By major · Mathematics
Where can your student actually get into mathematics?
Mathematics is one degree with very different odds depending on where your student applies: at UC Berkeley, 2,105 students applied under Applied Mathematics and 476 were admitted, a rate of 23%, while at Cal State San Bernardino 137 applied to mathematics and 136 were admitted, 99.3%. Campuses list the tracks of the major on their own lines, so UC Santa Barbara reports Actuarial Science separately from its two mathematics majors, 383 applied and 162 admitted, 42%. A UC decides admission at the campus level for most programs, so a UC figure here is the record for students who applied under that major, not a separate decision by the math department. Every number below is the college system's own reporting, assembled in one place.
At a glance · California
- 64 colleges in California offer a bachelor's mathematics program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of California-San Diego (615), University of California-Los Angeles (559), University of California-Santa Barbara (337).
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Berkeley — Applied Mathematics, Fall 2025: 2,105 applied, 476 admitted (23%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-San Bernardino — 99.3% (137 applied, 136 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: Santa Clara University, $147,013.
- Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-Los Angeles, $3,967 per year.
No CSU campus reports mathematics on the transfer side only, the pattern that means freshmen enter as a pre-major and compete for the program later, so the first-year rate in the table is the one to plan around. A college showing no rate for the major has not published one, and that gap says nothing about how selective the program is. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · All 1158 colleges nationwide →
Hardest reported gate
Applied Mathematics, Fall 2025: 2,105 applied, 476 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Mathematics, Fall 2025: 137 applied, 136 admitted
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Applied Mathematics
Fall 2025: 2,105 applied, 476 admitted · admit GPA 4.18–4.30
Mathematics: 18%
|
Applied Mathematics, General +1
281 graduates
|
23% | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | $118,414 |
|
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Applied Mathematics
Fall 2025: 1,318 applied, 596 admitted · admit GPA 4.15–4.29
Mathematics: 37% · Mathematics - Computer Science: 52% · Mathematics - Applied Science: 47% · Mathematical Biology: 53%
|
Mathematics and Computer Science +3
615 graduates
|
45% | 27% | $12,470 | $38,701 | $137,218 |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Applied Mathematics
Fall 2025: 1,207 applied, 643 admitted · admit GPA 4.12–4.28
Mathematics: 65% · Mathematical Analytics And Operations Research: 86%
|
Applied Mathematics, General +3
153 graduates
|
53% | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | $72,640 |
|
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Mathematics
Fall 2025: 885 applied, 518 admitted
impacted
|
Mathematics, General
49 graduates
|
58.5% | 30% | $16,665 | $32,265 | $83,187 |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Applied Mathematics
Fall 2025: 548 applied, 324 admitted
impacted
Mathematics: 56.2%
|
Applied Mathematics, General +1
65 graduates
|
59.1% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | $69,606 |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Mathematics
Fall 2025: 1,752 applied, 1,100 admitted · admit GPA 4.00–4.24
Applied And Computational Mathematics: 74%
|
Mathematics, General +1
293 graduates
|
63% | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | $77,472 |
|
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Applied Mathematics
Fall 2025: 1,467 applied, 939 admitted · admit GPA 4.12–4.28
Mathematics: 55% · Actuarial Science: 42%
|
Applied Mathematics, Other +3
337 graduates
|
64% | 44% | $16,109 | $41,573 | $109,360 |
|
University of California-Santa Cruz
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Mathematics
Fall 2025: 611 applied, 492 admitted · admit GPA 3.85–4.22
|
Mathematics, General +1
104 graduates
|
81% | 82% | $17,890 | $41,179 | $59,214 |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Applied Mathematics
Fall 2025: 388 applied, 326 admitted
impacted
Mathematics: 85.7%
|
Applied Mathematics, General +1
92 graduates
|
84.0% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Mathematics
Fall 2025: 376 applied, 326 admitted
impacted
Applied Mathematics: 96.1%
|
Mathematics, General
91 graduates
|
86.7% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | $61,754 |
|
California State University-East Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Mathematics
Fall 2025: 56 applied, 49 admitted
|
Mathematics, General
19 graduates
|
87.5% | 97% | $9,320 | $22,850 | — |
|
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Mathematics
Fall 2025: 850 applied, 769 admitted · admit GPA 3.72–4.21
Actuarial Science: 88%
|
Mathematics, General
168 graduates
|
90% | 88% | $14,304 | $38,942 | $63,596 |
|
California State University-Stanislaus
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Mathematics
Fall 2025: 41 applied, 37 admitted
|
Mathematics, General
37 graduates
|
90.2% | 98% | $6,067 | $19,739 | $65,184 |
|
California State University-San Marcos
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Mathematics
Fall 2025: 184 applied, 169 admitted
|
Mathematics, General
30 graduates
|
91.8% | 96% | $10,229 | $21,649 | — |
|
University of California-Merced
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Applied Mathematics
Fall 2025: 1,543 applied, 1,414 admitted · admit GPA 3.64–4.18
|
Applied Mathematics, General
33 graduates
|
92% | 95% | $11,983 | $39,665 | $82,156 |
|
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Mathematics
Fall 2025: 410 applied, 381 admitted
impacted
Applied Mathematics: 98.5%
|
Mathematics, General
51 graduates
|
92.9% | 87% | $6,555 | $18,269 | $80,055 |
|
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Mathematics
Fall 2025: 214 applied, 201 admitted
|
Mathematics, General
37 graduates
|
93.9% | 92% | $3,967 | $18,403 | $70,677 |
|
California State University-Bakersfield
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Mathematics
Fall 2025: 147 applied, 138 admitted
|
Mathematics, General
20 graduates
|
93.9% | 88% | $5,652 | $19,522 | $64,470 |
|
California State University-Channel Islands
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Mathematics
Fall 2025: 50 applied, 47 admitted
|
Mathematics, General
18 graduates
|
94.0% | 93% | $9,849 | $23,561 | $70,628 |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Mathematics
Fall 2025: 54 applied, 51 admitted
Applied Mathematics: 92.3%
|
Mathematics, General
35 graduates
|
94.4% | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | $77,891 |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Mathematics
Fall 2025: 127 applied, 120 admitted
Applied Mathematics: 94.7%
|
Mathematics, General
58 graduates
|
94.5% | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | $63,077 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Applied Mathematics
Fall 2025: 455 applied, 436 admitted
Mathematics: 94.2%
|
Mathematics, General
80 graduates
|
95.8% | 74% | $11,531 | $23,955 | $63,059 |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Applied Mathematics
Fall 2025: 76 applied, 73 admitted
Mathematics: 93.4%
|
Mathematics, General +1
33 graduates
|
96.1% | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | $71,323 |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Mathematics
Fall 2025: 133 applied, 128 admitted
|
Mathematics, General
48 graduates
|
96.2% | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | $59,162 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Mathematics
Fall 2025: 101 applied, 98 admitted
|
Mathematics, General
12 graduates
|
97.0% | 99% | $13,171 | $25,170 | — |
|
Sonoma State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Mathematics
Fall 2025: 47 applied, 46 admitted
Applied Mathematics: 100.0%
|
Mathematics, General
23 graduates
|
97.9% | 95% | $12,885 | $24,648 | $64,913 |
|
California State University-Monterey Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Mathematics
Fall 2025: 115 applied, 113 admitted
|
Mathematics, General
28 graduates
|
98.3% | 95% | $13,663 | $26,987 | $62,943 |
|
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Mathematics
Fall 2025: 131 applied, 129 admitted
|
Mathematics, General
41 graduates
|
98.5% | 91% | $8,615 | $23,191 | $68,900 |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Mathematics
Fall 2025: 161 applied, 159 admitted
|
Mathematics, General
46 graduates
|
98.8% | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | $55,664 |
|
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Mathematics
Fall 2025: 137 applied, 136 admitted
Applied Mathematics: 95.8%
|
Mathematics, General
84 graduates
|
99.3% | 98% | $4,564 | $17,427 | $57,603 |
|
Santa Clara University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics and Computer Science +1
119 graduates
|
— | 44% | $50,062 | $82,026 | $147,013 |
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Applied Mathematics, General +4
559 graduates
|
— | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | $103,887 |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computational and Applied Mathematics +2
136 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | $101,094 |
|
Occidental College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics, General
14 graduates
|
— | 40% | $38,263 | $84,800 | $88,080 |
|
Stanford University
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics, General +1
88 graduates
|
— | 4% | $13,807 | $87,833 | — |
|
Minerva University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics and Computer Science
70 graduates
|
— | 4% | — | — | — |
|
Harvey Mudd College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics and Computer Science +1
57 graduates
|
— | 13% | $35,924 | $90,165 | — |
|
California Institute of Technology
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Computational Mathematics +1
25 graduates
|
— | 3% | $16,075 | $86,886 | — |
|
Pomona College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics, General
21 graduates
|
— | 7% | $19,285 | $85,300 | — |
|
Pepperdine University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics and Computer Science +1
20 graduates
|
— | 50% | $58,098 | $93,512 | — |
|
Biola University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics, General
13 graduates
|
— | 60% | $31,495 | $62,757 | — |
|
University of Redlands
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics, General
12 graduates
|
— | 81% | $30,031 | $76,630 | — |
|
Whittier College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics, General
11 graduates
|
— | 85% | $25,757 | $63,664 | — |
|
Loyola Marymount University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics, General +1
10 graduates
|
— | 40% | $48,381 | $83,943 | — |
|
Saint Mary's College of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics and Statistics, Other +2
10 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,378 | $77,659 | — |
|
University of San Francisco
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics, General
10 graduates
|
— | 51% | $41,431 | $80,141 | — |
|
University of the Pacific
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Applied Mathematics, General +2
10 graduates
|
— | 95% | $25,447 | $71,515 | — |
|
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics, General +1
9 graduates
|
— | 74% | $26,285 | $54,038 | — |
|
University of San Diego
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics, General
9 graduates
|
— | 47% | $30,365 | $78,720 | — |
|
Azusa Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Applied Mathematics, Other +1
8 graduates
|
— | 80% | $22,212 | $56,313 | — |
|
University of La Verne
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics, General
8 graduates
|
— | 48% | $20,161 | $62,278 | — |
|
California Lutheran University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics, General
7 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,109 | $68,426 | — |
|
Claremont McKenna College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics, General
7 graduates
|
— | 11% | $28,849 | $86,500 | — |
|
Concordia University-Irvine
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics, General
7 graduates
|
— | 60% | $28,115 | $58,682 | — |
|
Pitzer College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics, Other +1
7 graduates
|
— | 17% | $34,191 | $86,466 | — |
|
William Jessup University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics, General
6 graduates
|
— | — | $28,062 | — | — |
|
Point Loma Nazarene University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics, General
5 graduates
|
— | 82% | $38,729 | $60,488 | — |
|
Scripps College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics, General +1
4 graduates
|
— | 34% | $36,294 | $87,564 | — |
|
Westmont College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics, General
4 graduates
|
— | 80% | $29,053 | $71,150 | — |
|
Mount Saint Mary's University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics, General
3 graduates
|
— | 69% | $21,413 | $66,726 | — |
|
National University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics, General
3 graduates
|
— | — | $22,878 | — | — |
|
Vanguard University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics, General +1
3 graduates
|
— | 65% | $21,241 | $52,665 | — |
|
Chapman University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics, General
2 graduates
|
— | 56% | $46,555 | $83,146 | — |
|
The Master's University and Seminary
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Mathematics, General
2 graduates
|
— | 76% | $32,647 | $54,845 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/mathematics?state=CA, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a mathematics applicant in California using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
A mathematics list needs campuses from both ends of that range, with the net price and the earnings figure next to each one, so the choice comes down to cost and outcome and not to the odds alone. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359