By major · Marine Biology
Where can your student actually get into marine biology?
Marine biology does not have one name in California. UCLA and UC San Diego report it as Marine Biology, UC Santa Barbara and Cal Poly SLO report Marine Science, and UC Davis reports Marine and Coastal Science. The odds vary more than the name does: across the 13 colleges here the share of applicants admitted runs from 4% at UCLA, where 883 students applied and 36 were admitted, to 97.5% at Cal State Monterey Bay. A UC admits to the campus rather than to the major at most programs, so a low number tells you how selective that campus was for the students who named marine biology, not that the major itself turned them down.
At a glance · All states
- 86 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's marine biology program: 81 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 5 more report a marine biology admit rate in the UC/CSU data.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Coastal Carolina University (141), Texas A & M University-College Station (103), University of North Carolina Wilmington (90).
- 14 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Los Angeles — Marine Biology, Fall 2025: 883 applied, 36 admitted (4%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Monterey Bay — 97.5% (1,492 applied, 1,455 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: California State University-Monterey Bay, $59,782.
- Lowest average net price with aid: The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, $4,831 per year.
Every program on this list reports a first-year row, so a student can name the major on the application instead of waiting to declare it later. If a college you expected is missing, it is usually because it does not report marine biology under a name of its own, not because the program is closed to freshmen. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (14 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Hardest reported gate
Marine Biology, Fall 2025: 883 applied, 36 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Marine Science, Fall 2025: 1,492 applied, 1,455 admitted
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Marine Biology
Fall 2025: 883 applied, 36 admitted · admit GPA 4.14–4.30
|
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
16 graduates
|
4% | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | — |
|
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Marine Science
Fall 2025: 196 applied, 26 admitted · admit GPA 4.08–4.25
|
— | 13% | 44% | $16,109 | $41,573 | — |
|
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Marine Science
Fall 2025: 630 applied, 137 admitted
impacted
|
Marine Sciences
25 graduates
|
21.7% | 30% | $16,665 | $32,265 | — |
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Marine Science
Fall 2025: 395 applied, 115 admitted · admit GPA 4.07–4.28
|
— | 29% | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | — |
|
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Marine Biology
Fall 2025: 1,890 applied, 562 admitted · admit GPA 4.10–4.28
|
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
79 graduates
|
30% | 27% | $12,470 | $38,701 | — |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Marine And Coastal Science
Fall 2025: 628 applied, 284 admitted · admit GPA 3.92–4.22
|
Marine Sciences
14 graduates
|
45% | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | — |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Marine Biology
Fall 2025: 1,209 applied, 600 admitted
impacted
|
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
38 graduates
|
49.6% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | — |
|
University of California-Santa Cruz
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Marine Biology
Fall 2025: 1,522 applied, 1,057 admitted · admit GPA 3.78–4.15
|
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
83 graduates
|
69% | 82% | $17,890 | $41,179 | — |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Marine Biology
Fall 2025: 364 applied, 299 admitted
impacted
|
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
1 graduate
|
82.1% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Marine Biology
Fall 2025: 407 applied, 360 admitted
|
— | 88.5% | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | — |
|
Sonoma State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Marine Biology
Fall 2025: 130 applied, 120 admitted
|
— | 92.3% | 95% | $12,885 | $24,648 | — |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Marine Biology
Fall 2025: 552 applied, 511 admitted
|
— | 92.6% | 99% | $13,171 | $25,170 | — |
|
California State University-Monterey Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Marine Science
Fall 2025: 1,492 applied, 1,455 admitted
|
Marine Sciences
84 graduates
|
97.5% | 95% | $13,663 | $26,987 | $59,782 |
|
University of Maine
ME · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Sciences +1
66 graduates
|
— | 96% | $17,510 | $27,328 | $46,292 |
|
Coastal Carolina University
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
141 graduates
|
— | 80% | $13,966 | $26,692 | — |
|
Texas A & M University-College Station
TX · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography +1
103 graduates
|
— | 63% | $21,315 | $32,696 | — |
|
University of North Carolina Wilmington
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
90 graduates
|
— | 74% | $20,109 | $26,547 | — |
|
Eckerd College
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
84 graduates
|
— | 79% | $38,071 | $68,944 | — |
|
The University of Tampa
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
64 graduates
|
— | 41% | $36,211 | $51,614 | — |
|
Stony Brook University
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
60 graduates
|
— | 49% | $18,784 | $30,539 | — |
|
University of Hawaii at Manoa
HI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
59 graduates
|
— | 70% | $15,664 | $26,433 | — |
|
University of Washington-Seattle Campus
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
56 graduates
|
— | 42% | $14,091 | $32,446 | — |
|
University of Miami
FL · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
51 graduates
|
— | 18% | $37,244 | $86,078 | — |
|
University of Hawaii at Hilo
HI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
46 graduates
|
— | 90% | $11,856 | $21,173 | — |
|
University of South Carolina-Columbia
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
46 graduates
|
— | 62% | $22,811 | $31,638 | — |
|
University of Rhode Island
RI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
45 graduates
|
— | 77% | $21,440 | $34,321 | — |
|
Nova Southeastern University
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
41 graduates
|
— | 73% | $30,371 | $56,692 | — |
|
University of West Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
40 graduates
|
— | 57% | $9,364 | $19,947 | — |
|
Western Washington University
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Sciences +1
37 graduates
|
— | 91% | $21,193 | $30,359 | — |
|
Stockton University
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
35 graduates
|
— | 88% | $20,670 | $35,139 | — |
|
Unity Environmental University
ME · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
35 graduates
|
— | 82% | $19,104 | $21,931 | — |
|
University of New England
ME · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
35 graduates
|
— | 89% | $38,107 | $63,245 | — |
|
College of Charleston
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
33 graduates
|
— | 72% | $18,960 | $32,362 | — |
|
University of Oregon
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
33 graduates
|
— | 85% | $22,182 | $34,793 | — |
|
Hawaii Pacific University
HI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
32 graduates
|
— | 84% | $29,657 | $50,674 | — |
|
University of South Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
32 graduates
|
— | 41% | $9,812 | $22,859 | — |
|
Boston University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
30 graduates
|
— | 11% | $24,402 | $86,285 | — |
|
University of Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Sciences
28 graduates
|
— | 24% | $6,541 | $22,523 | — |
|
Florida International University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
26 graduates
|
— | 59% | $9,288 | $21,462 | — |
|
Roger Williams University
RI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
26 graduates
|
— | 88% | $37,999 | $61,950 | — |
|
University of Southern Mississippi
MS · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
25 graduates
|
— | 99% | $21,708 | $26,566 | — |
|
Florida Southern College
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
21 graduates
|
— | 59% | $28,551 | $60,768 | — |
|
The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
20 graduates
|
— | 85% | $4,831 | $16,830 | — |
|
University of Delaware
DE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
20 graduates
|
— | 65% | $17,799 | $30,952 | — |
|
Savannah State University
GA · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
18 graduates
|
— | — | $8,172 | — | — |
|
Jacksonville University
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
17 graduates
|
— | 57% | $25,180 | $63,969 | — |
|
East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
16 graduates
|
— | 93% | $18,134 | $27,917 | — |
|
University of Puerto Rico-Humacao
PR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
16 graduates
|
— | 58% | $12,675 | — | — |
|
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Bayamon
PR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
14 graduates
|
— | 36% | $9,284 | — | — |
|
Northeastern University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
14 graduates
|
— | 6% | $30,915 | $84,641 | — |
|
Rutgers University-New Brunswick
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
14 graduates
|
— | 65% | $24,406 | $36,993 | — |
|
University of New Haven
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
13 graduates
|
— | 80% | $34,192 | $66,962 | — |
|
Florida Institute of Technology
FL · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
12 graduates
|
— | 62% | $35,639 | $62,440 | — |
|
Northwest Missouri State University
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
11 graduates
|
— | 86% | $16,244 | $24,945 | — |
|
Maine Maritime Academy
ME · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography +1
10 graduates
|
— | 61% | $23,414 | $31,046 | — |
|
Mitchell College
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
10 graduates
|
— | 73% | $30,260 | $55,621 | — |
|
The University of Alabama
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
10 graduates
|
— | 76% | $22,420 | $33,382 | — |
|
Auburn University
AL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
9 graduates
|
— | 50% | $24,323 | $34,919 | — |
|
Montclair State University
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
9 graduates
|
— | 87% | $15,566 | $28,305 | — |
|
Rollins College
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
8 graduates
|
— | 41% | $34,732 | $76,108 | — |
|
University of Connecticut
CT · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
8 graduates
|
— | 54% | $25,097 | $39,426 | — |
|
University of Alaska Southeast
AK · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
7 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
6 graduates
|
— | 88% | $22,766 | $43,635 | — |
|
University of Georgia
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Sciences
6 graduates
|
— | 37% | $13,936 | $27,993 | — |
|
University of the Virgin Islands
VI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
6 graduates
|
— | 97% | — | — | — |
|
Wisconsin Lutheran College
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
6 graduates
|
— | 79% | $23,245 | $48,785 | — |
|
Hampton University
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
5 graduates
|
— | 48% | $25,319 | $46,027 | — |
|
University of North Alabama
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
5 graduates
|
— | 96% | $12,170 | $23,786 | — |
|
Barry University
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
4 graduates
|
— | 59% | $22,613 | $50,778 | — |
|
Troy University
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
4 graduates
|
— | 93% | $16,527 | $23,165 | — |
|
Oregon State University
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Sciences
3 graduates
|
— | 79% | $19,604 | $31,653 | — |
|
Saint Joseph's College of Maine
ME · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
3 graduates
|
— | 82% | $27,555 | $59,782 | — |
|
University of West Alabama
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
3 graduates
|
— | 87% | $12,684 | $22,758 | — |
|
Fairleigh Dickinson University-Metropolitan Campus
NJ · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
2 graduates
|
— | 96% | $15,404 | $50,305 | — |
|
Salem State University
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
2 graduates
|
— | 96% | $15,996 | $28,291 | — |
|
The College of the Florida Keys
FL · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Sciences
2 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
University of Puerto Rico at Ponce
PR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
2 graduates
|
— | 56% | $10,990 | — | — |
|
Alabama State University
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
1 graduate
|
— | 96% | $20,435 | $23,586 | — |
|
Duke University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
1 graduate
|
— | 7% | $29,612 | $87,072 | — |
|
Hampshire College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
1 graduate
|
— | 70% | $24,034 | $74,195 | — |
|
Loyola University New Orleans
LA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
1 graduate
|
— | 88% | $23,696 | $64,157 | — |
|
Sacred Heart University
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
1 graduate
|
— | 68% | $46,174 | $69,289 | — |
|
Samford University
AL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
1 graduate
|
— | 82% | $32,622 | $57,456 | — |
|
University of Mobile
AL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
1 graduate
|
— | 72% | $22,382 | $41,115 | — |
|
University of South Alabama
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Sciences
1 graduate
|
— | 66% | $17,648 | $25,476 | — |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Marine Biology and Biological Oceanography
1 graduate
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/marine-biology, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a marine biology applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
A marine biology list needs colleges from both ends of that range, and it has to include the marine science and marine and coastal science programs, because five of the 13 colleges here do not use the words marine biology at all. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359