By major · Design (graphic, interior, industrial)
Where can your student actually get into a design program?
At most colleges, design is not one major. Cal State Long Beach reports three of them for Fall 2025 and they do not behave the same way: 839 applied to Design and 498 were admitted, 654 applied to Graphic Design and 313 were admitted, and 224 applied to Industrial Design and 152 were admitted, rates of 59.4%, 47.9% and 67.9%. San Diego State's interior design program took 261 of the 1,031 students who applied, a rate of 25.3%, and across the state the reported rates run from 20% at UC Davis to 97.8% at Cal State Monterey Bay. The 53 California colleges below come from the college systems' own reporting and the federal earnings data, assembled in one place.
At a glance · California
- 53 colleges in California offer a bachelor's design program: 50 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 2 more report a design admit rate in the UC/CSU data; 1 more carry program earnings in federal outcome data but no 2022-23 degree count under these program codes.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Art Center College of Design (245), San Jose State University (222), University of California-Davis (216).
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Davis — Design, Fall 2025: 1,079 applied, 211 admitted (20%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Monterey Bay — 97.8% (180 applied, 176 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: University of Southern California, $89,022.
- Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-San Bernardino, $4,564 per year.
A college with no applied and admitted count did not report design as its own line, which is not the same as an open door; at those schools the campus decision is the one that applies and what the program itself asks for is a question for the admissions office. Where a CSU does report a rate it is selecting students into that specific program, while at UC Davis and UC San Diego the row shows what happened to students who named design on the application rather than a decision made by the design department. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 643 colleges nationwide →
Hardest reported gate
Design, Fall 2025: 1,079 applied, 211 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Communication Design, Fall 2025: 180 applied, 176 admitted
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Design
Fall 2025: 1,079 applied, 211 admitted · admit GPA 4.18–4.29
|
Design and Visual Communications, General
216 graduates
|
20% | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | $62,209 |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Interior Design
Fall 2025: 1,031 applied, 261 admitted
impacted
Graphic Design: 24.6%
|
— | 25.3% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | $54,569 |
|
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Speculative Design
Fall 2025: 306 applied, 115 admitted · admit GPA 4.03–4.25
|
Design and Visual Communications, General
17 graduates
|
38% | 27% | $12,470 | $38,701 | — |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Design
Fall 2025: 839 applied, 498 admitted
impacted
Graphic Design: 47.9% · Industrial Design: 67.9%
|
Design and Applied Arts, Other +2
108 graduates
|
59.4% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | $66,435 |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Design
Fall 2025: 368 applied, 297 admitted
impacted
|
Design and Applied Arts, Other +3
222 graduates
|
80.7% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Communication Design
Fall 2025: 62 applied, 55 admitted
|
Game and Interactive Media Design +1
85 graduates
|
88.7% | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | $44,629 |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Interior Design
Fall 2025: 893 applied, 796 admitted
Industrial Design: 90.3% · Communication Design: 92.5%
|
Design and Visual Communications, General +2
175 graduates
|
89.1% | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | $59,678 |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Interior Design
Fall 2025: 354 applied, 316 admitted
|
Interior Design
3 graduates
|
89.3% | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | $59,676 |
|
California State University-East Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Graphic Design
Fall 2025: 144 applied, 129 admitted
|
— | 89.6% | 97% | $9,320 | $22,850 | — |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Interior Design
Fall 2025: 153 applied, 141 admitted
Graphic Design: 97.1%
|
Graphic Design +1
58 graduates
|
92.2% | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | $38,397 |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Interior Architecture
Fall 2025: 589 applied, 549 admitted
Graphic Design: 93.5% · Design: 94.4%
|
Interior Architecture +3
115 graduates
|
93.2% | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | $61,410 |
|
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Design
Fall 2025: 173 applied, 163 admitted
Graphic Design: 90.7%
|
Design and Applied Arts, Other
39 graduates
|
94.2% | 98% | $4,564 | $17,427 | $42,468 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Graphic Design
Fall 2025: 259 applied, 245 admitted
|
Graphic Design
116 graduates
|
94.6% | 74% | $11,531 | $23,955 | $55,744 |
|
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Design
Fall 2025: 202 applied, 191 admitted
|
Design and Applied Arts, Other
21 graduates
|
94.6% | 91% | $8,615 | $23,191 | $48,430 |
|
California State University-Monterey Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Communication Design
Fall 2025: 180 applied, 176 admitted
|
Design and Visual Communications, General
47 graduates
|
97.8% | 95% | $13,663 | $26,987 | $48,639 |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Design and Visual Communications, General +1
66 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | $89,022 |
|
Chapman University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Graphic Design
25 graduates
|
— | 56% | $46,555 | $83,146 | $78,121 |
|
Art Center College of Design
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Illustration +2
245 graduates
|
— | 75% | $48,661 | $75,649 | $76,093 |
|
University of Redlands
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Design and Visual Communications, General
15 graduates
|
— | 81% | $30,031 | $76,630 | $75,374 |
|
University of California-Santa Cruz
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Game and Interactive Media Design
130 graduates
|
— | 82% | $17,890 | $41,179 | $66,333 |
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Design and Applied Arts, Other
57 graduates
|
— | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | $66,259 |
|
Woodbury University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Game and Interactive Media Design +3
37 graduates
|
— | 73% | $33,692 | $58,010 | $62,092 |
|
California College of the Arts
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Illustration +3
84 graduates
|
— | 73% | $53,909 | $79,776 | $59,238 |
|
Point Loma Nazarene University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Graphic Design
14 graduates
|
— | 82% | $38,729 | $60,488 | $57,740 |
|
Otis College of Art and Design
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Design and Visual Communications, General +3
95 graduates
|
— | 84% | $51,248 | $75,861 | $55,891 |
|
University of San Francisco
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Design and Visual Communications, General
22 graduates
|
— | 51% | $41,431 | $80,141 | $49,788 |
|
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Graphic Design +2
57 graduates
|
— | 74% | $26,285 | $54,038 | $47,494 |
|
Laguna College of Art and Design
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Illustration +2
94 graduates
|
— | — | $42,505 | — | — |
|
Academy of Art University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Illustration +2
82 graduates
|
— | — | $40,613 | — | — |
|
FIDM-Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Industrial and Product Design +4
48 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Los Angeles Film School
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Graphic Design
46 graduates
|
— | — | $30,980 | — | — |
|
University of Silicon Valley
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Game and Interactive Media Design
19 graduates
|
— | — | $27,815 | — | — |
|
Design Institute of San Diego
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Interior Design
16 graduates
|
— | — | $44,010 | — | — |
|
Azusa Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Design and Visual Communications, General +1
15 graduates
|
— | 80% | $22,212 | $56,313 | — |
|
California Institute of the Arts
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Graphic Design
12 graduates
|
— | 26% | $46,080 | $77,560 | — |
|
Interior Designers Institute
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Interior Design
12 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Biola University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Design and Visual Communications, General +1
11 graduates
|
— | 60% | $31,495 | $62,757 | — |
|
Newschool of Architecture and Design
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Interior Design +1
9 graduates
|
— | — | $52,570 | — | — |
|
California College of ASU
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Graphic Design
7 graduates
|
— | — | $17,683 | — | — |
|
Concordia University-Irvine
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Graphic Design
7 graduates
|
— | 60% | $28,115 | $58,682 | — |
|
Santa Clara University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources Design
7 graduates
|
— | 44% | $50,062 | $82,026 | — |
|
University of the Pacific
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Commercial and Advertising Art
6 graduates
|
— | 95% | $25,447 | $71,515 | — |
|
Dominican University of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Graphic Design
5 graduates
|
— | 96% | $35,333 | $71,751 | — |
|
La Sierra University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Graphic Design
5 graduates
|
— | 93% | $45,566 | $51,459 | — |
|
Whittier College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Graphic Design
5 graduates
|
— | 85% | $25,757 | $63,664 | — |
|
New York Film Academy
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Game and Interactive Media Design
4 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Pacific Union College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Graphic Design
4 graduates
|
— | 42% | $41,008 | $49,404 | — |
|
Ashford University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources Design
3 graduates
|
— | — | $31,266 | — | — |
|
Laurus College
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources Design
3 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Platt College-Ontario
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Design and Visual Communications, General
2 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Beverly Hills Design Institute
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion/Apparel Design
1 graduate
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
DeVry University-California
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Web Page, Digital/Multimedia and Information Resources Design
1 graduate
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 30% | $16,665 | $32,265 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/design?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a design applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
A design list needs the rate for the exact program name rather than the campus, because one college can report 47.9% for graphic design and 67.9% for industrial design in the same year. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359