At a glance · California

  • 17 colleges in California offer a bachelor's cognitive science program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
  • Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of California-San Diego (660), University of California-Los Angeles (222), University of California-Berkeley (219).
  • Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Berkeley — Cognitive Science, Fall 2025: 1,126 applied, 232 admitted (21%).
  • Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Stanislaus — 100.0% (30 applied, 30 admitted, Fall 2025).
  • Highest median earnings four years after the degree: Stanford University, $131,650.
  • Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-Stanislaus, $6,067 per year.

A college on this list with no first-year row is not reporting cognitive science admissions separately; the major is small, and most colleges fold it into the campus application. Where a UC does report a row it counts only the applicants who named the major, so UC Berkeley's 1,126 applied and 232 admitted describes that group, and at most UC programs the admission is to the campus rather than to the major. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 59 colleges nationwide →

Hardest reported gate

21%
University of California-Berkeley
Cognitive Science, Fall 2025: 1,126 applied, 232 admitted

Highest reported admit rate

100.0%
California State University-Stanislaus
Cognitive Studies, Fall 2025: 30 applied, 30 admitted

Highest earnings, 4 yrs out

$131,650
Stanford University
median, graduates of this program

Lowest net price with aid

$6,067
California State University-Stanislaus
average for aid recipients, per year

Every college, one row each

Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.

College Gate into the program Degree awarded
· graduates 2022-23
Program
admit rate
Campus
admit rate
Net price
with aid
Full
price
Earnings
4 yrs out
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
Cognitive Science
Fall 2025: 1,126 applied, 232 admitted · admit GPA 4.18–4.29
Cognitive Science, General
219 graduates
21% 10% $13,481 $45,619 $120,193
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
Cognitive Sciences
Fall 2025: 1,084 applied, 240 admitted · admit GPA 4.15–4.29
Cognitive Science, General
31 graduates
22% 30% $14,251 $38,632 —
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
Cognitive Science
Fall 2025: 1,046 applied, 381 admitted · admit GPA 4.07–4.28
Cognitive Science, General
164 graduates
36% 46% $14,741 $41,238 $68,463
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
Cognitive Science
Fall 2025: 1,550 applied, 649 admitted · admit GPA 4.11–4.28
Cognitive Science, General
660 graduates
42% 27% $12,470 $38,701 $81,160
University of California-Santa Cruz
CA · Public · Test-blind
Cognitive Science
Fall 2025: 757 applied, 612 admitted · admit GPA 3.92–4.23
Cognitive Science, General
123 graduates
81% 82% $17,890 $41,179 $72,125
University of California-Merced
CA · Public · Test-blind
Cognitive Science
Fall 2025: 369 applied, 360 admitted · admit GPA 3.70–4.20
Cognitive Science, General
47 graduates
98% 95% $11,983 $39,665 $51,147
California State University-Stanislaus
CA · Public · Test-blind
Cognitive Studies
Fall 2025: 30 applied, 30 admitted
Cognitive Science, General
2 graduates
100.0% 98% $6,067 $19,739 —
Stanford University
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
Not reported by the college system
Cognitive Science, General
81 graduates
— 4% $13,807 $87,833 $131,650
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Cognitive Science, General
222 graduates
— 11% $12,548 $38,614 $102,066
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Cognitive Science, General
43 graduates
— 10% $32,740 $90,300 $93,440
Occidental College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Cognitive Science, General
23 graduates
— 40% $38,263 $84,800 $78,782
Pomona College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Cognitive Science, General
8 graduates
— 7% $19,285 $85,300 —
Scripps College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Cognitive Science, General
3 graduates
— 34% $36,294 $87,564 —
Claremont McKenna College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Cognitive Science, General
2 graduates
— 11% $28,849 $86,500 —
Pitzer College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Cognitive Science, General
2 graduates
— 17% $34,191 $86,466 —
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Cognitive Science, General
1 graduate
— 96% $7,000 $20,095 —
Chapman University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Cognitive Science, General
1 graduate
— 56% $46,555 $83,146 —

Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.

Let an AI build the list from this page

Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT

It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.

Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/cognitive-science?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a cognitive science applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.

Other majors

AccountingAerospace EngineeringAfrican-American StudiesAgribusinessAgricultural Teacher EducationAgricultureAmerican StudiesAnimal ScienceAnimation and Visual EffectsAnthropologyApparel and TextilesArchitectureArt (Studio)Art HistoryArt Teacher EducationAsian StudiesAthletic TrainingAviationBiblical StudiesBiochemistryBiological and Physical SciencesBiologyBiology Teacher EducationBiomedical Engineering and BioengineeringBusiness AdministrationBusiness AnalyticsChemical EngineeringChemistryChild DevelopmentChinese Language and LiteratureCivil EngineeringClassicsClinical Laboratory ScienceCommunicationCommunication Sciences and DisordersComparative LiteratureComputer EngineeringComputer ProgrammingComputer ScienceConstruction ManagementCriminal Justice and CriminologyDanceData ScienceDental HygieneDesign (graphic, interior, industrial)Diagnostic Medical SonographyDigital ArtsEast Asian StudiesEconomicsElectrical EngineeringElectrical Engineering TechnologyEmergency ManagementEngineering ManagementEngineering PhysicsEngineering TechnologyEnglishEnglish/Language Arts Teacher EducationEnvironmental EngineeringEnvironmental ScienceFamily and Consumer SciencesFashion MerchandisingFilm and TelevisionFinanceFood ScienceForeign Languages and LiteraturesForensic ScienceFrench Language and LiteratureGeneral EngineeringGeographyGeology and Earth ScienceGerman Language and LiteratureGlobal and International StudiesHealth Care AdministrationHealth ScienceHealth Teacher EducationHistoryHistory Teacher EducationHospitality ManagementHuman ServicesIndustrial EngineeringIndustrial TechnologyInformation SystemsItalian Language and LiteratureJapanese Language and LiteratureJournalismKinesiologyLatin American StudiesLegal Studies (pre-law)Liberal Studies (teacher preparation)LinguisticsMarine BiologyMarketingMaterials EngineeringMathematicsMathematics Teacher EducationMechanical EngineeringMechanical Engineering TechnologyMicrobiologyMissionary StudiesMusicMusic ManagementMusic Teacher EducationMusic TherapyNatural SciencesNeuroscienceNursing (BSN)Nutrition and DieteticsParalegal StudiesParks and Recreation ManagementParks and Recreation StudiesPhilosophyPhotographyPhysical Education Teaching and CoachingPhysicsPolitical SciencePsychologyPublic AdministrationPublic HealthPublic Policy AnalysisRadiation TherapyRadiologic TechnologyReal EstateReligious StudiesRespiratory TherapyRussian Language and LiteratureSacred MusicScience Teacher EducationSocial Science Teacher EducationSocial Studies Teacher EducationSocial WorkSociologySpanishSpanish Language Teacher EducationSpecial EducationSport ManagementStatisticsTeaching English as a Second LanguageTheatreTheologyUrban StudiesWildlife Science and ManagementWomen's StudiesYouth Ministry All majors →

The list is where the work starts

This list mixes campuses that report cognitive science admissions directly with private colleges that appear only through federal earnings data, so a good list checks each program's own page before assuming every row offers the same major. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359