University High School

Fresno · Fresno County · Fresno Unified · Public

Public Fresno County Fresno Unified → ~122 seniors CDS 1062166…
Shareable scorecard →

Top 5% UC Reach in California Top 10% ELA & Math · SBAC (CA) Top 5% Attendance (lowest chronic absenteeism) in CA Top 6 Attendance (lowest chronic absenteeism) in Fresno

A parent's read

  • Where graduates go, as the school itself publishes it. University High School publishes where its graduates go (not stated): 314 colleges, including Boston University, Brown University, California Institute of Technology, University of California, Berkeley.
  • The UC pipeline here is real. 116 admissions to the top six UC campuses for a class of 122 seniors puts this school in the top handful of schools in California.
  • And it's a rising stock. UC admissions per senior have climbed three years running — the trend line, not just the snapshot, is moving the right way.
  • Almost all graduates leave eligible for UC and CSU. 98% finish the A-G courses California's universities require before a student can even apply — most California schools manage about 6 in 10.
  • One question for any counselor: who should still test? Plenty of strong students skip the SAT/ACT now — but merit scholarships at dozens of colleges still key off scores. Ask how the school decides who should still sit for one.

Composed from this page's data — every claim is backed by a number in the sections below.

Where graduates go — as published by the school

University High School publishes the colleges its graduates attend (not stated): 314 colleges. See the full list ↓

Their published college list

Colleges the school lists for its graduates

University High School publishes a list of colleges for its graduates. What follows is copied from that document — 314 colleges, in the document's own order.

The document does not state a class year for this list.

Ivy+ and most selective · 11

Brown University · University of Chicago · Columbia University · Cornell University · Duke University · Harvard College · Harvard University · Massachusetts Institute of Technology · University of Pennsylvania · Princeton University · Yale University

University of California · 10

University of California, Berkeley · University of California, Davis · University of California, Irvine · University of California, Los Angeles · University of California, Merced · University of California, Riverside · University of California, San Diego · University of California, Santa Barbara · University of California, Santa Cruz · Dominican University of California

Cal State · 22

California State Polytechnic University - Pomona · California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo · California State University, Bakersfield · California State University, Channel Islands · California State University, Chico · California State University, Dominguez Hills · California State University, East Bay · California State University, Fresno · California State University, Fullerton · California State University, Long Beach · California State University, Los Angeles · California State University, Monterey Bay · California State University, Northridge · California State University, Sacramento · and 8 more below

Other California · 34

Academy of Art University · Azusa Pacific University · Biola University · Cal Maritime · California Baptist University · California Institute of Technology · California Lutheran University · Chapman University · Claremont McKenna College · Concordia University - Irvine · Foothill College · Fresno Pacific University · Harvey Mudd College · Hope International University · and 20 more below

Out of state · 190

University of Alabama at Birmingham · University of Alaska Fairbanks · American University · Arizona State University · The University of Arizona · Baldwin Wallace University · Bard College · Barnard College · Baylor University · Benedictine College · Berklee College of Music · Boise State University · Boston University · Bowie State University · and 176 more below

Not matched to a college page · 47

Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences · The Art Institute of Seattle · Berkeley City College · Bethel College-KS · Brigham Young University, Provo · University of British Columbia · Cabrillo College · California College of the Arts (San Francisco) · City College of San Francisco · Clovis Community College · Cogswell College · Concordia University - Portland · Cuesta College · Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Pressott · and 33 more below

Is my kid's college on this list?

— Stanford University ✓ New York University ✓ University of Southern California ✓ University of California, Los Angeles ✓ University of California, Berkeley ✓ University of Michigan ✓ Cornell University ✓ Boston University ✓ Northeastern University ✓ University of Texas at Austin ✓ Georgetown University ✓ Duke University

All 314 colleges, as the document prints them
Academy of Art University University of Alabama at Birmingham University of Alaska Fairbanks Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences American University Arizona State University The University of Arizona The Art Institute of Seattle Azusa Pacific University Baldwin Wallace University Bard College Barnard College Baylor University Benedictine College Berkeley City College Berklee College of Music Bethel College-KS Biola University Boise State University Boston University Bowie State University Brigham Young University, Provo Brigham Young University, Idaho University of British Columbia Brown University Bryn Mawr College Cabrillo College Cal Maritime California Baptist University California College of the Arts (San Francisco)
and 284 more
California Institute of Technology California Lutheran University California State Polytechnic University - Pomona California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo California State University, Bakersfield California State University, Channel Islands California State University, Chico California State University, Dominguez Hills California State University, East Bay California State University, Fresno California State University, Fullerton California State University, Long Beach California State University, Los Angeles California State University, Monterey Bay California State University, Northridge California State University, Sacramento California State University, San Bernardino California State University, San Marcos California State University, Stanislaus University of California, Berkeley University of California, Davis University of California, Irvine University of California, Los Angeles University of California, Merced University of California, Riverside University of California, San Diego University of California, Santa Barbara University of California, Santa Cruz Carnegie Mellon University Case Western Reserve University The Catholic University of America Chapman University Charleston Southern University University of Chicago University of Cincinnati The Citadel, The Military College of South Carolina City College of San Francisco Claremont McKenna College Clovis Community College Cogswell College Colby College Colgate University University of Colorado at Boulder Colorado Christian University Colorado School of Mines Colorado State University Columbia University Concordia University - Irvine Concordia University - Portland University of Connecticut Corban University Cornell University Covenant College Cuesta College University of Dallas University of Dayton University of Denver DePaul University Dominican University of California Drake University Drew University Drexel University Duke University Earlham College Eastern Mennonite University Eastern Washington University Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Pressott Emerson College Emory University University of Evansville Foothill College Fordham University Franciscan University of Steubenville Fresno City College Fresno Pacific University Full Sail University Fullerton College Gardner-Webb University George Fox University Georgetown University The George Washington University Georgia Institute of Technology Gordon College Goshen College Grand Canyon University Grove City College Hampton University University of Hartford Harvard College Harvard University Harvey Mudd College Haverford College University of Hawaii at Manoa Hillsdale College Hofstra University Holy Names Hood College Hope College Hope International University Howard University Humboldt State University University of Illinois at Chicago University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Illinois Wesleyan University Indiana State University Indiana University at Bloomington Irvine Valley College Ithaca College Jefferson (Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University) Johns Hopkins University Johnson & Wales University (Denver) Johnson C. Smith University Kalamazoo College Kansas State University Kent State University The King’s College La Sierra University University of La Verne Lake Forest College Lee University Le Moyne College Lewis & Clark College Liberty University Linfield College Lipscomb University Loyola Marymount University Loyola University Chicago Loyola University New Orleans Marist College University of Mary Washington University of Maryland, College Park Marymount Manhattan College Massachusetts College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences Massachusetts Institute of Technology University of Massachusetts, Amherst University of Massachusetts, Lowell The Master’s University University of Memphis McGill University University of Miami Michigan State University University of Michigan, Ann Arbor Mills College Minnesota State University, Moorhead University of Minnesota, Morris University of Missouri, Kansas City Molloy College The University of Montana, Missoula Monterey Peninsula College Moravian College Mount Holyoke College Mount Saint Mary’s University (Doheny) Nazareth College Nebraska Wesleyan University University of Nevada, Las Vegas University of Nevada, Reno University of New Hampshire at Durham University of New Mexico New York Institute of Technology New York University The New School North Dakota State University North Greenville University Northeastern University Northern Arizona University Northland College Norwich University University of Notre Dame Oberlin College of Arts and Sciences Oberlin Conservatory of Music Occidental College The Ohio State University Ohio Northern University Oklahoma State University Oregon State University Pace University, New York City Pacific Lutheran University Pacific Union College Pacific University University of the Pacific Patrick Henry College Paul Mitchell Beauty School Pennsylvania State University University of Pennsylvania Pensacola Christian College Pepperdine University Pitzer College Point Loma Nazarene University Point Park University Pomona College Portland State University University of Portland Princeton University University of Puget Sound Purdue University Queens University of Charlotte College of the Redwoods Reed College Reedley College Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Rhode Island School of Design Rice University University of Richmond Rider University University of Rochester Rutgers University - Camden Sacramento City College Saint Anselm College Saint Mary’s College Saint Mary’s College of California Salem College San Diego State University University of San Diego San Francisco Conservatory of Music San Francisco State University University of San Francisco San Jose State University Santa Barbara City College Santa Clara University Santa Fe University of Art and Design Scripps College Seattle Pacific University Seattle University College of the Sequoias Simon Fraser University Skidmore College Snow College Sonoma State University University of Southern California Southern Methodist University Southern Oregon University Southern Utah University Southwestern University Tabor College The University of Tampa Temple University The University of Tennessee Texas A&M University Texas Christian University Texas Tech University The University of Texas, Arlington The University of Texas, Austin The University of Texas, Dallas The University of Texas, San Antonio University of Toledo University of Toronto Towson University Tufts University Tulane University Union College (New York) United States Air Force Academy United States Coast Guard Academy United States Naval Academy University of Oregon Utah State University Utah Valley University University of Utah Valparaiso University Ventura College University of Vermont University of Victoria University of Virginia Villanova University Virginia Military Institute Wake Technical Community College Warner Pacific College Washington and Lee University Washington State University Washington University in St. Louis University of Washington Wellesley College West Hills Community College West Virginia University Western Michigan University Western Washington University Westminster College, Utah Westmont College Wheaton College IL Whitman College Whittier College Whitworth University William Jessup University Williams College Yale University

These are the colleges the school published for its graduates.

Check your kid's odds at these colleges →

We'll load 10 from the list above — add your name, email and your child's numbers and we'll see where your child lands at each.

Independently verified As published by University High School — Alumni College History ↗. Found at: "Alumni College History / Soaring High" page, alphabetical A-Z list of institutions below the intro paragraph.

Keep this page current

Work at University High School? If this page is missing your newest school profile, matriculation list, or college acceptances, send us the links. We read the document, copy the figures exactly as published, and cite it on this page.

Your badges. University High School has 8 badges it can post on its own site, free — each states one claim from this page and links back here. Get the badge code →

Send us links

Links only, please. We can't take file uploads, and we never publish a number without the document it came from.

By sending this you agree that we may email you about your request. We write by email only, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Where grads go — and what it costs & pays

UC Reach Score
95
Excellent top 6% in California
Top-6 UC admits per 100 seniors in the Class of 2025 — counts each campus admit, so a student admitted to several UCs counts more than once (which is why a strong school can score over 100).

UC admits by campus · Class of 2025

UCB
14 admitted
5 enrolled
Net $13,481/yr avg
Grads earn $92,446 @10yr
UCLA
9 admitted
5 enrolled
Net $12,548/yr avg
Grads earn $82,511 @10yr
UCSD
20 admitted
5 enrolled
Net $12,470/yr avg
Grads earn $84,943 @10yr
UCSB
11 admitted
Net $16,109/yr avg
Grads earn $74,915 @10yr
UCI
33 admitted
5 enrolled
Net $14,251/yr avg
Grads earn $80,735 @10yr
UCD
29 admitted
8 enrolled
Net $14,741/yr avg
Grads earn $80,838 @10yr

Getting in is step one. The cost above is the average aid-receiving family's net price — yours depends on whether you qualify for aid — and your child's odds depend on their GPA + scores. See your family's real numbers at these campuses:

Get my child's odds + our real costs →

Sources: UC Office of the President (admits); IPEDS net price + College Scorecard 10-yr earnings (cost & payoff). Full campus-by-campus breakdown below.

California College-Going Rate

96.5% of the 2022-23 graduating class enrolled in college within a year.

The share of 2022-23 graduates who enrolled at a college anywhere in the U.S. within 12 months, per the National Student Clearinghouse match the California Department of Education publishes.

Within 12 months
96.5%
of 113 graduates

Give the same class four more months and 98.2% had enrolled — CDE publishes a 16-month window alongside the 12-month one, 111 students.

Up 2.7 points from the 2021-22 class (93.8%).

Where the 2022-23 class enrolled

In California — 97 students (85.8%)

University of California 19.5% 22
California State University 44.2% 50
California Community College 15.9% 18
California private college 6.2% 7

Out of state — 12 students (10.6%)

Out-of-state 4-year 10.6% 12
Out-of-state 2-year 0.0% 0

CDE puts each graduate in one bucket only — whichever kind of college they were enrolled in longest — so these add up to the rate above. That is a different count from the UC Reach Score on this page, which counts a student at every UC campus that admitted them.

Source: California Department of Education, College-Going Rate (DataQuest) ↗, cohort 2022-23, posted 17-Sep-2025. Data file: cgr12mo23.txt ↗ (and the 16-month file ↗). CDE builds the rate by matching California high school completers to National Student Clearinghouse enrollment records; we publish CDE’s aggregates and hold no student-level data.

You've seen University High School. What are your child's real college odds? Check any college in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely + the real cost range for every college on their list. Check odds →

How University High School compares for families

One of California's strongest schools for college outcomes.

  • ▸ StatewideUC Reach Score of 95 — 76 points above the California median of 19. Ahead of 99% of California high schools.
  • ▸ Locally🎓 #1 in Fresno County on UC Reach — plus 7 more top-ranks.
  • ▸ vs Similar SchoolsBeats the peer median (UC Reach Score 95 vs a 13 median) across the 5 most similar nearby schools.

For Parents

Get alerts when University High School's numbers change

New admissions results, enrollment shifts, test scores — a few alerts a year, no spam. Your email also saves your list across devices.

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement.

SBAC academic outcomes — grade 11, 2025

Share of grade-11 students meeting or exceeding the California standard on Smarter Balanced ELA and Math. This is the academic-readiness signal that pairs with UC Reach (post-grad outcomes), stability (retention), and absenteeism (engagement). Note: statewide median Math is only ~20% — a school at 20% isn't an outlier; one at 45%+ genuinely is.

Almost all students read and write at grade level — the top 10% of California high schools.
About 3 in 4 students do math at grade level — the top 10% of California high schools.
ELA — met or exceeded
n = 121
97.5%
incl. 69.4% exceeded
★ Top 10% CA
+42.3 pts above Fresno County median (55.2%) · CA median 54.5% · Top 10% statewide ≥ 79.4%
Math — met or exceeded
n = 120
75.8%
incl. 41.7% exceeded
★ Top 10% CA
+57.7 pts above Fresno County median (18.1%) · CA median 21.4% · Top 10% statewide ≥ 53.6%

Source: California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) Smarter Balanced research files. Benchmarks limited to non-virtual public & charter HS with ≥30 tested students.

Student composition — 2025-26

HS grades 9–12 racial/ethnic composition and program subgroups, from CDE Census Day Enrollment. Two-year shift shown when ≥1 pt — surfaces how the community served has changed since 2023-24.

Race / ethnicity

Hispanic / Latino 30%
Asian 26% +1.9
White 26%
Filipino 8%
Two or more 7% -1.5
Black / African Am. 3%

Program subgroups

Socioeconomically disadv. 16% -5.5

Source: California Department of Education, Census Day Enrollment 2025-26 (HS grades 9–12). Δ shown when shift is ≥1 pt since 2023-24. Categories below 0.5% omitted.

Chronic absenteeism — 2024-25

Share of students missing 10% or more of expected attendance — the leading indicator that often precedes the demand decline shown above. Families disengaging tend to raise absenteeism first, then formally leave. Basis: grades 9–12.

Kids show up: 2% are chronically absent versus about 23% statewide — engagement most schools would envy.
Chronic absent
2.4%
12 of 497 students

Low and stable absenteeism — students are engaged and showing up. The leading indicator is healthy.

Fresno County median
21.5% · school is better than 93% of 55 HS
Statewide median
22.8%
Chronic absenteeism by year (raw %)

Source: California Department of Education, Chronic Absenteeism 2024-25. Benchmarks limited to non-virtual public & charter HS with ≥100 eligible students. CDE didn't publish a usable 2019-20 file (COVID).

Enrollment trend & projection

Total enrollment (9–12)
489 (2018) → 501 (2026)
+2.5%
Grade 12 (graduating class)
112 (2018) → 117 (2026)
+4.5%

If this trend holds (+0.3%/yr, Total enrollment)

At per-pupil funding of $ / student:

Horizon Projected Total enrollment Change Funding impact / yr
1 yr (2027) ~503 +2 $0
3 yr (2029) ~506 +5 $0
5 yr (2031) ~510 +9 $0

Straight-line extrapolation of the recent annual rate — a what-if, not a forecast of intent. Default = California's LCFF base grant for grades 9–12 ($12,423/ADA). Edit the figure to match your school.

How does University High School really compare on getting kids to college?

We've ranked it #1 of 4 most similar nearby schools on UC Reach. Unlock the full snapshot to see the head-to-head — who's ahead, by how much, and where it's heading.

The full head-to-head table — every peer school's UC Reach, side by side.
Enrollment trend + 3-year projection — is this school growing or quietly shrinking?
The plain-English read on what it all means for your family.

Your similar-school group includes

Cambridge Continuation High · Carter G. Woodson Public Charter · Big Picture Educational Academy · Endeavor Charter · Career Technical Education Charter · Design Science Middle College High School · +4 more

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement. We'll email you the snapshot and a few alerts a year. Unsubscribe anytime.

Enrollment stability & demand — 2024-25

Two complementary signals: retention (do students stay once enrolled?) and demand (are families choosing the school?). Read against the Fresno County baseline — the demographic tide is moving every CA HS, so a school's gap vs. county is the actionable signal.

Families don't leave: 98% of students who start the year finish it here — top-tier retention statewide.
Action needed
Strong inside, weak at the gate.

Families who enroll at University High School stay (97.6% stability — elite). But enrollment is dropping faster than Fresno County (school +4.5% vs. county +6.7%). The audit question isn't why students leave — it's why fewer families are choosing to enroll in the first place.

+4.5%  senior class, grade 12 (2018–2026)
+6.7%  Fresno County baseline
-2.2pp  gap vs. county
97.6%  retention (county median 85.0%)
Senior class (grade 12) — indexed to 100 at 2018
Stability rate by year (raw %)
Stability rate
97.6%
488 of 500 students

12 of 500 students who enrolled at University High School this year didn't maintain continuous enrollment (2.4% non-stability). Mid-year transfers, dropouts, and other exits are all counted.

Fresno County median
85.0% · school is in the 100th percentile of 55 HS
Statewide median
87.3% · in the 98th percentile of 1,734 HS

Stability by student group

Hispanic / Latino (145) 95.9%
Asian (131) 99.2%
White (128) 97.7%
Socio. disadvantaged (115) 95.7%
Two or more races (43) 100.0%
Filipino (39) 94.9%

Nearest peer high schools

Cambridge Continuation High 35.7% Carter G. Woodson Public Charter 58.0% Big Picture Educational Academy 46.4% Endeavor Charter 84.7% Career Technical Education Charter 91.1%

Source: California Department of Education, Stability Rate 2024-25. Benchmarks limited to non-virtual public & charter HS with ≥100 cumulative enrollees so by-design-high-churn continuation schools don't dominate the bottom of the distribution. Cumulative enrollment counts every student on the rolls during the year, so it can exceed peak-day enrollment.

District financial profile — Fresno Unified (FY2020)

From 4 years of NCES F-33 filings (the federally-mandated district finance survey). Public schools don't have their own books — the district does. These figures show the financial scale, revenue dependence, instruction-vs-overhead mix, and long-term debt that shape what a school can sustain.

Total revenue
$1286.9M
+15.0% since FY2017
Per-pupil revenue
$18,360
70,088 students enrolled
Revenue mix
State: 72.1%
Local: 12.4%
Federal: 15.6%
Instruction share
58.4%
of current spending · $9,375/pupil
Long-term debt
$836.3M
+29.3% since FY2017
Total revenue by year ($M)
Total expenditure by year ($M)

Source: NCES F-33 Annual Survey of School System Finances (Urban Institute Education Data API). Latest year currently published: FY2020. F-33 is a district-level federal filing — it reflects the Fresno Unified as a whole, not this individual school's books. Revenue mix shows where the district's dollars come from (state aid dominates in CA via LCFF). Instruction share is current expenditure on instruction ÷ total current expenditure (national benchmark ~60%). Long-term debt is end-of-year outstanding (mostly facilities bonds).

Key takeaway · Class of 2025

University High School sent 287 applications to the six most selective University of California campuses and 40.4% were admitted, producing a UC Reach Score of 95 (top-6 UC admits per 100 seniors, counting a student at each campus that admitted them) — 76 points above the California median of 19, higher than 99% of California high schools. The school produces 18.9 UCLA + UC Berkeley admits per 100 seniors.

UC Reach Score 95 ⓘ 116 admits (counted at each UC) / 122 seniors +82 pts above peer median (13) · #1 of 4 similar schools methodology
Where this sits on the California curve
CA median
19
Peer median
13
Top 10%
53
This school
95
050100
CA median 19 Top 10% ≥ 53 This school 95

Higher than 99% of California high schools (1105 ranked, ≥50 seniors)

What this number means

University High School's UC Reach Score of 95 clears the statewide top-10% cutoff (53) — meaning roughly 95 top-6 UC admits per 100 seniors, well above what most California schools achieve.

In Fresno County, where the local median is just 12, this score is unusually strong for its immediate market.

This places University High School in the elite tier statewide — the top-1% threshold is 95.

Overall, University High School's UC Reach is higher than 99% of California high schools (1105 ranked).

UC Application Reach Score ⓘ
235
287 applications
Strong UC pursuit. The typical senior is applying to about 2 top-6 UC campuses — a signal of a college-driven student body.
In context: CA median 81 · Top 10% statewide ≥ 240 · Fresno Co. Top 10% ≥ 102 · higher than 89% of CA HS.
UC Admit Rate ⓘ
40.4%
116 / 287 applications
In context: CA median 26.1% · Top 10% statewide ≥ 40.4% · higher than 90% of CA HS.
UC Yield Rate ⓘ
24.1%
28 enrolled of 116 admitted
Yield vs. Enrollment Reach: Yield answers "of UC admits, what % chose UC?" — denominator is just the admits. A small admitted cohort can post a low yield even when the school sends a healthy share of its class to UC.
UC Enrollment Reach Score ⓘ
23
28 enrollees / 122 seniors
Enrollment Reach vs. Yield: Reach answers "of the whole senior class, what share ended up at UC?" — denominator is everyone. High Yield with low Enrollment Reach is common at elite privates: most admits matriculate, but the school sends most of its class to non-UC selective colleges.
A-G Completion ⓘ
Most graduates leave here ready to apply to UC and CSU — almost all finish the required courses, versus about 6 in 10 statewide.
98%
115 of 117 graduates · 2024-25 cohort
In context: CA median 55.9% · +42.4 pp above.
UC 6-Yr Grad Rate ⓘ
90% of this school's UC entrants earn the degree within six years — about the norm.
90%
84% finished in 4 yrs · N=31 entered 2019
In context: CA median 88.6% · +1.7 pp above.
Selective UC Reach (UCB, UCLA, UCSD, UCSB, UCI — incl. the Elite two) ⓘ
71.3
per 100 seniors · campus-level total
In context: CA median 16.0 · Top 10% statewide ≥ 42.2 · higher than 98% of CA HS.
Elite UC Reach (UCB + UCLA) ⓘ
18.9
per 100 seniors · campus-level total
In context: CA median 3.4 · Top 10% statewide ≥ 10.2 · higher than 98% of CA HS.
Senior Class Size ⓘ
122
CDE grade 12 (exact)
Total School Enrollment ⓘ
498
All grades · CDE Census Day
Economic Connectedness ⓘ
1.72
93rd percentile in CA · cross‑class friendships
Avg. Applicant GPA · top-6 UCs ⓘ
3.94
Avg. Admitted GPA · top-6 UCs ⓘ
4.19

GPA figures reflect 2024 — UC has not yet released applicant/admit GPA for 2025.

UC funnel — which kids are getting in at what GPA

Combining the school's applicant pool GPA, admit pool GPA, actual admit rate, and statewide CA admit rates by individual GPA band, we can read which GPA tiers tend to get in — and which don't.

Who's actually getting into UC from University High School
Campus 4.00+ GPA 3.70–3.99 GPA 3.30–3.69 GPA < 3.30 GPA
UC Berkeley Real shot Long odds Filtered out Filtered out
UCLA Real shot Long odds Filtered out Filtered out
UC San Diego Strong shot Real shot Long odds Filtered out
UC Santa Barbara Strong shot Moderate Long odds Filtered out
UC Irvine Strong shot Real shot Long odds Filtered out
UC Davis Strong shot Real shot Moderate Filtered out
Strong shot = ≥30% statewide admit rate at this band · Real shot = 10–29% · Moderate = 5–9% · Long odds = 1–4% · Filtered out = under 1%. Tiers map this school's likely outcomes by GPA tier using statewide CA admit rates from UCOP 2024.

The numbers behind it

Campus Applicant GPA Admit GPA Lift ⓘ Admit rate vs peer schools @ same GPA ⓘ
UC Berkeley 3.96 4.21 +0.25 18.5% Peers +0.24 · matches
UCLA 3.94 4.17 +0.22 17.6% Peers +0.29 · wider
UC San Diego 3.93 4.22 +0.30 26.2% Peers +0.29 · matches
UC Santa Barbara 3.92 4.23 +0.31 32.5% Peers +0.30 · matches
UC Irvine 3.93 4.15 +0.22 35.3% Peers +0.25 · matches
UC Davis 3.95 4.18 +0.22 43.4% Peers +0.23 · matches
Statewide CA admit rates by individual GPA band, 2024 (for reference)
GPA band UCB UCLA UCSD UCSB UCI UCD
4.00+ 17.1% 14.4% 43.5% 57.3% 46.0% 64.1%
3.70–3.99 2.8% 1.5% 11.2% 9.2% 16.5% 27.5%
3.30–3.69 0.8% 0.9% 1.4% 2.3% 3.4% 9.1%
3.00–3.29 0.5% 0.4% 0.1% 0.5% 0.4% 2.1%
< 3.00 0.6% 0.2% 0.2% 0.5% 0.3% 0.6%
How we infer the tier labels: Each tier comes from the statewide CA admit rate at that GPA band at that UC. The "vs peers" column compares this school's lift (admit GPA − applicant GPA) to the average lift at ~100–300 other CA schools with similar applicant pool GPA. What this isn't: a guarantee. UC comprehensive review weighs essays, course rigor, demographics, and context-of-opportunity beyond GPA. A 3.9 with strong context can land an admit; a 4.0 with weak essays can be denied. Use as a baseline expectation, not a verdict. Per-campus year is shown when it differs from the headline year (UCOP doesn't always publish admit-GPA for every campus every year).

Where University High School sits vs. all California schools ⓘ

Overall, this school admits its UC applicants 7.7 points above what their GPAs predict (28.9% actual vs. 21.1% expected), based on 2024 data.

UC Outcomes Trend — 2018–2025

UC Admit Rate %
UC Reach Score (where available)
UC Admits (count, right axis)

Class size from CDE grade 12 enrollment. Campus-level data: applicant and admit totals count a student once at EACH campus. A senior admitted to UCLA and UC San Diego adds 2 to the admit total, so the total can exceed the senior class — that is the metric working as defined, not an error. The admit RATE is unaffected: both its numerator and denominator are campus-level.

Campus Breakdown — 2025

Campus Applicants Admits Enrollees Admit Rate UC Reach Score Yield Avg GPA (App) '24 Avg GPA (Adm) '24
UC Berkeley → Elite 48 14 5 29.2% 11 35.7% 3.96 4.21
UCLA → Elite 52 9 5 17.3% 7 55.6% 3.94 4.17
UC San Diego → Selective 53 20 5 37.7% 16 25.0% 3.93 4.22
UC Santa Barbara → Selective 33 11 —† 33.3% 9 — 3.92 4.23
UC Irvine → Selective 51 33 5 64.7% 27 15.2% 3.93 4.15
UC Davis → 50 29 8 58.0% 24 27.6% 3.95 4.18
† = UCOP-suppressed (count below 3 students, hidden for privacy — actual value is 0, 1, or 2, not necessarily zero). Campus-level totals may count one student admitted to multiple UC campuses more than once; Admit Volume metrics are not the same as UC Reach, which is measured against the whole senior class. See methodology →

What This Means

A large share of the senior class applies to UC, indicating strong college-going culture and UC pipeline development.
A large share of the class applies to UC, so the admit rate runs lower than the application volume alone might suggest — expected when many students apply broadly, including to reach campuses. UC Reach (which credits every admit relative to the class) is the truer read of how the class fares: a strong Reach alongside a moderate admit rate is healthy, not a contradiction.
UC Reach is very strong — more than 95% of seniors are earning UC admission. This places the school among California's highest-performing high schools on this metric.
Strong UC Reach paired with low yield: students are earning UC admission at high rates and then enrolling elsewhere. The pattern is characteristic of competitive college-preparatory schools where many students choose more selective private colleges or out-of-state flagships over UC — UC functions as a strong backup option rather than a first choice.
Berkeley and UCLA admit volume is strong — a clear high-end signal for this school's academic preparation.
UC Reach has improved meaningfully compared to the prior year — a positive trajectory worth monitoring and reinforcing.
Note: the UC Reach Score sums campus-level admits across the top-six UC campuses, so a student admitted to both UCLA and UCSD is counted at each. It reflects competitive admit volume relative to class size — admit-events, not distinct students — which is why a Score can exceed 100.
Compare with other schools → See Fresno County rankings →

For School Admins

The full Reach Report for University High School

A board- and LCAP-ready intelligence brief: your enrollment retention and college outcomes, benchmarked against your closest competitors, with a 5-year forecast, concrete steps to act on, and the rigor + outcomes story you can share with your families. Built from primary public data — prepared for you, not auto-generated.

  • ✓Your UC Reach Score (95) ranked head-to-head against your closest competitor schools
  • ✓Your 5-year enrollment forecast (currently 0.3%/yr) with the revenue at stake
  • ✓Student-retention benchmarking vs your county median — and the LCAP evidence to back your goals
See a sample report →

At a glance

JSON · Using this page with an AI assistant

University High School is a public high school in Fresno, Fresno County, California with 122 seniors in the Class of 2025.

Its UC Reach Score is 95 (Excellent, top 6% in California): 116 UC admits (counted at each UC) from a senior class of 122, so a student admitted to several campuses counts at each. That is higher than 99% of California high schools.

In 2025 its students filed 287 UC applications and received 116 offers, a UC admit rate of 40.4% (counted at each campus); 28 enrolled.

More of its graduates enrolled at UC Davis than at any other UC campus (8 in 2025); UC Berkeley and UCLA together admitted 23.

98% of its graduates completed the A-G courses required for UC and CSU eligibility (California median 56%).

96% of its 2022-23 graduates enrolled in college within 12 months (California Department of Education College-Going Rate).

Of its graduates who enrolled at a UC, 90% earned a degree within six years (cohort entering 2019).

Enrollment was 501 students in 2026, up 2% since 2018.

University High School publishes a list of colleges its graduates attend for the not stated: 314 colleges. Source: Alumni College History.

Sources: University of California Office of the President (admissions), California Department of Education (enrollment, A-G, college-going), and the school's own published documents where named.

Questions families ask

What is University High School's UC Reach Score? University High School's UC Reach Score is 95 (Excellent, top 6% in California): 116 UC admits (counted at each UC) from a senior class of 122, so a student admitted to several campuses counts at each. That is higher than 99% of California high schools.

How many students from University High School got into a UC? In 2025 its students filed 287 UC applications and received 116 offers, a UC admit rate of 40.4% (counted at each campus); 28 enrolled.

Which UC campus do University High School graduates attend most? More of University High School's graduates enrolled at UC Davis than at any other UC campus (8 in 2025); UC Berkeley and UCLA together admitted 23.

What percentage of University High School graduates complete the A-G requirements? 98% of its graduates completed the A-G courses required for UC and CSU eligibility (California median 56%).

What percentage of University High School graduates go to college? 96% of its 2022-23 graduates enrolled in college within 12 months (California Department of Education College-Going Rate).

Where do University High School graduates go to college? University High School publishes a list of colleges its graduates attend for the not stated: 314 colleges. Source: Alumni College History.

How many students attend University High School? Enrollment was 501 students in 2026, up 2% since 2018.

Analysis: Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach, highschoolreach.com). These figures may be quoted with attribution to Test Prep Gurus.

What does AI tell parents about University High School?

When a parent asks an AI assistant about University High School, the answer is built from a handful of sources, and Reach is often one of them. We will send your school a short report on what AI says about University High School and where it comes from. The first report is free.

Request the free report

By sending this you agree that we may email you about your request. We write by email only, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

For Parents

Researching colleges for your kid at University High School?

Check any college's odds in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely with real admit odds and your real net price, for every college on their list.

Check your child's odds →

For School Admins looking at enrollment trends: request a Reach Report →

What are your child's odds? →

What families ask next