By major · Legal Studies (pre-law)
Where can your student actually get into legal studies?
No law school requires a particular major, so legal studies is one road toward law rather than a requirement for it. In California only 11 colleges report a bachelor's legal studies program at all, and the reported gates sit far apart: UC Berkeley had 1,509 students apply naming legal studies and admitted 71, a 5% rate, while Cal Poly Humboldt had 41 apply and admitted 36, 87.8%. A UC admits to the campus rather than to this major, so the Berkeley row and the 66% at UC Santa Cruz describe what happened to students who named legal studies, not a decision the department made. Every number below is the college systems' own reporting or the federal earnings data, gathered in one place.
At a glance · All states
- 152 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's legal studies program: 145 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 1 more report a legal studies admit rate in the UC/CSU data; 6 more carry program earnings in federal outcome data but no 2022-23 degree count under these program codes.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of Central Florida (255), University of California-Berkeley (180), Liberty University (152).
- 11 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Berkeley — Legal Studies, Fall 2025: 1,509 applied, 71 admitted (5%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt — 87.8% (41 applied, 36 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: Bentley University, $148,087.
- Lowest average net price with aid: CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice, $3,203 per year.
A college with no first-year row here publishes no separate admit rate for legal studies, so the campus decision is the one that applies and there is no second door into the major to plan around. Where a rate for the major is reported it runs from 5% at UC Berkeley to 87.8% at Cal Poly Humboldt, which tells you the school matters far more here than the major does. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (11 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Hardest reported gate
Legal Studies, Fall 2025: 1,509 applied, 71 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Legal Studies General, Fall 2025: 41 applied, 36 admitted
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Legal Studies
Fall 2025: 1,509 applied, 71 admitted · admit GPA 4.10–4.30
|
Legal Studies
180 graduates
|
5% | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | $70,636 |
|
University of California-Santa Cruz
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Legal Studies
Fall 2025: 999 applied, 658 admitted · admit GPA 3.79–4.16
|
Legal Studies
106 graduates
|
66% | 82% | $17,890 | $41,179 | $66,244 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Legal Studies General
Fall 2025: 41 applied, 36 admitted
|
— | 87.8% | 99% | $13,171 | $25,170 | — |
|
Bentley University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 48% | $37,930 | $79,548 | $148,087 |
|
University of Miami
FL · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
28 graduates
|
— | 18% | $37,244 | $86,078 | $99,836 |
|
Drexel University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 78% | $38,509 | $76,835 | $93,811 |
|
Quinnipiac University
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
17 graduates
|
— | 77% | $40,675 | $72,215 | $74,835 |
|
American University
DC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
23 graduates
|
— | 47% | $41,943 | $76,058 | $72,792 |
|
Michigan State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
107 graduates
|
— | 84% | $19,680 | $32,198 | $72,414 |
|
University of Washington-Seattle Campus
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
93 graduates
|
— | 42% | $14,091 | $32,446 | $71,042 |
|
University of Washington-Tacoma Campus
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
35 graduates
|
— | 83% | $10,163 | $25,346 | $71,042 |
|
Ohio State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 51% | $17,339 | $30,305 | $70,429 |
|
Suffolk University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
75 graduates
|
— | 85% | $29,618 | $65,281 | $70,274 |
|
University of Wisconsin-Madison
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
83 graduates
|
— | 43% | $17,354 | $28,679 | $70,123 |
|
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
84 graduates
|
— | 58% | $22,383 | $34,549 | $69,269 |
|
University of La Verne
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
13 graduates
|
— | 48% | $20,161 | $62,278 | $66,373 |
|
Roger Williams University
RI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Professions and Studies, Other +1
28 graduates
|
— | 88% | $37,999 | $61,950 | $66,230 |
|
Hamline University
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
17 graduates
|
— | 90% | $20,744 | $58,110 | $65,460 |
|
St. John's University-New York
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies +1
107 graduates
|
— | 80% | $29,999 | $65,527 | $65,316 |
|
University of Denver
CO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
9 graduates
|
— | 71% | $36,131 | $78,476 | $63,727 |
|
Siena College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 71% | $33,733 | $64,870 | $63,487 |
|
Arizona State University Campus Immersion
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
79 graduates
|
— | 90% | $14,967 | $30,111 | $61,356 |
|
Arizona State University Digital Immersion
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
44 graduates
|
— | 64% | — | — | $61,356 |
|
Montclair State University
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Professions and Studies, Other
20 graduates
|
— | 87% | $15,566 | $28,305 | $61,036 |
|
Pennsylvania State University-World Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
20 graduates
|
— | 80% | $19,550 | $27,678 | $60,745 |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 54% | $32,875 | $39,694 | $60,745 |
|
Temple University
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Professions and Studies, Other
28 graduates
|
— | 83% | $28,198 | $40,903 | $60,714 |
|
University of New Haven
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
6 graduates
|
— | 80% | $34,192 | $66,962 | $60,438 |
|
Nazareth University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Professions and Studies, Other
13 graduates
|
— | 80% | $29,357 | $58,254 | $60,186 |
|
University of Central Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
255 graduates
|
— | 40% | $10,411 | $23,133 | $59,715 |
|
Ball State University
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Professions and Studies, Other
29 graduates
|
— | 72% | $14,940 | $26,146 | $57,249 |
|
Central Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
8 graduates
|
— | 91% | $17,597 | $30,681 | $57,108 |
|
CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
150 graduates
|
— | 57% | $3,203 | $14,212 | $57,073 |
|
St. John Fisher University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
17 graduates
|
— | 68% | $28,945 | $55,201 | $54,899 |
|
University of Arizona
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Professions and Studies, Other
151 graduates
|
— | 86% | $16,674 | $29,423 | $53,868 |
|
Keiser University-Ft Lauderdale
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
26 graduates
|
— | 97% | — | $43,251 | $53,101 |
|
Drake University
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
31 graduates
|
— | 64% | $29,127 | $64,835 | $52,326 |
|
Mercy University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
8 graduates
|
— | 86% | $14,072 | $32,596 | $51,161 |
|
University of Baltimore
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies +1
21 graduates
|
— | 86% | $13,868 | $26,406 | $48,988 |
|
Oakland University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 70% | $9,120 | $25,182 | $48,323 |
|
Morehead State University
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
16 graduates
|
— | 82% | $9,793 | $21,961 | $40,990 |
|
Liberty University
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
152 graduates
|
— | 99% | $29,357 | $42,025 | — |
|
University of Maryland Global Campus
MD · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
118 graduates
|
— | — | $22,063 | — | — |
|
American Public University System
WV · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
71 graduates
|
— | — | $9,597 | — | — |
|
The University of Texas at San Antonio
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
59 graduates
|
— | 88% | $10,836 | $22,352 | — |
|
University at Buffalo
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
56 graduates
|
— | 69% | $20,995 | $30,785 | — |
|
United States Military Academy
NY · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
53 graduates
|
— | 14% | — | — | — |
|
Auburn University
AL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
50 graduates
|
— | 50% | $24,323 | $34,919 | — |
|
National Paralegal College
AZ · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
41 graduates
|
— | — | $15,670 | — | — |
|
Post University
CT · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
32 graduates
|
— | — | $21,634 | — | — |
|
United States Air Force Academy
CO · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
32 graduates
|
— | 14% | — | — | — |
|
Berkeley College-New York
NY · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Professions and Studies, Other
30 graduates
|
— | — | $34,124 | — | — |
|
Bellevue University
NE · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
29 graduates
|
— | — | $17,550 | — | — |
|
University of Mississippi
MS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
24 graduates
|
— | 98% | $13,314 | $28,660 | — |
|
University of the District of Columbia
DC · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
18 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Ramapo College of New Jersey
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
17 graduates
|
— | 73% | $18,173 | $29,483 | — |
|
Lipscomb University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
16 graduates
|
— | 67% | $24,739 | $55,117 | — |
|
National University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
16 graduates
|
— | — | $22,878 | — | — |
|
University of Illinois Springfield
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
16 graduates
|
— | 84% | $9,833 | $25,521 | — |
|
Vanderbilt University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
16 graduates
|
— | 6% | $15,846 | $89,590 | — |
|
Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce
PR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies +1
15 graduates
|
— | 90% | $13,192 | — | — |
|
Thomas Jefferson University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
15 graduates
|
— | 86% | $28,928 | $64,197 | — |
|
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
15 graduates
|
— | 50% | $30,434 | $38,105 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Superior
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
15 graduates
|
— | 94% | $12,220 | $19,860 | — |
|
Utah State University
UT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
14 graduates
|
— | 94% | — | $21,654 | — |
|
Western Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Professions and Studies, Other
14 graduates
|
— | 85% | $15,273 | $29,237 | — |
|
Central Penn College
PA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Professions and Studies, Other
13 graduates
|
— | — | $18,953 | — | — |
|
Humphreys University-Stockton and Modesto Campuses
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Professions and Studies, Other
13 graduates
|
— | — | $5,524 | — | — |
|
Nova Southeastern University
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
13 graduates
|
— | 73% | $30,371 | $56,692 | — |
|
Belmont University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
12 graduates
|
— | 96% | $33,147 | $62,570 | — |
|
Dickinson College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
12 graduates
|
— | 43% | $37,607 | $82,902 | — |
|
University of Central Oklahoma
OK · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies +1
12 graduates
|
— | 82% | $18,309 | $26,392 | — |
|
University of Kansas
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
12 graduates
|
— | 88% | $18,059 | $26,751 | — |
|
Western New England University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
11 graduates
|
— | 83% | $27,290 | $60,262 | — |
|
Abraham Lincoln University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Professions and Studies, Other
10 graduates
|
— | — | $28,584 | — | — |
|
New Jersey Institute of Technology
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Professions and Studies, Other
10 graduates
|
— | 67% | $16,504 | $32,859 | — |
|
Northeastern State University
OK · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
10 graduates
|
— | 99% | $12,710 | $21,551 | — |
|
Rutgers University-Newark
NJ · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
9 graduates
|
— | 79% | $19,703 | $35,654 | — |
|
SUNY at Purchase College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
9 graduates
|
— | 73% | $18,913 | $29,043 | — |
|
Southeastern University
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
9 graduates
|
— | 74% | $31,942 | $49,329 | — |
|
University of Massachusetts Global
CA · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
9 graduates
|
— | — | $32,654 | — | — |
|
Goldey-Beacom College
DE · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
8 graduates
|
— | 76% | $15,554 | $26,502 | — |
|
Husson University
ME · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
8 graduates
|
— | 86% | $21,005 | $35,852 | — |
|
Ithaca College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
8 graduates
|
— | 70% | $33,926 | $68,699 | — |
|
Oberlin College
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Professions and Studies, Other
8 graduates
|
— | 33% | $38,645 | $87,404 | — |
|
Samford University
AL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
8 graduates
|
— | 82% | $32,622 | $57,456 | — |
|
University of Alaska Anchorage
AK · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
8 graduates
|
— | 66% | $15,301 | $24,096 | — |
|
Webster University
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
8 graduates
|
— | 58% | $27,047 | $51,188 | — |
|
Barry University
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
7 graduates
|
— | 59% | $22,613 | $50,778 | — |
|
Berkeley College-Woodland Park
NJ · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Professions and Studies, Other
7 graduates
|
— | — | $27,100 | — | — |
|
Champlain College
VT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
7 graduates
|
— | 67% | $35,860 | $65,009 | — |
|
Dominican University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
7 graduates
|
— | 80% | $11,745 | $43,891 | — |
|
Northeastern University Professional Programs
MA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
7 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Northwestern University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
7 graduates
|
— | 7% | $29,167 | $91,250 | — |
|
Tulane University of Louisiana
LA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
7 graduates
|
— | 15% | $39,949 | $87,004 | — |
|
William Paterson University of New Jersey
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
7 graduates
|
— | 92% | $18,745 | $28,476 | — |
|
East Central University
OK · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
6 graduates
|
— | 66% | $8,683 | $18,459 | — |
|
Houston Christian University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
6 graduates
|
— | 85% | $20,629 | $50,082 | — |
|
Northern Kentucky University
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
6 graduates
|
— | 96% | $8,191 | $19,725 | — |
|
Palm Beach Atlantic University
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
6 graduates
|
— | 88% | $28,354 | $53,827 | — |
|
Tarleton State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
6 graduates
|
— | 94% | $20,783 | $24,100 | — |
|
Bethany Lutheran College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 51% | $20,148 | $41,013 | — |
|
Delaware State University
DE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Professions and Studies, Other
5 graduates
|
— | 62% | $13,910 | $27,939 | — |
|
Linfield University
OR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 88% | $26,536 | $65,935 | — |
|
Paul Quinn College
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 34% | $12,709 | $23,587 | — |
|
The University of Findlay
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 86% | $27,221 | $54,580 | — |
|
Thomas More University
KY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 97% | $21,835 | $49,452 | — |
|
Bay Path University
MA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
4 graduates
|
— | — | $14,271 | — | — |
|
Buena Vista University
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 72% | $18,846 | $54,222 | — |
|
Florida National University-Main Campus
FL · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
4 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Lasell University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 82% | $27,511 | $42,434 | — |
|
South College
TN · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
4 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
NE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Professions and Studies, Other
4 graduates
|
— | 77% | $17,747 | $26,697 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 83% | $14,158 | $18,719 | — |
|
Faulkner University
AL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 66% | $22,085 | $37,626 | — |
|
Mississippi Valley State University
MS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 51% | $9,686 | $21,154 | — |
|
SUNY College at Plattsburgh
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 75% | $17,156 | $28,244 | — |
|
Susquehanna University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 79% | $28,819 | $75,410 | — |
|
University of Nebraska at Omaha
NE · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Professions and Studies, Other
3 graduates
|
— | 87% | $13,441 | $21,120 | — |
|
William Peace University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 97% | $21,649 | $49,362 | — |
|
Cedarville University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 63% | $24,468 | $49,320 | — |
|
Chestnut Hill College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 79% | $27,970 | $58,168 | — |
|
Creighton University
NE · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 72% | $31,568 | $63,423 | — |
|
Elmira College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 91% | $22,386 | $52,449 | — |
|
Florida Institute of Technology
FL · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 62% | $35,639 | $62,440 | — |
|
Hodges University
FL · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
2 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Keene State College
NH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 89% | $17,887 | $29,993 | — |
|
Lander University
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 68% | $15,363 | $27,277 | — |
|
Missouri Western State University
MO · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
2 graduates
|
— | — | $13,251 | — | — |
|
Neumann University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 76% | $27,804 | $57,180 | — |
|
Ohio Wesleyan University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 51% | $20,897 | $68,424 | — |
|
Oklahoma Christian University
OK · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 97% | $21,872 | $39,106 | — |
|
Point Park University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 98% | $25,942 | $52,643 | — |
|
University of Arkansas at Little Rock
AR · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 58% | $17,248 | $22,519 | — |
|
Waynesburg University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 92% | $18,235 | $44,397 | — |
|
Brenau University
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Professions and Studies, Other
1 graduate
|
— | 87% | $18,924 | $46,010 | — |
|
Chapman University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 56% | $46,555 | $83,146 | — |
|
Culver-Stockton College
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 98% | $21,983 | $44,112 | — |
|
Doane University
NE · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 90% | $26,364 | $57,836 | — |
|
Emmanuel University
GA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
1 graduate
|
— | — | $20,925 | — | — |
|
Fresno Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 58% | $13,630 | $44,249 | — |
|
Hampshire College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 70% | $24,034 | $74,195 | — |
|
Howard Payne University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Law Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 68% | $23,627 | $46,766 | — |
|
Kentucky Wesleyan College
KY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 67% | $17,131 | $46,203 | — |
|
Manhattanville College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 85% | $20,991 | $53,499 | — |
|
Mount St. Joseph University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 56% | $16,530 | $46,719 | — |
|
National American University-Rapid City
SD · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Professions and Studies, Other
1 graduate
|
— | — | $31,062 | — | — |
|
Northeastern University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 6% | $30,915 | $84,641 | — |
|
Pitzer College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 17% | $34,191 | $86,466 | — |
|
SUNY College of Technology at Canton
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 96% | $15,268 | $24,906 | — |
|
William Woods University
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Professions and Studies, Other
1 graduate
|
— | 74% | $26,569 | $49,094 | — |
|
Winona State University
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Legal Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 68% | $17,503 | $23,683 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/legal-studies, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a legal studies applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
A list for legal studies needs the admit rate for the major where a college reports one, the price after aid at each school, and a few names where your student could study something else and still apply to law school, because no law school asks for this major. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359