By major · Philosophy
Where can your student study philosophy, and what does the degree pay?
Families ask two things about philosophy: where a student can get in, and what the degree pays. UCLA had 863 first-year applicants who named philosophy and admitted 86 of them, 10%, while Cal State Sacramento admitted 122 of its 126 applicants, 96.8%. At the UC campuses the decision belongs to the campus rather than the philosophy department, so a figure like the 10% at UCLA describes how selective that school was for the students who named philosophy. The pay answer runs on its own track: the highest median earnings four years after the degree here are $98,592 at Cal Poly SLO, and every number below is the college systems' own reporting and the federal earnings data, gathered in one place.
At a glance · California
- 54 colleges in California offer a bachelor's philosophy program: 53 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 1 more carry program earnings in federal outcome data but no 2022-23 degree count under these program codes.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of California-Los Angeles (102), University of California-Berkeley (87), University of California-Santa Barbara (82).
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Los Angeles — Philosophy, Fall 2025: 863 applied, 86 admitted (10%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Stanislaus — 100.0% (10 applied, 10 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo, $98,592.
- Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-Los Angeles, $3,967 per year.
San Francisco State reports its Philosophy and Religion major on the transfer side only, so a freshman there starts in another major and applies into it later. Every other UC and CSU campus that reports a philosophy rate reports one for first-year applicants, so the program admit rate beside a college is the figure for students applying out of high school: 86 admitted out of 863 applicants at UCLA, 122 out of 126 at Cal State Sacramento. A college listed without a philosophy rate is not an easier door; it means no separate philosophy figure is published for it, so the campus decision is the one to plan around. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 675 colleges nationwide →
Hardest reported gate
Philosophy, Fall 2025: 863 applied, 86 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Philosophy, Fall 2025: 10 applied, 10 admitted
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 863 applied, 86 admitted · admit GPA 4.21–4.30
|
Philosophy
102 graduates
|
10% | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | $61,754 |
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 741 applied, 265 admitted · admit GPA 4.06–4.26
|
Philosophy
87 graduates
|
36% | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | $63,326 |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 492 applied, 193 admitted · admit GPA 4.00–4.25
|
Philosophy
34 graduates
|
39% | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | — |
|
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 561 applied, 231 admitted · admit GPA 4.08–4.27
|
Philosophy
33 graduates
|
41% | 27% | $12,470 | $38,701 | — |
|
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 694 applied, 311 admitted · admit GPA 4.06–4.26
|
Philosophy
82 graduates
|
45% | 44% | $16,109 | $41,573 | $71,796 |
|
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 257 applied, 160 admitted
impacted
|
Philosophy
28 graduates
|
62.3% | 30% | $16,665 | $32,265 | $98,592 |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 595 applied, 391 admitted · admit GPA 3.88–4.23
|
Philosophy
58 graduates
|
66% | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | $58,633 |
|
University of California-Santa Cruz
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 347 applied, 248 admitted · admit GPA 3.81–4.22
|
Philosophy
42 graduates
|
71% | 82% | $17,890 | $41,179 | $51,398 |
|
California State University-East Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 14 applied, 10 admitted
|
Philosophy
8 graduates
|
71.4% | 97% | $9,320 | $22,850 | — |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 206 applied, 150 admitted
impacted
|
Philosophy
26 graduates
|
72.8% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | $53,390 |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 168 applied, 136 admitted
impacted
|
Philosophy
27 graduates
|
81.0% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | $49,062 |
|
California State University-Bakersfield
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 151 applied, 127 admitted
|
Philosophy
7 graduates
|
84.1% | 88% | $5,652 | $19,522 | — |
|
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 83 applied, 71 admitted
impacted
|
Philosophy
17 graduates
|
85.5% | 87% | $6,555 | $18,269 | $44,533 |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 65 applied, 56 admitted
impacted
|
Philosophy
12 graduates
|
86.2% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 276 applied, 239 admitted · admit GPA 3.49–4.08
|
Philosophy +1
39 graduates
|
87% | 88% | $14,304 | $38,942 | $51,402 |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 170 applied, 148 admitted
Philosophy and Religion: 90.9% (transfer)
|
Philosophy
31 graduates
|
87.1% | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | $42,993 |
|
University of California-Merced
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 172 applied, 152 admitted · admit GPA 3.54–4.11
|
Philosophy
4 graduates
|
88% | 95% | $11,983 | $39,665 | — |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 26 applied, 23 admitted
|
Philosophy
7 graduates
|
88.5% | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | — |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 236 applied, 210 admitted
|
Philosophy
24 graduates
|
89.0% | 74% | $11,531 | $23,955 | — |
|
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 38 applied, 34 admitted
|
Philosophy
1 graduate
|
89.5% | 91% | $8,615 | $23,191 | — |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 59 applied, 53 admitted
|
Philosophy
19 graduates
|
89.8% | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | $48,566 |
|
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 80 applied, 73 admitted
|
Philosophy
15 graduates
|
91.2% | 92% | $3,967 | $18,403 | $53,127 |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 99 applied, 94 admitted
|
Philosophy
23 graduates
|
94.9% | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | $42,337 |
|
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 24 applied, 23 admitted
|
Philosophy
8 graduates
|
95.8% | 98% | $4,564 | $17,427 | — |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 126 applied, 122 admitted
|
Philosophy
20 graduates
|
96.8% | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | $65,115 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 42 applied, 41 admitted
|
Philosophy
4 graduates
|
97.6% | 99% | $13,171 | $25,170 | — |
|
California State University-Stanislaus
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Philosophy
Fall 2025: 10 applied, 10 admitted
|
Philosophy
2 graduates
|
100.0% | 98% | $6,067 | $19,739 | — |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Philosophy, Other +1
66 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | $51,831 |
|
Sonoma State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Philosophy
22 graduates
|
— | 95% | $12,885 | $24,648 | — |
|
Stanford University
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Philosophy
18 graduates
|
— | 4% | $13,807 | $87,833 | — |
|
Chapman University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Philosophy
14 graduates
|
— | 56% | $46,555 | $83,146 | — |
|
University of San Diego
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Philosophy
10 graduates
|
— | 47% | $30,365 | $78,720 | — |
|
Occidental College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Philosophy
9 graduates
|
— | 40% | $38,263 | $84,800 | — |
|
Pepperdine University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Philosophy
9 graduates
|
— | 50% | $58,098 | $93,512 | — |
|
Santa Clara University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Philosophy
9 graduates
|
— | 44% | $50,062 | $82,026 | — |
|
Loyola Marymount University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Philosophy
7 graduates
|
— | 40% | $48,381 | $83,943 | — |
|
Pitzer College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Philosophy
7 graduates
|
— | 17% | $34,191 | $86,466 | — |
|
Pomona College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Philosophy
7 graduates
|
— | 7% | $19,285 | $85,300 | — |
|
Claremont McKenna College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Philosophy
6 graduates
|
— | 11% | $28,849 | $86,500 | — |
|
Saint Mary's College of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Philosophy
6 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,378 | $77,659 | — |
|
Scripps College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Philosophy
6 graduates
|
— | 34% | $36,294 | $87,564 | — |
|
Biola University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Philosophy
5 graduates
|
— | 60% | $31,495 | $62,757 | — |
|
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Philosophy
5 graduates
|
— | 74% | $26,285 | $54,038 | — |
|
California Lutheran University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Philosophy
4 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,109 | $68,426 | — |
|
University of San Francisco
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Philosophy
4 graduates
|
— | 51% | $41,431 | $80,141 | — |
|
Westmont College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Philosophy
4 graduates
|
— | 80% | $29,053 | $71,150 | — |
|
Whittier College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Philosophy
3 graduates
|
— | 85% | $25,757 | $63,664 | — |
|
Azusa Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Philosophy
2 graduates
|
— | 80% | $22,212 | $56,313 | — |
|
Fresno Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Philosophy
2 graduates
|
— | 58% | $13,630 | $44,249 | — |
|
Point Loma Nazarene University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Philosophy
2 graduates
|
— | 82% | $38,729 | $60,488 | — |
|
University of La Verne
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Philosophy
2 graduates
|
— | 48% | $20,161 | $62,278 | — |
|
University of Redlands
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Philosophy
2 graduates
|
— | 81% | $30,031 | $76,630 | — |
|
University of the Pacific
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Philosophy
1 graduate
|
— | 95% | $25,447 | $71,515 | — |
|
California State University-Monterey Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 95% | $13,663 | $26,987 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/philosophy?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a philosophy applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
Because the campus is the gate for this major, a philosophy list is worth building on the reported first-year rate, the price after aid, and the median earnings four years out, written next to every school on it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359