By major · Data Science
Where can your student actually get into data science?
The same degree name can mean very different odds from one California campus to the next. Of the 2,535 first-year students who applied to UC Berkeley naming data science for Fall 2025, 346 were admitted; at Cal State Channel Islands, 36 of 37 were. A UC admits to the campus and not to the major at most programs, so read a UC figure as what happened to the students who named data science there, not as a separate door into the major. Every number below is the college system's own reporting, assembled in one place.
At a glance · All states
- 102 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's data science program: 91 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 11 more report a data science admit rate in the UC/CSU data.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of Wisconsin-Madison (188), Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (173), Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus (158).
- 13 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Berkeley — Data Science, Fall 2025: 2,535 applied, 346 admitted (14%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Channel Islands — 97.3% (37 applied, 36 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Lowest average net price with aid: Florida Atlantic University, $8,752 per year.
Every data science program on this page reports a first-year row, so there is no separate pre-major step to plan around; a freshman applies under the program name itself. At a UC the decision is still made at the campus level for most programs, so a low rate there tells you about the campus as much as the major, while a CSU rate is that campus's own count of who applied to data science and who was admitted. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (13 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Hardest reported gate
Data Science, Fall 2025: 2,535 applied, 346 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Data Science, Fall 2025: 37 applied, 36 admitted
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Data Science
Fall 2025: 2,535 applied, 346 admitted · admit GPA 4.20–4.29
|
— | 14% | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | — |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Data Science
Fall 2025: 1,677 applied, 446 admitted · admit GPA 4.17–4.29
|
— | 27% | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | — |
|
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Data Science
Fall 2025: 2,222 applied, 1,027 admitted · admit GPA 4.13–4.29
|
— | 46% | 27% | $12,470 | $38,701 | — |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Data Science
Fall 2025: 1,402 applied, 788 admitted · admit GPA 4.06–4.26
|
— | 56% | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | — |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Data Science
Fall 2025: 418 applied, 257 admitted
impacted
|
— | 61.5% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | — |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Data Science
Fall 2025: 657 applied, 541 admitted
impacted
|
— | 82.3% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Data Science
Fall 2025: 1,112 applied, 965 admitted · admit GPA 3.85–4.21
|
— | 87% | 88% | $14,304 | $38,942 | — |
|
University of California-Merced
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Data Science And Analytics
Fall 2025: 1,120 applied, 1,011 admitted · admit GPA 3.45–4.10
Data Science And Computing: 95%
|
— | 90% | 95% | $11,983 | $39,665 | — |
|
California State University-East Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Data Science
Fall 2025: 121 applied, 109 admitted
|
— | 90.1% | 97% | $9,320 | $22,850 | — |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Data Science
Fall 2025: 134 applied, 128 admitted
|
— | 95.5% | 99% | $13,171 | $25,170 | — |
|
California State University-Channel Islands
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Data Science
Fall 2025: 37 applied, 36 admitted
|
— | 97.3% | 93% | $9,849 | $23,561 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Madison
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
188 graduates
|
— | 43% | $17,354 | $28,679 | — |
|
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
173 graduates
|
— | 57% | $24,953 | $36,951 | — |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
158 graduates
|
— | 54% | $32,875 | $39,694 | — |
|
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
104 graduates
|
— | 18% | $13,138 | $34,654 | — |
|
The University of Texas at Dallas
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
53 graduates
|
— | 66% | $18,267 | $29,807 | — |
|
Arizona State University Campus Immersion
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
38 graduates
|
— | 90% | $14,967 | $30,111 | — |
|
William & Mary
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
36 graduates
|
— | 33% | $19,096 | $43,035 | — |
|
Smith College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
30 graduates
|
— | 20% | $27,579 | $86,030 | — |
|
Drexel University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
26 graduates
|
— | 78% | $38,509 | $76,835 | — |
|
Denison University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
25 graduates
|
— | 17% | $40,007 | $81,900 | — |
|
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
25 graduates
|
— | 58% | $43,071 | $78,679 | — |
|
Middle Tennessee State University
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
19 graduates
|
— | 68% | $13,359 | $24,289 | — |
|
Maryville University of Saint Louis
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
18 graduates
|
— | 94% | $22,066 | $41,959 | — |
|
University of Houston-Downtown
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
17 graduates
|
— | 91% | $10,542 | $20,749 | — |
|
Colorado State University-Fort Collins
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
15 graduates
|
— | 90% | $21,279 | $31,642 | — |
|
University of Vermont
VT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
15 graduates
|
— | 60% | $19,343 | $35,649 | — |
|
College of Charleston
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
14 graduates
|
— | 72% | $18,960 | $32,362 | — |
|
Winona State University
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
14 graduates
|
— | 68% | $17,503 | $23,683 | — |
|
Arizona State University Digital Immersion
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
13 graduates
|
— | 64% | — | — | — |
|
University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
12 graduates
|
— | 77% | $16,778 | $30,061 | — |
|
University of Oregon
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
12 graduates
|
— | 85% | $22,182 | $34,793 | — |
|
John Carroll University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
11 graduates
|
— | 81% | $28,746 | $65,827 | — |
|
Portland State University
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
11 graduates
|
— | 91% | $9,552 | $21,590 | — |
|
Metropolitan State University
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
9 graduates
|
— | 96% | $16,863 | $25,172 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-River Falls
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
9 graduates
|
— | 82% | $14,054 | $19,781 | — |
|
Willamette University
OR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
9 graduates
|
— | 79% | $25,121 | $67,501 | — |
|
Bellevue University
NE · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
8 graduates
|
— | — | $17,550 | — | — |
|
Case Western Reserve University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
8 graduates
|
— | 29% | $41,190 | $85,851 | — |
|
Dartmouth College
NH · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
8 graduates
|
— | 6% | $29,519 | $87,793 | — |
|
Mount Holyoke College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
8 graduates
|
— | 38% | $26,441 | $84,926 | — |
|
Saint Louis University
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
7 graduates
|
— | 82% | $24,398 | $71,932 | — |
|
Western Washington University
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
7 graduates
|
— | 91% | $21,193 | $30,359 | — |
|
Bellarmine University
KY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
6 graduates
|
— | 94% | $21,499 | $61,691 | — |
|
Carthage College
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General +1
6 graduates
|
— | 84% | $26,565 | $50,822 | — |
|
Columbia University in the City of New York
NY · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
6 graduates
|
— | 4% | $21,590 | $89,472 | — |
|
Florida Polytechnic University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
6 graduates
|
— | 56% | $11,853 | $21,817 | — |
|
University of Iowa
IA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
6 graduates
|
— | 85% | $22,531 | $28,596 | — |
|
Baylor University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
5 graduates
|
— | 51% | $41,104 | $74,226 | — |
|
Loyola University Chicago
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
5 graduates
|
— | 81% | $36,079 | $67,408 | — |
|
Mercyhurst University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
5 graduates
|
— | 83% | $19,444 | $59,557 | — |
|
Northern Arizona University
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
5 graduates
|
— | 91% | $14,158 | $29,933 | — |
|
Northwestern University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
5 graduates
|
— | 7% | $29,167 | $91,250 | — |
|
Saint Joseph's University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
5 graduates
|
— | 86% | $29,689 | $67,954 | — |
|
The College of Wooster
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
5 graduates
|
— | 54% | $23,458 | $75,656 | — |
|
William Jewell College
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
5 graduates
|
— | 34% | $17,562 | $35,785 | — |
|
Calvin University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
4 graduates
|
— | 71% | $22,992 | $54,222 | — |
|
Centre College
KY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
4 graduates
|
— | 54% | $20,781 | $67,787 | — |
|
Champlain College
VT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
4 graduates
|
— | 67% | $35,860 | $65,009 | — |
|
Dordt University
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
4 graduates
|
— | 71% | $25,807 | $51,733 | — |
|
Earlham College
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
4 graduates
|
— | 74% | $24,714 | $67,684 | — |
|
Pacific University
OR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
4 graduates
|
— | 92% | $35,273 | $72,374 | — |
|
Post University
CT · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
4 graduates
|
— | — | $21,634 | — | — |
|
Salisbury University
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
4 graduates
|
— | 89% | $17,743 | $28,310 | — |
|
St Lawrence University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
4 graduates
|
— | 58% | $28,651 | $82,000 | — |
|
The University of Texas at Arlington
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
4 graduates
|
— | 81% | $13,951 | $25,261 | — |
|
Eastern Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
3 graduates
|
— | 81% | $15,407 | $29,640 | — |
|
Elizabethtown College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
3 graduates
|
— | 77% | $26,598 | $50,865 | — |
|
Florida Atlantic University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
3 graduates
|
— | 73% | $8,752 | $21,522 | — |
|
Saint Ambrose University
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
3 graduates
|
— | 73% | $24,691 | $51,141 | — |
|
St Catherine University
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
3 graduates
|
— | 94% | $19,764 | $60,476 | — |
|
University of Toledo
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
3 graduates
|
— | 95% | $17,249 | $26,512 | — |
|
Andrews University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
2 graduates
|
— | 87% | $12,547 | $45,218 | — |
|
Arcadia University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
2 graduates
|
— | 79% | $29,466 | $64,645 | — |
|
Bethel University
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
2 graduates
|
— | 91% | $28,556 | $58,569 | — |
|
College of Coastal Georgia
GA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
2 graduates
|
— | 98% | $15,261 | $21,924 | — |
|
Knox College
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
2 graduates
|
— | 71% | $24,595 | $68,134 | — |
|
Morgan State University
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, Other
2 graduates
|
— | 83% | $14,985 | $25,413 | — |
|
Purdue University Fort Wayne
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
2 graduates
|
— | 86% | $13,171 | $22,183 | — |
|
Ramapo College of New Jersey
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
2 graduates
|
— | 73% | $18,173 | $29,483 | — |
|
Roanoke College
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
2 graduates
|
— | 80% | $24,503 | $54,283 | — |
|
Siena College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
2 graduates
|
— | 71% | $33,733 | $64,870 | — |
|
University of Central Oklahoma
OK · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
2 graduates
|
— | 82% | $18,309 | $26,392 | — |
|
Bennington College
VT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
1 graduate
|
— | 48% | $30,947 | $87,284 | — |
|
City University of Seattle
WA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
1 graduate
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Clarkson University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
1 graduate
|
— | 77% | $30,305 | $79,022 | — |
|
Coe College
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
1 graduate
|
— | 71% | $18,745 | $67,372 | — |
|
Eastern University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
1 graduate
|
— | 94% | $26,662 | $55,001 | — |
|
Loras College
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
1 graduate
|
— | 92% | $20,716 | $50,537 | — |
|
Northern Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
1 graduate
|
— | 70% | $14,085 | $27,841 | — |
|
Olivet Nazarene University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
1 graduate
|
— | 67% | $20,729 | $51,981 | — |
|
Pacific Union College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
1 graduate
|
— | 42% | $41,008 | $49,404 | — |
|
Point Loma Nazarene University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
1 graduate
|
— | 82% | $38,729 | $60,488 | — |
|
Quinnipiac University
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
1 graduate
|
— | 77% | $40,675 | $72,215 | — |
|
Southern Connecticut State University
CT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
1 graduate
|
— | 81% | $20,857 | $29,673 | — |
|
University of Central Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
1 graduate
|
— | 40% | $10,411 | $23,133 | — |
|
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
1 graduate
|
— | 50% | $30,434 | $38,105 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
1 graduate
|
— | 88% | $15,014 | $22,756 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Platteville
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
1 graduate
|
— | 87% | $16,032 | $21,266 | — |
|
University of the Incarnate Word
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
1 graduate
|
— | 93% | $22,775 | $48,681 | — |
|
Winthrop University
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
1 graduate
|
— | 75% | $15,343 | $30,710 | — |
|
Xavier University of Louisiana
LA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Data Science, General
1 graduate
|
— | 74% | $17,127 | $40,434 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/data-science, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a data science applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
A data science list needs both ends covered, because in California the same major runs from 14% at UC Berkeley to 97.3% at Cal State Channel Islands, and a student should have a real answer at each end. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359