By major · Theatre
Where can your student actually get into theatre?
Theatre is one of the majors where the public campuses report the odds for the major itself, and the spread is wide: at UCLA, 1,408 students applied naming Theater and 116 were admitted, 8%, while at Sacramento State 76 applied to Theatre Arts and 74 were admitted, 97.4%. A UC reads the whole application and admits a student to the campus, not to the major; a CSU admits a freshman into the program. On a single CSU campus the two theatre programs can differ that much: in Fall 2025 San Diego State admitted 188 of 380 applicants to Theatre Arts, 49.5%, and 33 of 182 applicants to Musical Theatre, 18.1%. All 35 California colleges here come from the college systems' own reporting and federal outcome data, so the schools that publish no rate still show price and pay, as low as $3,967 a year after aid at Cal State LA.
At a glance · All states
- 298 colleges nationwide report a bachelor's theatre program in federal outcome data or a theatre admit rate in the UC/CSU data.
- Hardest reported gate: University of California-Los Angeles — Theater, Fall 2025: 1,408 applied, 116 admitted (8%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Sacramento — 97.4% (76 applied, 74 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: University of Notre Dame, $64,880.
- Lowest average net price with aid: CUNY Hunter College, $2,984 per year.
A college with no first-year row is not reporting theatre separately, so there is no admit rate for the major to read and the campus decision is the one that applies. Many of the programs that do gate also ask for an audition or an interview, held on the program's own calendar and often months before the campus decision arrives. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · Back to the 35 California colleges →
Hardest reported gate
Theater, Fall 2025: 1,408 applied, 116 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Theatre Arts, Fall 2025: 76 applied, 74 admitted
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings. Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Theater
Fall 2025: 1,408 applied, 116 admitted · admit GPA 4.00–4.24
|
8% | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | $39,023 |
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Theater And Performance Studies
Fall 2025: 468 applied, 109 admitted · admit GPA 4.08–4.25
|
23% | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | $55,555 |
|
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Theater
Fall 2025: 583 applied, 169 admitted · admit GPA 4.00–4.25
|
29% | 44% | $16,109 | $41,573 | $44,106 |
|
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Drama
Fall 2025: 675 applied, 213 admitted · admit GPA 4.07–4.25
|
32% | 27% | $12,470 | $38,701 | $41,389 |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Drama
Fall 2025: 700 applied, 260 admitted · admit GPA 3.88–4.20
|
37% | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | $40,773 |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Theatre Arts
Fall 2025: 380 applied, 188 admitted
impacted
Musical Theatre: 18.1%
|
49.5% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | $41,812 |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Theatre Arts
Fall 2025: 513 applied, 303 admitted
impacted
|
59.1% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | $38,270 |
|
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Theatre Arts
Fall 2025: 177 applied, 110 admitted
impacted
|
62.1% | 30% | $16,665 | $32,265 | $36,697 |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Theatre And Dance
Fall 2025: 292 applied, 187 admitted · admit GPA 3.82–4.21
|
64% | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | $56,823 |
|
California State University-Bakersfield
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Theatre Arts
Fall 2025: 66 applied, 46 admitted
|
69.7% | 88% | $5,652 | $19,522 | — |
|
University of California-Santa Cruz
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Theater Arts
Fall 2025: 360 applied, 254 admitted · admit GPA 3.76–4.16
|
71% | 82% | $17,890 | $41,179 | $30,524 |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Theatre Arts
Fall 2025: 86 applied, 62 admitted
impacted
|
72.1% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
California State University-East Bay
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Theatre Arts
Fall 2025: 95 applied, 79 admitted
|
83.2% | 97% | $9,320 | $22,850 | — |
|
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Theatre Arts
Fall 2025: 232 applied, 198 admitted
|
85.3% | 92% | $3,967 | $18,403 | $35,097 |
|
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Theatre Arts
Fall 2025: 674 applied, 583 admitted
impacted
Theatre Arts (Professional Performance): 100.0%
|
86.5% | 87% | $6,555 | $18,269 | $42,455 |
|
California State University-Channel Islands
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Theatre Arts
Fall 2025: 56 applied, 49 admitted
|
87.5% | 93% | $9,849 | $23,561 | — |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Theatre Arts
Fall 2025: 121 applied, 107 admitted
Theatre Arts (Professional Performance): 86.4%
|
88.4% | 74% | $11,531 | $23,955 | — |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Theatre Arts
Fall 2025: 403 applied, 362 admitted
|
89.8% | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | $43,240 |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Musical Theatre
Fall 2025: 148 applied, 135 admitted
Theatre Arts: 85.2%
|
91.2% | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | — |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Theatre Arts
Fall 2025: 69 applied, 63 admitted
|
91.3% | 99% | $13,171 | $25,170 | — |
|
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Theatre Arts
Fall 2025: 92 applied, 84 admitted
|
91.3% | 91% | $8,615 | $23,191 | — |
|
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Theatre Arts
Fall 2025: 166 applied, 153 admitted
|
92.2% | 98% | $4,564 | $17,427 | $40,118 |
|
California State University-San Marcos
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Theatre Arts
Fall 2025: 65 applied, 60 admitted
|
92.3% | 96% | $10,229 | $21,649 | — |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Theatre Arts
Fall 2025: 144 applied, 133 admitted
|
92.4% | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | $44,848 |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Theatre Arts
Fall 2025: 122 applied, 114 admitted
|
93.4% | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | $34,320 |
|
California State University-Stanislaus
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Theatre Arts
Fall 2025: 29 applied, 28 admitted
Musical Theatre: 100.0%
|
96.6% | 98% | $6,067 | $19,739 | — |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Theatre Arts
Fall 2025: 76 applied, 74 admitted
|
97.4% | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | $47,676 |
|
University of Notre Dame
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 12% | $26,780 | $83,271 | $64,880 |
|
Brandeis University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 35% | $35,736 | $86,448 | $58,676 |
|
Drake University
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 64% | $29,127 | $64,835 | $54,950 |
|
Miami University-Oxford
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 82% | $28,384 | $38,757 | $54,215 |
|
University of Cincinnati-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 88% | $25,648 | $32,171 | $54,000 |
|
Florida Southern College
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 59% | $28,551 | $60,768 | $51,925 |
|
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 96% | $18,202 | $30,349 | $51,775 |
|
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 50% | $30,434 | $38,105 | $51,775 |
|
Chapman University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 56% | $46,555 | $83,146 | $51,611 |
|
Western Connecticut State University
CT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 81% | $17,604 | $24,877 | $50,955 |
|
Pepperdine University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 50% | $58,098 | $93,512 | $50,594 |
|
Rhode Island College
RI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 81% | $9,478 | $17,454 | $50,335 |
|
University of Utah
UT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 87% | $16,200 | $25,557 | $49,802 |
|
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 44% | $14,355 | $33,642 | $49,323 |
|
Northwestern University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 7% | $29,167 | $91,250 | $49,316 |
|
Loyola Marymount University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 40% | $48,381 | $83,943 | $49,135 |
|
The University of Texas at Austin
TX · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 29% | $19,857 | $31,247 | $48,781 |
|
University of North Carolina School of the Arts
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 33% | $14,906 | $26,470 | $48,664 |
|
Manhattanville College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 85% | $20,991 | $53,499 | $48,629 |
|
Texas State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 90% | $16,805 | $28,073 | $48,502 |
|
University of Central Missouri
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 69% | $14,462 | $22,947 | $48,179 |
|
Saint Edward's University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 84% | $25,578 | $66,719 | $47,974 |
|
Binghamton University
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 38% | $21,620 | $30,345 | $47,945 |
|
University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 78% | $11,900 | $24,902 | $47,878 |
|
University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus
OK · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 76% | $15,300 | $28,872 | $47,587 |
|
West Texas A & M University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 97% | $19,487 | $23,482 | $47,175 |
|
University of Puget Sound
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 76% | $38,394 | $78,378 | $46,791 |
|
Radford University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 91% | $14,578 | $28,405 | $46,725 |
|
North Central College
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 58% | $21,044 | $57,219 | $46,605 |
|
Ithaca College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 70% | $33,926 | $68,699 | $46,563 |
|
Fordham University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 56% | $44,338 | $82,762 | $46,317 |
|
University of Northern Colorado
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 86% | $17,760 | $29,254 | $46,089 |
|
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 18% | $13,138 | $34,654 | $45,888 |
|
University of Evansville
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 78% | $18,499 | $57,451 | $45,838 |
|
Baylor University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 51% | $41,104 | $74,226 | $45,706 |
|
Portland State University
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 91% | $9,552 | $21,590 | $45,692 |
|
University at Buffalo
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 69% | $20,995 | $30,785 | $45,677 |
|
University of South Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 41% | $9,812 | $22,859 | $45,671 |
|
George Mason University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 89% | $17,915 | $28,604 | $45,656 |
|
University of New Hampshire-Main Campus
NH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 87% | $23,805 | $35,537 | $45,504 |
|
Nebraska Wesleyan University
NE · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 84% | $18,327 | $53,569 | $45,420 |
|
James Madison University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 76% | $23,322 | $31,735 | $45,225 |
|
St Olaf College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 52% | $23,874 | $71,843 | $45,023 |
|
College of Charleston
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 72% | $18,960 | $32,362 | $44,991 |
|
Appalachian State University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 89% | $16,836 | $23,169 | $44,986 |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 54% | $32,875 | $39,694 | $44,913 |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Berks
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 97% | $24,356 | $32,242 | $44,913 |
|
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
NE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 77% | $17,747 | $26,697 | $44,825 |
|
Emerson College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 48% | $49,180 | $80,399 | $44,760 |
|
Western Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 85% | $15,273 | $29,237 | $44,694 |
|
University of Montevallo
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 54% | $17,683 | $27,398 | $44,624 |
|
Ramapo College of New Jersey
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 73% | $18,173 | $29,483 | $44,565 |
|
University of Arizona
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 86% | $16,674 | $29,423 | $44,471 |
|
Pacific Lutheran University
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 80% | $19,589 | $62,459 | $44,459 |
|
Hofstra University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 71% | $34,176 | $70,624 | $44,388 |
|
Florida State University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 25% | $11,297 | $25,720 | $44,115 |
|
DePaul University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 74% | $30,902 | $63,052 | $44,095 |
|
Syracuse University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 42% | $38,793 | $84,517 | $44,045 |
|
Virginia Commonwealth University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 93% | $23,433 | $38,954 | $43,957 |
|
Central Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 91% | $17,597 | $30,681 | $43,916 |
|
Long Island University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 90% | $33,062 | $55,424 | $43,904 |
|
Cornish College of the Arts
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 70% | $40,062 | $60,273 | $43,576 |
|
Suffolk University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 85% | $29,618 | $65,281 | $43,553 |
|
Lindenwood University
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 66% | $19,638 | $35,436 | $43,329 |
|
Ball State University
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 72% | $14,940 | $26,146 | $43,082 |
|
University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 77% | $16,778 | $30,061 | $43,055 |
|
University of Georgia
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 37% | $13,936 | $27,993 | $43,046 |
|
University of Central Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 40% | $10,411 | $23,133 | $42,954 |
|
Metropolitan State University of Denver
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 99% | $15,327 | $24,622 | $42,870 |
|
Michigan State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 84% | $19,680 | $32,198 | $42,820 |
|
Ohio University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 85% | $21,637 | $30,586 | $42,796 |
|
Rutgers University-Camden
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 78% | $18,745 | $35,178 | $42,712 |
|
Rutgers University-New Brunswick
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 65% | $24,406 | $36,993 | $42,712 |
|
Rutgers University-Newark
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 79% | $19,703 | $35,654 | $42,712 |
|
University of the Arts
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 78% | — | — | $42,639 |
|
DeSales University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 79% | $31,643 | $62,745 | $42,571 |
|
Texas Christian University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 43% | $36,660 | $76,604 | $42,483 |
|
University of Minnesota-Duluth
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 82% | $18,743 | $27,680 | $42,438 |
|
University of North Texas
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 72% | $15,649 | $26,243 | $42,362 |
|
New York University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 9% | $37,050 | $84,374 | $42,348 |
|
University of Houston
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 70% | $14,276 | $26,185 | $42,301 |
|
Loyola University Chicago
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 81% | $36,079 | $67,408 | $42,195 |
|
Muhlenberg College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 64% | $28,905 | $77,270 | $42,092 |
|
CUNY New York City College of Technology
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 81% | $5,127 | $14,110 | $41,880 |
|
Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 90% | $15,225 | $25,210 | $41,773 |
|
Arizona State University Campus Immersion
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 90% | $14,967 | $30,111 | $41,745 |
|
University of Maryland-College Park
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 45% | $15,678 | $29,299 | $41,742 |
|
University of the Incarnate Word
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 93% | $22,775 | $48,681 | $41,720 |
|
University of Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 24% | $6,541 | $22,523 | $41,707 |
|
Oklahoma City University
OK · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 70% | $22,857 | $47,247 | $41,540 |
|
Stephen F Austin State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 88% | $14,260 | $25,791 | $41,450 |
|
The University of Tennessee-Knoxville
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 46% | $18,976 | $33,678 | $41,414 |
|
East Carolina University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 90% | $15,739 | $23,867 | $41,394 |
|
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
NC · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 19% | $11,655 | $26,055 | $41,362 |
|
Indiana University-Bloomington
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 80% | $16,264 | $28,801 | $41,328 |
|
CUNY Brooklyn College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 54% | $3,103 | $14,151 | $41,233 |
|
California Institute of the Arts
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 26% | $46,080 | $77,560 | $41,192 |
|
University of North Carolina at Greensboro
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 90% | $10,965 | $21,373 | $41,108 |
|
Winthrop University
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 75% | $15,343 | $30,710 | $40,948 |
|
West Virginia University
WV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 86% | $15,634 | $26,415 | $40,942 |
|
Western Washington University
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 91% | $21,193 | $30,359 | $40,616 |
|
Shenandoah University
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 78% | $30,298 | $51,928 | $40,457 |
|
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 74% | $26,285 | $54,038 | $40,432 |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | $40,415 |
|
Skidmore College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 23% | $32,297 | $85,270 | $40,351 |
|
Utah State University
UT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 94% | — | $21,654 | $40,338 |
|
Illinois State University
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 89% | $19,398 | $34,309 | $40,258 |
|
Vassar College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 18% | $39,343 | $87,419 | $40,165 |
|
Point Park University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 98% | $25,942 | $52,643 | $40,121 |
|
Marymount Manhattan College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 79% | $36,861 | $65,767 | $40,086 |
|
University of New Mexico-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 96% | $15,489 | $21,259 | $40,085 |
|
Carnegie Mellon University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 11% | $31,944 | $83,654 | $40,073 |
|
University of Nevada-Las Vegas
NV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 96% | $10,359 | $19,638 | $40,033 |
|
Columbia College Chicago
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 91% | $26,598 | $51,889 | $39,986 |
|
SUNY at Purchase College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 73% | $18,913 | $29,043 | $39,974 |
|
Southern Illinois University-Carbondale
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 90% | $13,297 | $28,329 | $39,926 |
|
SUNY Buffalo State University
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 76% | $11,346 | $24,279 | $39,863 |
|
University of Northern Iowa
IA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 94% | $15,901 | $22,278 | $39,816 |
|
SUNY at Fredonia
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 79% | $15,897 | $25,879 | $39,770 |
|
Towson University
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 83% | $17,413 | $28,535 | $39,753 |
|
University of North Carolina at Charlotte
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 80% | $15,435 | $23,010 | $39,725 |
|
Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 97% | $14,889 | $28,919 | $39,698 |
|
Wagner College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 84% | $28,241 | $65,574 | $39,664 |
|
Webster University
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 58% | $27,047 | $51,188 | $39,604 |
|
Kansas State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 79% | $19,406 | $27,402 | $39,598 |
|
Auburn University
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 50% | $24,323 | $34,919 | $39,566 |
|
State University of New York at New Paltz
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 59% | $18,809 | $28,428 | $39,521 |
|
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 83% | $14,158 | $18,719 | $39,521 |
|
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 88% | $15,014 | $22,756 | $39,452 |
|
Oakland University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 70% | $9,120 | $25,182 | $39,442 |
|
Boston University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 11% | $24,402 | $86,285 | $39,322 |
|
Montclair State University
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 87% | $15,566 | $28,305 | $39,248 |
|
The New School
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 62% | $58,741 | $88,284 | $39,248 |
|
Belhaven University
MS · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 53% | $15,676 | $39,793 | $39,109 |
|
Arcadia University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 79% | $29,466 | $64,645 | $39,087 |
|
University of Central Oklahoma
OK · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 82% | $18,309 | $26,392 | $38,914 |
|
The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 85% | $4,831 | $16,830 | $38,865 |
|
Millikin University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 54% | $21,989 | $57,475 | $38,666 |
|
Rowan University
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 78% | $22,408 | $35,842 | $38,597 |
|
Drew University
NJ · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 69% | $24,280 | $65,301 | $38,562 |
|
Old Dominion University
VA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 90% | $14,638 | $29,446 | $38,537 |
|
Southern Oregon University
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 83% | $16,732 | $27,636 | $38,487 |
|
University of Kentucky
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 92% | $18,851 | $34,391 | $38,475 |
|
University of Memphis
TN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 93% | $12,397 | $25,169 | $38,440 |
|
Northern Arizona University
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 91% | $14,158 | $29,933 | $38,380 |
|
Kennesaw State University
GA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 69% | $15,048 | $24,008 | $38,348 |
|
Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College
LA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 74% | $19,151 | $34,705 | $38,317 |
|
Georgia Southern University
GA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 90% | $15,267 | $24,430 | $38,107 |
|
Otterbein University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 83% | $19,237 | $48,321 | $38,023 |
|
Missouri State University-Springfield
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 91% | $17,613 | $25,048 | $37,959 |
|
Roosevelt University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 94% | $20,194 | $35,332 | $37,748 |
|
Adelphi University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 78% | $30,783 | $63,189 | $37,630 |
|
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 90% | $14,559 | $20,079 | $37,507 |
|
Ohio State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 51% | $17,339 | $30,305 | $37,445 |
|
Pace University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 77% | $30,892 | $69,550 | $37,213 |
|
University of Alabama at Birmingham
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 88% | $18,749 | $28,145 | $37,173 |
|
Grand Canyon University
AZ · Private for-profit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 60% | $22,472 | $32,702 | $37,142 |
|
University of Wisconsin-Parkside
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 73% | $11,772 | $18,199 | $37,110 |
|
Bowling Green State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 81% | $24,022 | $33,007 | $37,094 |
|
Temple University
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 83% | $28,198 | $40,903 | $36,994 |
|
Brenau University
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 87% | $18,924 | $46,010 | $36,910 |
|
Anderson University
SC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 53% | $23,544 | $50,192 | $36,872 |
|
University of Illinois Chicago
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 78% | $10,974 | $27,521 | $36,792 |
|
Northern Illinois University
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 70% | $13,391 | $28,851 | $36,777 |
|
Dean College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 74% | $30,684 | $64,889 | $36,724 |
|
Eastern Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 81% | $15,407 | $29,640 | $36,621 |
|
Flagler College
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 78% | $30,525 | $45,744 | $36,506 |
|
The University of Texas at Arlington
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 81% | $13,951 | $25,261 | $36,457 |
|
Kent State University at Kent
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 87% | $20,787 | $30,567 | $36,429 |
|
Sam Houston State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 85% | $16,404 | $25,505 | $36,389 |
|
University of Southern Indiana
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 95% | — | $22,383 | $36,348 |
|
Baldwin Wallace University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 77% | $27,603 | $55,606 | $36,251 |
|
Northwestern State University of Louisiana
LA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 94% | $13,606 | $25,431 | $36,229 |
|
Cleveland State University
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 96% | $14,764 | $27,159 | $36,174 |
|
Nazareth University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 80% | $29,357 | $58,254 | $36,117 |
|
University of North Carolina Wilmington
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 74% | $20,109 | $26,547 | $35,956 |
|
Southern Methodist University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 61% | $40,892 | $85,606 | $35,844 |
|
Plymouth State University
NH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 91% | $19,216 | $29,644 | $35,646 |
|
Northern Kentucky University
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 96% | $8,191 | $19,725 | $35,624 |
|
University of Idaho
ID · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 79% | $14,831 | $23,738 | $35,407 |
|
Indiana University of Pennsylvania-Main Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 91% | $16,804 | $26,898 | $35,286 |
|
Stephens College
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 92% | $23,459 | $46,643 | $35,235 |
|
Savannah College of Art and Design
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 84% | $49,430 | $63,627 | $35,177 |
|
Wright State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 95% | $15,415 | $24,373 | $35,148 |
|
University of Wyoming
WY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 97% | $13,599 | $24,818 | $35,028 |
|
Western Kentucky University
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 97% | $10,990 | $24,188 | $34,987 |
|
Columbus State University
GA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 99% | $13,115 | $21,676 | $34,931 |
|
Seton Hill University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 76% | $22,204 | $56,183 | $34,890 |
|
Molloy College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 76% | $24,347 | $50,720 | $34,822 |
|
University of Maryland-Baltimore County
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 74% | $16,467 | $28,576 | $34,778 |
|
East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 93% | $18,134 | $27,917 | $34,674 |
|
University of Miami
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 18% | $37,244 | $86,078 | $34,667 |
|
Colorado State University-Fort Collins
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 90% | $21,279 | $31,642 | $34,552 |
|
Western Carolina University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 87% | $13,315 | $19,992 | $34,516 |
|
Ohio Northern University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 73% | $24,478 | $53,580 | $34,445 |
|
Le Moyne College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 75% | $22,277 | $53,183 | $34,283 |
|
University of Rhode Island
RI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 77% | $21,440 | $34,321 | $33,972 |
|
Georgia College & State University
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 88% | $20,686 | $30,258 | $33,965 |
|
Coastal Carolina University
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 80% | $13,966 | $26,692 | $33,962 |
|
Florida International University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 59% | $9,288 | $21,462 | $33,896 |
|
Central Washington University
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 90% | $18,476 | $28,816 | $33,800 |
|
Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus
NJ · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 95% | $22,829 | $54,204 | $33,749 |
|
Fairleigh Dickinson University-Metropolitan Campus
NJ · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 96% | $15,404 | $50,305 | $33,749 |
|
SUNY College at Potsdam
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 86% | $13,624 | $25,083 | $33,581 |
|
Middle Tennessee State University
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 68% | $13,359 | $24,289 | $33,179 |
|
University of Southern Maine
ME · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 79% | $13,596 | $23,717 | $33,005 |
|
CUNY City College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 58% | $3,776 | $14,403 | $32,769 |
|
Wayne State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 82% | $12,766 | $27,350 | $32,525 |
|
Minnesota State University-Mankato
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 91% | $19,139 | $23,995 | $32,199 |
|
Kean University
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 77% | $12,447 | $26,949 | $32,107 |
|
American Musical and Dramatic Academy
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 25% | — | $65,647 | $32,008 |
|
CUNY Queens College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 68% | $4,195 | $14,367 | $31,239 |
|
Illinois Wesleyan University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 45% | $28,199 | $70,700 | $31,172 |
|
Ouachita Baptist University
AR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 68% | $22,409 | $47,321 | $31,155 |
|
Viterbo University
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 73% | $21,260 | $45,558 | $31,051 |
|
Western Oregon University
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 99% | $17,237 | $25,062 | $31,048 |
|
University of Southern Mississippi
MS · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 99% | $21,708 | $26,566 | $30,864 |
|
University of Toledo
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 95% | $17,249 | $26,512 | $30,451 |
|
New Mexico State University-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 76% | $8,889 | $23,274 | $30,355 |
|
University of Iowa
IA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 85% | $22,531 | $28,596 | $30,231 |
|
Texas Tech University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 71% | $19,070 | $27,443 | $30,074 |
|
Frostburg State University
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 89% | $16,715 | $27,056 | $29,679 |
|
Alabama State University
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 96% | $20,435 | $23,586 | $29,142 |
|
University of New Orleans
LA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 67% | $12,384 | $23,431 | $28,807 |
|
The University of Tampa
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 41% | $36,211 | $51,614 | $28,709 |
|
East Tennessee State University
TN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 87% | $15,983 | $27,042 | $28,062 |
|
Brigham Young University
UT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 69% | $15,564 | $22,690 | $26,782 |
|
Bennington College
VT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 48% | $30,947 | $87,284 | $23,575 |
|
Universidad del Sagrado Corazon
PR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 53% | $12,924 | — | $23,261 |
|
University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras
PR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 53% | $9,175 | — | $21,825 |
|
Florida Atlantic University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 73% | $8,752 | $21,522 | $20,673 |
|
American University
DC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 47% | $41,943 | $76,058 | — |
|
Augustana College
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 68% | $22,736 | $63,553 | — |
|
Berklee College of Music
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 50% | $49,465 | $72,700 | — |
|
Brigham Young University-Idaho
ID · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 97% | — | $15,246 | — |
|
CUNY Hunter College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 54% | $2,984 | $13,905 | — |
|
Carthage College
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 84% | $26,565 | $50,822 | — |
|
Colorado Mesa University
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 81% | $15,103 | $24,046 | — |
|
Elon University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 67% | $41,555 | $62,266 | — |
|
Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 21% | $13,739 | $23,970 | — |
|
Gustavus Adolphus College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 62% | $22,900 | $67,613 | — |
|
Manhattan School of Music
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 40% | $51,754 | $77,703 | — |
|
North Carolina A & T State University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 46% | $10,846 | $20,427 | — |
|
Oberlin College
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 33% | $38,645 | $87,404 | — |
|
Oklahoma State University-Main Campus
OK · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 71% | $17,447 | $28,290 | — |
|
Piedmont University
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 93% | $20,599 | $46,801 | — |
|
Rollins College
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 41% | $34,732 | $76,108 | — |
|
SUNY Oneonta
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 70% | $19,158 | $28,821 | — |
|
Saint Mary's College of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 89% | $30,378 | $77,659 | — |
|
Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania
PA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 75% | $19,608 | $25,537 | — |
|
Sonoma State University
CA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 95% | $12,885 | $24,648 | — |
|
Southern Utah University
UT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 80% | — | $19,416 | — |
|
State University of New York at Oswego
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 80% | $16,236 | $27,052 | — |
|
Susquehanna University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 79% | $28,819 | $75,410 | — |
|
The University of Alabama
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 76% | $22,420 | $33,382 | — |
|
The University of Montana
MT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 96% | $16,784 | $23,570 | — |
|
University of Arkansas
AR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 72% | $18,209 | $27,767 | — |
|
University of Colorado Boulder
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 83% | $25,346 | $37,684 | — |
|
University of Connecticut
CT · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 54% | $25,097 | $39,426 | — |
|
University of Connecticut-Avery Point
CT · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 86% | $13,807 | $23,337 | — |
|
University of Connecticut-Hartford Campus
CT · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 86% | $16,403 | $26,946 | — |
|
University of Connecticut-Stamford
CT · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 80% | $16,798 | $30,122 | — |
|
University of Connecticut-Waterbury Campus
CT · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 87% | $10,875 | $22,933 | — |
|
University of Northwestern-St Paul
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 92% | $27,705 | $51,325 | — |
|
University of Oregon
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 85% | $22,182 | $34,793 | — |
|
University of South Dakota
SD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 99% | $19,858 | $24,422 | — |
|
University of Washington-Seattle Campus
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 42% | $14,091 | $32,446 | — |
|
University of West Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 57% | $9,364 | $19,947 | — |
|
University of West Georgia
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 49% | $12,786 | $21,981 | — |
|
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 57% | $24,953 | $36,951 | — |
|
Youngstown State University
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | 80% | $12,767 | $21,708 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/theatre, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a theatre applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
A theatre list needs two columns most lists skip: what each program asks a student to perform or show, and when that audition happens. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359