied, 811 admitted · admit GPA 3.73–4.23
Chemistry, General
62 graduates
84% 88% $14,304 $38,942 $64,131
California State University-East Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 184 applied, 157 admitted
Chemistry, General
10 graduates
85.3% 97% $9,320 $22,850 —
California State University-Bakersfield
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 102 applied, 92 admitted
Chemistry, General
3 graduates
90.2% 88% $5,652 $19,522 —
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 92 applied, 85 admitted
Chemistry, General
6 graduates
92.4% 91% $8,615 $23,191 —
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 559 applied, 519 admitted
impacted
Chemistry, General
22 graduates
92.8% 87% $6,555 $18,269 $64,857
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 244 applied, 228 admitted
Chemistry, General
18 graduates
93.4% 96% $12,278 $26,488 —
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 303 applied, 284 admitted
impacted
Chemistry, General
95 graduates
93.7% 74% $11,531 $23,955 $70,741
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 437 applied, 410 admitted
Chemistry, General
17 graduates
93.8% 94% $9,338 $22,945 $74,430
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 134 applied, 126 admitted
Chemistry, General
3 graduates
94.0% 94% $14,480 $26,283 —
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 199 applied, 188 admitted
Chemistry, General
23 graduates
94.5% 93% $7,021 $20,485 $79,878
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 259 applied, 245 admitted
Chemistry, General
20 graduates
94.6% 92% $3,967 $18,403 $51,747
California State University-Channel Islands
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 172 applied, 163 admitted
Chemistry, General
22 graduates
94.8% 93% $9,849 $23,561 $58,498
California State University-San Marcos
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 188 applied, 179 admitted
Chemistry, General
11 graduates
95.2% 96% $10,229 $21,649 —
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 133 applied, 127 admitted
Chemistry, General
45 graduates
95.5% 98% $4,564 $17,427 $63,496
California State University-Stanislaus
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 125 applied, 120 admitted
Chemistry, General
13 graduates
96.0% 98% $6,067 $19,739 $73,392
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 143 applied, 140 admitted
Chemistry, General
9 graduates
97.9% 99% $13,171 $25,170 $50,579
Sonoma State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 62 applied, 61 admitted
Chemistry, General
10 graduates
98.4% 95% $12,885 $24,648 —
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
Chemistry
Fall 2025: 131 applied, 129 admitted
Chemistry, General
30 graduates
98.5% 96% $7,000 $20,095 $45,522
University of California-Merced
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
31 graduates
— 95% $11,983 $39,665 $56,888
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
13 graduates
— 10% $32,740 $90,300 $54,966
University of San Francisco
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
16 graduates
— 51% $41,431 $80,141 —
Westmont College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
12 graduates
— 80% $29,053 $71,150 —
Chapman University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
11 graduates
— 56% $46,555 $83,146 —
Occidental College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
11 graduates
— 40% $38,263 $84,800 —
Stanford University
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
11 graduates
— 4% $13,807 $87,833 —
University of San Diego
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
10 graduates
— 47% $30,365 $78,720 —
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General +1
9 graduates
— 74% $26,285 $54,038 —
Harvey Mudd College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
8 graduates
— 13% $35,924 $90,165 —
Pomona College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
8 graduates
— 7% $19,285 $85,300 —
California Institute of Technology
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
7 graduates
— 3% $16,075 $86,886 —
Vanguard University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Environmental Chemistry +1
6 graduates
— 65% $21,241 $52,665 —
California Lutheran University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
5 graduates
— 89% $30,109 $68,426 —
Dominican University of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
5 graduates
— 96% $35,333 $71,751 —
Loyola Marymount University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
5 graduates
— 40% $48,381 $83,943 —
Point Loma Nazarene University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
5 graduates
— 82% $38,729 $60,488 —
University of La Verne
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
5 graduates
— 48% $20,161 $62,278 —
University of Redlands
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
5 graduates
— 81% $30,031 $76,630 —
Azusa Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
4 graduates
— 80% $22,212 $56,313 —
Pepperdine University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
4 graduates
— 50% $58,098 $93,512 —
Santa Clara University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
4 graduates
— 44% $50,062 $82,026 —
University of the Pacific
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
4 graduates
— 95% $25,447 $71,515 —
Claremont McKenna College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
2 graduates
— 11% $28,849 $86,500 —
Pitzer College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
2 graduates
— 17% $34,191 $86,466 —
Saint Mary's College of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
2 graduates
— 89% $30,378 $77,659 —
Scripps College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
2 graduates
— 34% $36,294 $87,564 —
Biola University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
1 graduate
— 60% $31,495 $62,757 —
La Sierra University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
1 graduate
— 93% $45,566 $51,459 —
University of Saint Katherine
CA · Private nonprofit
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
1 graduate
— — — — —
Whittier College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Chemistry, General
1 graduate
— 85% $25,757 $63,664 —

Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.

Let an AI build the list from this page

Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT

It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.

Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/chemistry?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a chemistry applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.

Other majors

AccountingAerospace EngineeringAfrican-American StudiesAgribusinessAgricultural Teacher EducationAgricultureAmerican StudiesAnimal ScienceAnimation and Visual EffectsAnthropologyApparel and TextilesArchitectureArt (Studio)Art HistoryArt Teacher EducationAsian StudiesAthletic TrainingAviationBiblical StudiesBiochemistryBiological and Physical SciencesBiologyBiology Teacher EducationBiomedical Engineering and BioengineeringBusiness AdministrationBusiness AnalyticsChemical EngineeringChild DevelopmentChinese Language and LiteratureCivil EngineeringClassicsClinical Laboratory ScienceCognitive ScienceCommunicationCommunication Sciences and DisordersComparative LiteratureComputer EngineeringComputer ProgrammingComputer ScienceConstruction ManagementCriminal Justice and CriminologyDanceData ScienceDental HygieneDesign (graphic, interior, industrial)Diagnostic Medical SonographyDigital ArtsEast Asian StudiesEconomicsElectrical EngineeringElectrical Engineering TechnologyEmergency ManagementEngineering ManagementEngineering PhysicsEngineering TechnologyEnglishEnglish/Language Arts Teacher EducationEnvironmental EngineeringEnvironmental ScienceFamily and Consumer SciencesFashion MerchandisingFilm and TelevisionFinanceFood ScienceForeign Languages and LiteraturesForensic ScienceFrench Language and LiteratureGeneral EngineeringGeographyGeology and Earth ScienceGerman Language and LiteratureGlobal and International StudiesHealth Care AdministrationHealth ScienceHealth Teacher EducationHistoryHistory Teacher EducationHospitality ManagementHuman ServicesIndustrial EngineeringIndustrial TechnologyInformation SystemsItalian Language and LiteratureJapanese Language and LiteratureJournalismKinesiologyLatin American StudiesLegal Studies (pre-law)Liberal Studies (teacher preparation)LinguisticsMarine BiologyMarketingMaterials EngineeringMathematicsMathematics Teacher EducationMechanical EngineeringMechanical Engineering TechnologyMicrobiologyMissionary StudiesMusicMusic ManagementMusic Teacher EducationMusic TherapyNatural SciencesNeuroscienceNursing (BSN)Nutrition and DieteticsParalegal StudiesParks and Recreation ManagementParks and Recreation StudiesPhilosophyPhotographyPhysical Education Teaching and CoachingPhysicsPolitical SciencePsychologyPublic AdministrationPublic HealthPublic Policy AnalysisRadiation TherapyRadiologic TechnologyReal EstateReligious StudiesRespiratory TherapyRussian Language and LiteratureSacred MusicScience Teacher EducationSocial Science Teacher EducationSocial Studies Teacher EducationSocial WorkSociologySpanishSpanish Language Teacher EducationSpecial EducationSport ManagementStatisticsTeaching English as a Second LanguageTheatreTheologyUrban StudiesWildlife Science and ManagementWomen's StudiesYouth Ministry All majors →

The list is where the work starts

A chemistry list should stretch from the campuses where a few hundred applicants are admitted to the ones where nearly every applicant is, and it should carry each campus's net price with aid next to its admit rate. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359